Ratings based on 1,037 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never could get a hold of the management team !!!!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer Service and replying back to your customers!!!!!!
Tried to contact management team of our concerns and they never called or returned my emails!!! Charged for a 5 person loft and ended up with a junior suite. Just wanted to be charged accordingly....
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Facundo, Hotel Management
Hello there and thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent experience! We are extremely sorry that your time spent with us wasn't the 5 star time we strive to provide. When we receive any feedback from our guests we are turn around time in responding is very quick. Perhaps you have the incorrect email address. We would definitely not charge our guest for something if that if not what they have received.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything out dated and broke !!!

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Horrible staff management needs improved big time !!!! Bar staff slow not nice . Hotel staff did not care that shower piece broke , door didn't shut locks broke , coffee maker no coffee never will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Facundo, Hotel Management
Good Evening and thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us! We are terribly sorry that your stay here at Design Suites Miami Beach wasn't a 5 star time! Our team works hard to provide A+ service, so it pains us to read that is not what you were given! Whenever a guest presents us an issue our team is very quick to resolve them. I wish that you would give us a second chance in the future to make it up to you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel close to beach, only good point

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Close to beach, shop & ATM
Cons: More info at check in such as facilities & where to find them. Room needs badly upgraded.
Location: Beach. Need to drive / get trolley bus to attractions.
The only good things about hotel is beach is at back of it and has a well stocked shop in basement - nothing nearby so this was essential. Had to ask 3 people how to get out to the pool & beach gate though as staff didnt mention anything at check in, so we didnt get told there was a gate combination for way back in and a guest had to let us in. Valet parking makes it difficult to just go a drive when you feel like it as you need to wait a queue for them to retrieve it from off site. Our room had a view of a dirty rooftop and adjacent hotel, not much of a sea view. Curtains were shut for a reason... Toilet didnt flush, no hairdryer as stated on amenities, no phone in room, no alarm clock, tv remote volume didnt work either and kitchen light came on after 30 minutes! Whole bedroom needed a paint and bathroom tiles and even mirror frame had been painted white instead of replacing them. Miles away from any attractions. We've stayed in roadside motels that were in better condition than this for half the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Facundo, Hotel Management
Dear J&D, We would like to thank you for not only choosing to stay with us, but for providing us with your feedback! We are located directly on the beach, and a bit north of all the South Beach action. We strive to provide outstanding service all around, so it truly pains us to read that is not what you experienced. We advise guests to request for their cars 20-30 minutes prior to them needing it. During peak hours it can take longer for the valet attendant to get the car from the garage to the guest. Unfortunately not every room can have a stunning ocean view or city view. Your room type will determine the view that you get. If a guest has an issue and we are aware of this while the guest is in house, we definitely work towards resolving the issue. I will make sure that the General Manager is aware of your review. We truly wish that you would give us a second chance in the future, as we would like to make it up to you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to beach with beautiful views.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Its proximity to beach. Beautiful views of city of Miami. Restaurant was okay a little pricey for what you get.
Cons: Housekeeping. They never cleaned the toilet in bathroom nor did they clean the floors.
Location: Shopping, site seeing and the free trolley was a lot of fun.
Had a good experience. Morning security guard was very friendly and helpful. Not sure of his name but he worked the early morning shift March 4, 2017 through March 8, 2017. Love to let him know he is appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Christopher, Hotel Management
Good Evening and thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us! We are Glad that you enjoyed the time you spent here at Design Suites! Our team work hard to provide an outstanding experience to each and every one of our guests. We wish to welcome you back again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Horrible

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: Major upgrade needed
Let break down the details 1. Check-in: The most disorganize processes I've ever encountered. You have a check-in desk (lots of slow paper-work), a security desk (again, paper-work, blah, blah, blah...), and then the parking kiosk (more punches, stamps, blah blah blah...) and a parking card finally. Parking is included with the 'resort fees'. For resort fees which is a rip off since this is not a resort...where is the beach? where are the water slides?, etc 2. Room: I have included my own real pictures that I took so people would be aware at this place. Do not believe what you see in their photo-shopped! pictures. There is nothing "design" about the hotel! The walls, the floors, the bathrooms and the furniture all are bacteria havens. The mattress in our room is stained and half covered. They didn't even bother to put the fitted sheet on properly despite us pointing it out to the front desk. The pillows are a million pieces of well used cotton balls with a cover. They smell and look awful! I'm afraid to put my head or my son head on them in fear of making us sick! They keys to your room are the same keys that to your normal average apartment. This is our Christmas vacation to explore all Florida's cities. We stayed in at least 9 hotels and this is the worst of all.
1 out of 5
by Ruth

Worst experience ever

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
The check in was horrible and very complicated. They gave me the key to a room that had people inside and the second room was not what I paid for and so dirty
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room amenities really need some renovation

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Showers and faucets really need some renovation. Close to the beach but far away from other activities/restaurants/stores.
2 out of 5
by Srinivas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Beautiful hotel.. close to beach. I took a room with balcony with a beautiful view. Will recommend to everybody.
2 out of 5
by Rayan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels