Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No hot water

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Disappointing . No offer of refund or reduced rate to compensate for lack of hot water
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Great location ...only.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Hotel could do much better, starting with the front desk staff. I had read a review that said that Laura from front desk didn't greet them /rude demeanor and it was on point. Upon my arrival to check in, I was met with a blank stare and not a "good morning ". While I'm not looking for a best friend during my stay, I expect a hotel to hire a friendlier and more helpful person for the front desk position. Room didn't have central AC but a portable unit that was so loud. Other than that, bed was comfortable and that was important.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location close to beach

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Hotel Astor was overall an enjoyable stay. The location was great as well as the staff. It was convenient that they had beach chairs at the beach for you and it only took 5 minutes to get there. The pool was very small and no lounge chairs and the renovations seemed cheaply done. Overall it's a good clean hotel if you don't plan on spending too much time at the actual hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay for the price

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Nice size room, not far from the beach. Right in the center of the action. Hotel staff was nice. Nice size room, bed, and couch. Bed was comfortable, nice size bathroom. only a few complaints. The shower took a while to warm up, the sink was clogged, on my last night, the cable TV was not working. However, for the price, I would say again. Hopefully with those few issues resolved next stay..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel but probably won't stay again

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Let's start with check-in. Arrived at 12 and check in is not until 3. They actually made us 4 adults and 2 toddlers wait 2 hours for the room. I've never had to wait if room ready. Sink was broken but fixed immediately. My primary gripe is that the property is nice but has a rundown feel with small old elevators and small pool area. It's lovely but not as modern as I prefer. Only a short walk to beach and shopping which was a plus. Like I said, nice place but probably won't book if needed again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff but long wait for food and valet.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Friendly staff and pleasant environment. The staff went out of their way upon arrival but not at all attentive when we were leaving. If you order food be prepared for a long wait. Nice atmosphere and close to the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Lauren, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are training staff in restaurant to be more efficient and pay close attention to wait time. We are sorry the service was slow but rest assured we are addressing the problem. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future. We would be happy to offer you complimentary breakfast daily on tour next visit. Thank you! Lauren
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c nyc

Great 5 night stay at hotel astor.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Great hotel. Great staff. Nicely renovated rooms. Good for a quick getaway. It is close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Lauren, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your positive review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon. Lauren
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Gem of a Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Dec 20, 2016
My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Astor for four nights and were most impressed with this Hotel. It is a very clean and well kept older hotel a couple of blocks from the beach allowing for a quieter safe feeling stay. Our room with two double beds was spacious and clean and even included turn down service. The staff throughout the Hotel was exceptionally nice. We felt like we were staying with friends they were so sincerely friendly and accommodating. We took advantage of the bicycles, beach loungers and towels included in the resort fee. They were a very enjoyable convenience. I will definitely be back to this great find. Thank you Hotel Astor for a fantastic stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Lauren, Hotel Management
Dear Cathy, Thank you so much for your nice review. We truly do want to make you feel at home while you are with us and it's nice to hear that you felt that way. We look forward to welcoming you back and wish you an amazing holiday season! All the best, lauren
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Astor

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Close to beach, clean. Pleasant staff. Silly resort fee per day. Elevator was noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Lauren, Hotel Management
Dear anonymous, Thank you for your review. We strive to make the guest experience as enjoyable as possible and appreciate the feedback. We do hope you had a chance to enjoy the many amenities you receive with the resort fee- exclusive lounge chairs on private beach access, welcome mini bar snacks and drinks, welcome drink in our social club, wifi and comp local calls. We hope you will come again and we will do our best to make sure you enjoy your stay. Happy holidays! Lauren and the staff at hotel astor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent location within South Beach, Miami

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The decor of this boutique hotel is stylish.
Cons: It must be difficult to keep on top of the maintenance of the rooms so a couple of temporary repairscould be of better quality
Location: If you arrived at the Miami International Airport, why not consider the inexpensive Airport Express (number 150)? It drops you off at the door.
If you are thinking about an independent visit to Miami, why not consider the Hotel Astor? My wife and I took a short taxi ride from the Cruise Terminal after a thirteen day luxury cruise. I was still amazed when the door was opened up for us at the hotel. The decor was stunning! The tour around the facilities confirmed we were going to have a good time. Washington Avenue is only a couple of blocks away from the ocean and we took the towels and small "Astor Hotel" fabric bags to the beach. The bags were shown to "Hut 9" and the sunbeds were thoughtfully set out on the beach for us. The hotel's wonderful service even extends to the public beach! Shops and restaurants are located along Washington Avenue, but Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive are even more lively. The nightlife is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Lauren, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for your wonderful review and taking the time to describe all the reasons why you enjoyed your stay. It means A lot to us because we constantly strive to make the guest experience as enjoyable as possible. So glad you got to enjoy the beach and we just opened our new Art Deco pool and the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back and surprise you with even more amenities. In the meantime we wish you a wonderful holiday season and happy New Year! All the best, Lauren