Ratings based on 731 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be careful of the room this hotel assigns

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Cons: Accountability needs to improve. Regardless of booking through Expedia or not, they are the business that received full payment for the stay.
Booked a Kaskade King room that expressly included a soaking tub. Got assigned the "last room in the hotel" which was king room but with a handicap shower. Hotel staff said that it met the criteria for what Expedia booked on my behalf. And since I booked the room via Expedia, I had to take it up with them - the hotel did not take any responsibility for the room assignment. This disappointing because I have stayed at the Gale before but booked directly with the hotel. This experience give me the impression the hotel treats Expedia clients differently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great space, nice location

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Stayed here for a few days just after new years. Our room wasn't ready until close to 5pm, but we took advantage of the restaurant/bar's fantastic happy hour. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean with a nice layout. Close to the beach and all the action of South Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

S

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Sehr unfreundlich , Sehr schlechter service . Schmutzige Zimmer .... Staubig , vernachlässig
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Claustrophobic room

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Only good thing was dinner and waiter at hotel restaurant.
Cons: Service, design,comfort.
Tiny room that tried for good design but merely wasted space. Terrible breakfast service, which was included. Could not even get waiter to bring coffee. Surly help at front desk. Overpriced for what it was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A getaway weekend

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Decor,location,rooftop view , quaint
Cons: Updated carpet
Location: 1 block from beach , 1 block from Lincoln ,
I would have provided a 4 rating had the carpets been updated . Not sure if that is part of the decor but doubtful. Or maybe that room is for expedia customers vs. those paying full price . Take the breakfast $15 credit instead of the continental which is either a plain croissant or plain bagel, 1 banana and 1 small yogurt. There is no hotel parking - only valet parking. The hotel style was great, comfortable bed, great location, and 1 block from the beach. Nice rooftop pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Good Hope, GA

Boutique hotel near dining and entertainment

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Beautiful boutique hotel near everything! The rooftop pool is awesome with amazing views of the city. We even enjoyed a lovely dessert and an after dinner drink at the restaurant. Everything was great! Only request would be a coffee maker in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, staff, food, and pool were all fantastic

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: - Staff are very nice/helpful - Pool is very nice, but there's no hot tub. - Technically it's open till 8, but the door is open later
Cons: The room size was pretty small, but didn't turn out to be a problem once we got used to it.
Location: Location - 5min walk to the beach, very close - 5min walk to Lincoln Road or Ocean Drive (lots of dining/shopping)
We had a great time at this hotel, no real complaints. The room was a bit small, but just fine once we got used to it. Location, staff, food, and pool were all fantastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Zentral mit kleinem Zimmer

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Schöne Inneneinrichtung, aber leider kann man kein Fenster öffnen. Mein Fenster war zudem so dreckig, dass man nicht rausschauen könnte. Hohe Nebenkosten. Sonst gut.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Great hotel. Costs less than 5 stars next to it but better quality - rooms larger and more comfortable. You are not overpaying for the hype and being closer to the beach by 100 meters.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A Sad Honeymoon

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: The roaches and ants in our room.
Cons: Nicer Staff
Location: Great location
This experience was sad for my wife and I. Jessica and I got married on February 21 2015. We had financial troubles in the early stages in our marraige so couldnt afford to go to the honeymoon until November. At first we booked at the Lowes Hotel in South Beach, a hotel that I had stayed at previouisly and one I really enjoyed. Since we were strapped for cash again around the same time we call expedia to find us a cheaper hotel. They found the Gale, and it said it was a 4 and half star rating, same as the Lowes. If we were to book the Gale, we would save around 300 dollars. We figured we could save that money and use it as spending cash. When we get there we did not have much planned but to do activities. SInce we were so busy at home with work, we figured we would have a concierge assist us with anything. Boy we were wrong. From the moment we arrived, the concierge and the rest of the staff were very unfriendly. Olivia was the only nice one, but still, not very helpful. The following is the specific reason why we did not have good stay at this hotel: We asked to go to a fancy restaurant, and they recommended only theirs, The Dolce. They told us we had free rides to anywhere in the 20 mile radius. They lied. We asked them what recreational activities they had, and they mentioned only 3 to 4 only. We did one of them which were the jetski tour which was fun. My wife was intimadted by the staff and did not feel like approaching them.