Ratings based on 1,028 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to beach with beautiful views.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Its proximity to beach. Beautiful views of city of Miami. Restaurant was okay a little pricey for what you get.
Cons: Housekeeping. They never cleaned the toilet in bathroom nor did they clean the floors.
Location: Shopping, site seeing and the free trolley was a lot of fun.
Had a good experience. Morning security guard was very friendly and helpful. Not sure of his name but he worked the early morning shift March 4, 2017 through March 8, 2017. Love to let him know he is appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Christopher, Hotel Management
Good Evening and thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us! We are Glad that you enjoyed the time you spent here at Design Suites! Our team work hard to provide an outstanding experience to each and every one of our guests. We wish to welcome you back again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Horrible

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: Major upgrade needed
Let break down the details 1. Check-in: The most disorganize processes I've ever encountered. You have a check-in desk (lots of slow paper-work), a security desk (again, paper-work, blah, blah, blah...), and then the parking kiosk (more punches, stamps, blah blah blah...) and a parking card finally. Parking is included with the 'resort fees'. For resort fees which is a rip off since this is not a resort...where is the beach? where are the water slides?, etc 2. Room: I have included my own real pictures that I took so people would be aware at this place. Do not believe what you see in their photo-shopped! pictures. There is nothing "design" about the hotel! The walls, the floors, the bathrooms and the furniture all are bacteria havens. The mattress in our room is stained and half covered. They didn't even bother to put the fitted sheet on properly despite us pointing it out to the front desk. The pillows are a million pieces of well used cotton balls with a cover. They smell and look awful! I'm afraid to put my head or my son head on them in fear of making us sick! They keys to your room are the same keys that to your normal average apartment. This is our Christmas vacation to explore all Florida's cities. We stayed in at least 9 hotels and this is the worst of all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room amenities really need some renovation

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Showers and faucets really need some renovation. Close to the beach but far away from other activities/restaurants/stores.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Beautiful hotel.. close to beach. I took a room with balcony with a beautiful view. Will recommend to everybody.
2 out of 5
by Rayan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Everything was as expected! I liked free valet parking
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WORST HOTEL EVERRRRR

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Place is run down and old! Our room had cockroaches! We originally booked this stay for 2 nights, after barely making it through the few hours we were forced to stay we left and demanded our money back! This was days ago, many emails sent, many phone calls made, even visits to the hotel, and... no reply as of yet! NEVER would I recommend this dumpy rilun down hotel to anyone!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: A sign for Design Suites check in counter which is around the corner and not easily visible when you enter the hotel
The check in process took almost one hour. First to line up at a one staff security counter to be told after twenty minutes in line to go to another counter where they could not find my Expedia reservation. After ten minutes of searching they finally located it and told me to go the exact same security counter to get my parking pass. Another fifteen minutes in line of the same security counter to be told to go outside to the Valet desk to get the actual parking pass. The Valet desk took another ten minutes to get me the pass which then I had to go to the security desk to validate and drop BACK to the Valet desk. This is just unneeded bureaucracy which can be easily fixed, but it appears that they don't care. The hotel appearance is low class. The rooms are outdated, ugly and worn and torn. Bathroom is even worse. Bathtub cover is ripped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami Florida

Maybe ask for a renovated room..

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The view. renovated room.
Cons: ROOM RENOVATION. Valet takes too long, PHONE IN ROOM NEEDED, to maybe call valet ahead of time to have car ready. also to call in door dining or FD.
Location: we took an uber down 5-7 blocks down to eat at a Peruvian restaurant. there are small restaurants and a lot of hotels and apartments.
They slowly checked us in into a room and it was horrible, bathroom toilet would make noise and also the shower, bathroom door would not stay closed because they painted the door wrong, couldn't get balcony to close so the humidity made our floor wet.. lights wouldn't even work.. left for dinner I let the front desk know to send engineering came back 3 hours later to nothing done...engineering had left for the day at 10:00pm so lady told me she could give me late check out.. I told her i wasn't sleeping with the loud toilet noise.. so she changed us of room and the room she gave us was OBVIOUSLY renovated and it was way way way better than the other room. they should work on every room looking like that. NEW room I was happier in, comfortable in, and had a great time in. Also Valet took to long and supposedly had to find the "location" of my car since they changed me of room.. how do u loose my car/ I have no clue. I waited about 20 minutes. at the end of the day I had a great time once I got changed.. if they put every guest in a room like the second room they put me in, EVERYONE would be so much happier with this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by req@designsuitesmiami.com, Hotel Management
We are thrilled that you enjoyed our spacious suites and your time in Miami Beach. We apologize for any shortcomings you may have experienced with regard to the hospitality of our team and hope you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you again one day. Warm Regards, Design Suites Miami Beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels