Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

All nice .. lovely bar

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Just short stay with freehand Miami but over all it just great so my next Miami l'll see you again😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

resort living at a hostel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Yes it's a hostel- but what else could a solo traveler need than this
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Freehand

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Awesome! Only thing I didn't like was the coffee in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Loved the freehand Miami. Close to the beach and many amenities. Friendly staff and great atmosphere. Our room was clean and simple yet had everything we needed. Will definitely be staying here again and recommending to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LDN

First hostel experience

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: staff, garden, pool, food, drinks and a decent breakfast. bath tubs could be refurbished.
Cons: Add a social seating area for travellers to meet other travellers as this place seemed like people kept themselves to themselves most of the time.
Location: In a good quiet location with shops close by and easy access to the beach. Also easy for uber drivers to find you as this is a problem in busy areas.
First time at a hostel so didn't know what to expect. Didn't book my nights all in one go in case I wanted to leave so i paid each night. After 2 nights i visited another hostel called Miami international and although that place was more sociable, I returned after two nights as this one was so much more comforting and relaxing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close to the beach

Posted Dec 14, 2016
The location is good BUT when you book they don't tell you that you will be with 8 beds in a room sharing with too many people. Specially for someone like me that never experienced that
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awsome - Great Value

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Perfect combination of ambiance, bar-lounge, restaurant, coffee bar, and superb staff.
Cons: Update bathroom fixtures maintaining current look.
Location: Beach, supermarket, restaurants.
I felt relaxed... the perfect combination of ambiance, bar-lounge, restaurant, coffee bar, and superb staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

So disappointing!

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: it is safe + area too. beach close. Different type of people, nationalities, ages.
Location: beach - shopping - day spa etc...
No cleaning in the room for 3 days. No wifi connection in the room at all I had to send a review to Expedia to receive a message and that's it!!! First time I mentioned the wifi issue the person at the desk kindly make me change room. Unfortunately the issue is due to the router not to my electronics (iphone+new mac book air) I mentioned the issue to the frontdesk again and the person who was at the desk answered he didn't have wifi problem with his own cellphone!!! I didn't want to bother anybody but only make my 3 days comfortable and avoid to work on my laptop outside my room (wifi connection was fine everywhere except in the room). I stayed several time in this location and may be it is the reason why I'm so disappointing I was expecting the same quality I had in the past..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice way to relax and take in the ambiance.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
This was my first time staying at a hostel ever. I went because of recommendations. I stayed two nights and I felt comfortable mostly. I got to meet at least one new awesome friend. I felt my shared women's room was for the most part comfortable and decent. I loved how there was lots of places to lounge around and it was also nice to see lots of staff on hand taking care of the cleanliness throughout the building. Staff was pretty helpful. What I felt could be improved: The breakfast could be improved. The prices at the snack bar was overpriced. The music repeated itself too much. Too much Bob Marley vibe. Maybe it can be switched up through out the day. I wish there was a way it would be easier to make friends there or connections.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Close to the beach, nice staff, clean room

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach, nice staff, chilling atmosphere
Cons: Some rooms may need better maintenance
Location: Chilling on Miami Beach and Ocean Drive are so enjoyable
A bit disappointed but happy overall. I stayed at a 4-bed shared room, the first room I was assigned to was a disappointment. Electricity socket did not work, locker was damaged, bathtub looked old and dirty. However front desk staff was nice and changed another room for me, which had none of the above problems. Whether location is good or not depends on your plan. If you're mainly staying in Miami Beach area, this hotel is excellent as it is right next to the beach and a few bus stops from Ocean Drive. However, if you need to go to the downtown frequently or if you're a shopaholic that need to visit major shopping malls, think twice before you stay here because bus service in Miami is awful and there is no train/subway in this area. Going to major shopping malls takes time, for instance it is a 2-hr bus ride from Dolphin Mall, there is only 1 bus per hour to/from the mall (route 238) and it could just disappear for no reasons, almost had me missing my flight..