Ratings based on 1,237 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from slovakia

Nice hotel close to the beach and center

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Check in fast, friendly staff and not so bad even though we usually stay in higher standard hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN, USA

Lovely small hotel near the beach!

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: See the above.
Cons: Vending machines could offer more water and/or fruit juice instead of pop.
Location: Great location as mentioned previously.
My daughter and I had a great stay at this charming hotel. Not for those who require high maintenance but it is clean with a friendly staff. The pool is nice and the patio is beautiful. They serve a good breakfast, reasonably priced, and have a happy hour with free drinks from 6-7pm. It is easy walking distance to the beach (two blocks) and also to the shopping district, Lincoln Ave. The room was nice, clean, beds comfy, no complaints. Also, family friendly. The light aqua blue color scheme and Art Deco furnishings capped it all off. Highly recommended. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Thanks for a very pleasant stay at the Dorchester. The front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very spacious and clean but the bathroom definitely needs another shelf to place toiletries and other items. We look forward to our next stay at the Dorchester!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Christopher, Hotel Management
Nan thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at Dorchester, and for sharing your honest feedback! We are glad that your time spent here was such a fab time! :) I wish that we were provided with the number to the room you stayed in, or the name on your reservation. We would have been able to send the maintenance team to take a look.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location. Location. Location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
All about location. Otherwise hotel amenities are disappointing. Bathroom has mold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Christopher, Hotel Management
Hello there, We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us, regarding your stay! The location is prime! I am sorry that you found the amenities to be disappointing. I wish that you could have provided us with more information as to what was wrong with the amenities. The bathroom does not have mold as the room attendants use chemicals when they clean that kills any mold spores. We hope that you would choose to stay with us again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is not bad.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This hotel is not a bad place to stay at. However there are so things I did not like about this hotel. One of them is that some of the stuff in the room are broken. Like for example: the closet door, the drawer, and etc... Also we were charged on top of what we paid on Expedia. We were charged a resort fee, and we were charged for parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, Uk

Conve

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Excellent experience. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location and access to beach and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Christopher, Hotel Management
Good Evening Mack, We appreciate your time and how you shared your recent experience with us! Glad that the staff provided you with the great service that they are known to provide. We would love to welcome you back here for more great times, good service in a prime location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice-close to everything

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The character
Location: Lots to do nearby - its in the heart of South beach.
Its not overly glitzy but it is very quaint and clean and the staff are friendly and courteous. Its a block and a half north of Lincoln Rd Mall and across the street from the beach. Its sister hotel (Marseilles) is where you go to beach. They charge fifteen dollars a day which gives you hotel wide WiFi, towels, two lounge chairs with cushions and an umbrella at the beach...a deal if you ask me. The daily one dollar happy hour is also a nice touch. Located on Collins, if your looking for a nice place that won't break the budget, this place is it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Christopher, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for sharing your experience! We provide a clean and comfortable spot, in a great location, with lovely amenities, at an unbeatable price. Come back soon! We'd love to have you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Old but pleasant

Posted Feb 8, 2017
One desk person spoiled the experience....we seemed to bother her. Bathroom shower was really in need of updating. Overall the hotel is pleasant and clean...great pool and the lobby and garden was an inviting oasis from the hub of Miami beach. But of a walk to South beach though...
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Christopher, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback Yvonne! We apologize that one desk person spoiled your experience! None of our guests are never a bother to us! I wish that you could have provided us with the name of this employee! We would have definitely liked to address the situation accordingly!! Glad that you enjoyed the pool, lobby and garden area! It;s nice to sit outside and have a drink and relax! We hope to welcome you back as our guest!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm beach gardens

Noisy and hot.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
I was up until 6am because who ever was above my room sounded like they were dropping bowling balls. Called front desk to complain noise never stopped. Plus the air conditioner did not even feel like it was on or working. Nice room and nice location. I've stayed he before with no problems. I don't know what happened this time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Christopher, Hotel Management
Hello there Sarah, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, regarding your recent stay! We apologize that your time spent with us was not the 5 star time that we strive to provide! We sent the security up to resolve the issue with the noise. Since we never had another complaint we thought that the issue stopped. Great to know that you enjoyed the room and the location! We do hope that you would give us a second chance again in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Terrible experience - plenty of better options!

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Cons: Customer service!!!
Terrible experience! Do not stay here -- plenty of better options! We arrived at the Dorchester for a long weekend in January. From the moment we stepped in the door, we were greeted with rudeness. We were a group of 3. At check in, the woman working behind the front desk handed us beach passes - only enough for 2 people. We found this to be strange since we were a group of 3 (and paid for 3 people!). We asked her if we could have a third pass and she initially refused, stating that the policy is 2 passes per room. She then said she can bend the rules and give us a third pass. After she said this, I gave her my credit card for the deposit. After she charged my card, she then suddenly changed her mind and said she can only give use one extra pass for only one day-- not what she had originally said!! We asked to speak to a manager. A little later the manager, Gui, gave us a call. We explained to him what had happened and he could not care less! He was unwilling to help us in any way and was extremely rude on the phone. Terrible customer service and a terrible policy!!!!