Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good option close to the beach

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: I would stay here again if I was going to the Beach for the weekend and was only bringing a carry-on suitcase. Car not really needed.
Cons: A small chest of drawers would be great if it fit in the room for some more clothes storage. Only having 1 drawer in the night stand was inconvenient.
Location: Beach Beach Beach. Many Beach Front hotels to try next time.
Very good location. Central and close to most South Beach destinations so a car isn't required unless you are going exploring further afield. In all I was happy with the stay but upon arrival I was a bit disappointed with the room. The rooms are small. That's ok. We had a signature terrazzo. There was a half closet above the minibar that also housed the in-room safe so shirts couldn't hang free, they "landed" on the safe. Ladies, forget about hanging a dress (we were there for NYE so my wife had 3 dresses). They will bring up a portable coat rack but as the room is small already this coat rack takes up valuable floor space along with suitcases There is a door on the toilet (a la Europe) but the bathroom is in the room so the small glass shower is there. The bed was comfortable and the terrace was smaller than in the website pictures but it is the highlight of the room. South Beach is busy with the accompanying noise. While I could hear the horns and some crowd noise it didn't bother too much. There is a bar that had music on the main floor. If your room is on the main floor you will hear it. The front door on Collins leads into a restaurant and the back door leads into the bar. So you need to go thru these areas to get to the reception desk. There are stairs so be prepared. The valet service is outsourced so the hotel doesn't control the how fast you get your car. It took 40 minutes for our car to be delivered upon check out. It made for a close call at the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Dwight P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and feedback. We surely understand and sympathize with you in regard to the size and amount of storage in our guest rooms. We are, however, happy as you seemed to have enjoyed your overall experience with us and look forward to having you back with us for a quick weekend get away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

1 to 5 star experiences

Posted Jan 1, 2017
My stay at the Kaskades had a wide range of experiences. Some were just downright poor and others quite nice. Gale Front Desk: 1 star-Attendants uninterested in helping, seemed to be distracted and bothered by guests (Ramone and 2 others) Kaskade concierges: 5 stars-engaged and helpful (Rose and Jose) Gale concierge: 5 Stars-left my bluetooth keyboard and Greg called and arranged to get it sent back to me-nice! Operations: 2 stars-wrong bags delivered to room, key cards prepare by Gale front desk did not work making the whole check in process miserable. Inconsistent maid service; room prepped and cleaned differently everyday. Room Facilities: 2 stars-hot water required special knowledge of how to work the faucet to find the right point and took several minutes to get hot water. Slow drain backed up water into the vanity area; engineer removed hairball, but still had issues and had to take showers fast otherwise water would pool in shower area. Room Design: 5 stars-Really nice! Great technology integration and overall design touches. Felt quiet and luxurious, a good getaway. Electronic TV checkout was convenient and let me avoid the front desk! Others: I did not use the pool at the Kaskades or Gale, but they looked nice. The use of the Shelborne beach club was great with courteous Shelborne staff at the beach and convenient access. Overall, even with the uneven service, I would definitely look to stay at the Kaskades again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Dwight P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback and we apologize for all the inconsistencies you faced during your experience with us. Although we are happy you would return to stay with us, a few of the points you mentioned, specifically with regard to certain staff members and operations, are very concerning and we will see to it that these aspects are addressed accordingly. Thank you for staying with us and we forward to having you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent SoBe location.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Clean, excellent facilities.
Stayed for a short break. This hotel is located right in the centre of South Beach, but is not a party hotel, so perfect for a relaxing stay. The room was clean and comfortable, and the on site restaurant and bar facilities are top notch. The rooftop pool is small but nice to hang out and relax at. The hotel also provides chair access on the beach and a free on call shuttle service around south beach. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Dwight P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us and hope for you to return soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, disappointing hospitality

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: pool, decor
Cons: hospitality
Pretty boutique hotel, nice pool, good location. Patience needed on the hospitality end -did not check into room until 4:45 (hotel promises a 4:00 check-in), non-existent service and pool (you have to call the restaurant for service and it then takes a while for them to arrive), the pool was out of towels more times than not and the cable in the room did not work after two calls. Each instance the staff replies with a simple "sorry" with no follow-up. I think if you're paying under $200 for a room it's ok but beyond that I would look elsewhere as the value is just not there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Dwight P, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to outline your experience and it is unfortunate that your stay with us did not play out as well as either one of us would have liked. We will be sure to use your review as tool to improve on the inconsistencies mentioned and ensure a more seamless guest experience. We profusely apologize for how your stay went and want you to know that what you endured is not typical of Gale or its services. We do hope that you would be willing to give us another chance and show you the experience that you deserve; we look forward to having you back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Nice rooftop pool with warm water. No closet space, unable to even accommodate a dress shirt let alone my sundressess. No drawer space or suitcase stands. Over priced. 85.00 for beach chairs I didn't use.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Dwight P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please note that our $25 daily resort does not just cover chairs on the beach, but WiFi for all your wireless devices, local phone calls, concierge services, bellman services, access to our electric car service as well as our fitness center; we apologize that you were not properly informed of everything entailed with this charge, but hope you had an enjoyable experience. Thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Top notch all the way around. Will go back for sure, great experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by Dwight P, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to having you return very soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Overpriced...... for what it is....

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Customer service and room cleanliness.
Room was not what i thought. Stayed four nights, told them the bulb in the bathroom were out.... four days later still out. Waitress in the restaurant were really rude. Very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by Dwight P, Hotel Management
We apologize that your experience did not play out as well as either one of us would have hoped. The lighting issues outlined have been addressed and will be fixed appropriately. As for your experience at the restaurant, we will be sure to address this with their management team. As for our prices we set them based on competing hotels in the area, but apologize if you felt it was overpriced. Thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Just 2 min walk to beach, great restaurants nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Dwight P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment and for staying with. Please do return soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, United States of America

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The hotel itself is nice, and the pool is great too but the service isn't as good. We stayed at the kaskades suite and we weren't that satisfied with our stay. We arrived at 3pm and had to wait 2 hrs to get our room finally... at 5 pm! The room wasn't 100% clean, and room service wasn't that great (I ordered a bottle of water never got it) !
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Dwight P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry for the inconsistencies you experience at check-in a& with regard to the cleaning services provided to your room. We do hope you were able to find some solace with us and hope for you to return in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location...

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The hotel is located close to the beach and Lincoln for shopping. It is a small and clean boutique hotel with character. Room we stayed in was small on the third floor. There is a night club on the 4th floor and we could hear the music and base until 3-4am which made it difficult to sleep. Staff were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Dwight P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us, Maria. Please come again soon!