Ratings based on 1,974 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Wonderful hotel everything was perfect! Everyone was polite and answered any and every question we asked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Very clean, nice hotel. The atmosphere is well worth the pricey hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and beach too

Posted Jan 16, 2017
My experience was fabulous the only point is that everything is very expensive and this hotel don'T give nothing free
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

Excellent Resort Property on Miami Beach

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The hotel's public areas are beautiful and well-kept. The front desk and concierge) staff were super-helpful and friendly.
Cons: Although the suites are comfortable and have a great view, they seem to be showing signs of ageing. Still, this was only a minor fault.
Location: Miami Beach is a mega-resort area, best suited to those travellers who like to arrive, unpack and enjoy. South Beach is the best off-resort area.
We were stranded in Florida for a few days due to the incident at FLL on January 6. My wife had been to Miami Beach when she was young and remembered that the Fontainebleau was the premier hotel in Miami Beach. With a recommendation like that, we had to give it a try. It is necessary to make a booking (online or otherwise) as the front desk does not accept walk-in room requests (so I made a booking on Expedia while sitting in the lobby). When the reservation appeared on the front desk's computers, we explained the situation that led to our being in Miami and asked if it was possible to have early check-out if a flight home became available earlier than was currently scheduled. The front desk staff were most receptive and accommodating. Not only did they make a note on our file that we were not to be penalized if we checked out early (as it turns out, we didn't) but they gave us a significant upgrade (from a standard room to a suite)! All in all, we had a great stay. The weather was unseasonably cool, so we didn't spend any time either in the hotel's pool area or on Miami Beach itself. We decided to explore the South Beach area to see the historic sites and the plethora of retail outlets. I'd definitely recommend the Fontainebleau to anyone who is looking to stay in a high-quality resort-class hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Inhospitable. They are Only in it for The Money.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
We felt like we were in an automaton, and everywhere we went, or anything we touched, had a price. And the windows DO NOT OPEN. So no wonderful Floor air for us. Would not go Back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newburgh, NY

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Pools, beach, rooms.
Location: Los Fuegos down the street was phenomenal for dinner-highly recommend it.
Wonderful hotel directly on a gorgeous beach-great location, food and bars down the street as well as within the hotel. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Bed was fantastic and everything was very updated. Be prepared to pay-mini bar in the room (to be expected) as well as a fridge that will charge you if opened (to store personal items). Drinks, food were a bit pricey but to be expected for the area-grab a 'zombie' by the pool in a really nice souvenir cup and enjoy the wonderful views and service!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Cons: Everything
Bad front desk Very disappointing rooms, shower only at this price? Very long wait for getting the car from ballet The lobby smells due to the burger restaurant downstairs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Historic hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 8, 2017
We has a grand time at this historic hotel. It's close to many attractions, not the least of which is the beach. Or, you can stay right on-site and enjoy the considerable amenities Fontainebleau offers. The restaurants are first class, shopping boutiques are handy, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the place is huge and full of fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Miami Heat

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The high energy atmosphere.
Cons: Difficult to get a lounge chair. Hard to tell if they were all being used or if people had just left their towels.
Location: Convenient to South Beach
Staff did an excellent job of handling the crush of in season volume. There were no waits at either check in or check out and the room was ready ahead of time as I requested.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando Fl

Built for vegas in Miami .

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Big dated chaotic beautiful expensive resort. As a an event venue for stars works but it has lost all sense of what it takes to take care oF 5 star hotel where every detail counts. Rooms are dated and all, amenities where worst than 2 stars. House keeping one day only left one towel, refrigerator rusty and dirty. Valet service super slow and 48 per night. Plus a bunch of resort fees. Pool is a nightmare you can ever get beds or cabanas without paying 100 s of dollars to sit where you never get sun rays because the building block all the sun. I have stayed there many times if you want a place to party and go to LIV and you don't mind spending thousands of dollars for a mediocre service and be treated like a theme park