Ratings based on 2,235 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Very close to the beach, clean, friendly staff.
Cons: There was a big closet but a bureau would have been helpful for our clothes.
Location: One block from the beach and Ocean Drive.
The Essex House by Clevelander is a great hotel in Miami Beach. It's one block from the beach and Ocean Drive. The staff was very friendly and attentive. There was a big closet but a bureau would have been helpful for our clothes. We would definitely go back and also recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Gotta great deal on this hotel.... - great location - access to clevelander facilities - rooms were good - comp breakfast and happy hour Will stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AU

Disappointing

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The room seemed quite different and not as nice as pictures online, it was noisy and very bright. Some staff were rude, other were actually quite nice. Continental breakfast was plastic plates and stale crossiants. We were really disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean and great location!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Very close to a lot of things.
Staff was helpful and nice. Rooms were a good size and clean. Location of hotel was perfect. Walking distance to a lot of different things.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid if you are traveling with young kids

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Tiny elevators. Loud party music late into the night. Breakfast was ok. No protein and a very load truck was running the entire 2 hours for breakfast. Valley parking was a joke. Waited an hour to have car brought around. This was after giving them an hour advance notice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Pay extra to stay at a cleaner hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Well, first let me start by saying when I pulled the comforters back the bed sheets looked like someone slept in it. The sheets were wrinkled and had stains on them which is disgusting. I went downstairs immediately and complained to the "slow" front desk when Zuleca. She was beyond slow. I explained to her that I am here for 1 night and I need the sheets changed and she said it might not be possible because the cleaning staff left at 5pm. That frustrated me because she didn't go above and beyond to fix the issue. I also requested toothpaste and she took about 30 minutes to find the toothpaste. I went out to dinner with my fiancé and returned to the bed made but the sheets still dirty - they kept the same dirty sheets on. How do I know? It had the same exact stains on it from when I went downstairs to complain. Not only is that a health violation that is truly lazy of this hotel to not change sheets after guests leave. People have diseases and they are spread through bodily fluids which could potentially be on those sheets. I am beyond disgusted with this hotel chain and I'll never return. I ended up sleeping on the towels provided in the bathroom (at least those were clean and washed).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is a nice hoteel but it is in a partyare

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Nice decor but small rooms
Cons: Place people in a quiet room so they can sleep
Checked inshe told me that she is moving us to a quiet room - music till 5am very noisy - construction at 7am
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Great location had a great time hotel is in the middle of everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Good hotel for the money

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Good hotel for the money very helpful staff , close to the beach , and in the middle of everything , restaurants , stores etc , my only gripe was that the room had a smell of mildew, which was probably due to how old the hotel is , they were fast to deodorize the room for us but the smell still lingered shortly after ,the hotel does need some renovation but that's not to say it's a bad hotel , I personally would stay there again and other than that smell , it was a good stay .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: close to beac; comfortable; moderate price
Cons: water system
Location: beach ; lincoln pedestrian mall; beach; lots of restaurants; close to beac.
comgfortable; very small but very pleasant pool area.Lots of lovely vegetation