Ratings based on 888 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC, Canada

Big expectations but a big letdown.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach. Comfortable beds.
Cons: A ton.
Unfortunately very underwhelming. Cute boutique hotel with lots of charm overall but some elements were outdated. Outdoor furniture for example, around pool especially, old and dirty. The bar offered no beer (said the Beer company had not delivered), and TV in the bar was broken (could not watch The Masters!). Bartender typically not at his bar but rather chatting with front desk staff, not waiting people by the pool. No restaurant in the hotel.....not a big deal but I was expecting one. Upon arrival , the front desk staff person was not friendly and not very informative about big local events happening at that time. No hot water from the showers unless you let the tap run for 20 minutes prior to getting in. And Valet parking - a big, big disaster. We were informed that we needed to request the car 20 minutes prior. On all occasions, we waited 45min in one case, 60 min in another case, almost forcing us to jump in cabs in order to get to our destinations on time. Upon complaining we were told it's 20 min minimum but that it could take longer. For $35 per day Valet service this was horrible service. Plus no hotel parking so not much choice to take Valet. The Valet is outsourced, by the way, so Hotel Astor does not have much control over the service. On a positive note, comfortable beds. Very, very disappointing. This hotel was referred to me by a friend, who also came to the hotel during this stay, had been there years ago, and was also disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Unexpected Joy.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The staff, Terrace, and my bathroom. Be courteous and human and the staff will be gracious (Pushy Spring Breakers).
Cons: Not 1 thing. My room was a blend of Minimalist, Modern and Vintage was very well done.
Location: At Puerto Sarga I fell in love with a fresh tomato. They know how to take simple to WONDERFUL. Pizza Rustica's Shrimp Pizza with Pesto---OMG!
The Hotel Astor reminds me of Vintage Hollywood. I love it. The staff was so pleasant and helpful. The room was quietly elegant. If I could take the bathroom home I would.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommend!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
The lock is broken, the toilet is hard to flush, and no hot water or water boiler. The wifi is not stable. They insisted to give us a room at the very end of the lounge, and said the rooms were sold out, we can't change. But we reserved early. The stuff here? Some are very nice. Some are not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location in South Beach.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Cons: Only one bicycle was available when we needed two so we rented citi bikes nearby.
Location: Beach, art deco area (good walking tour), restaurants, cycling and walking along Ocean Drive.
Excellent rate, good breakfast included. Very attractive lobby and dining-room. Great location in middle of South Beach. Small pool with pleasant sitting area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Everything was ok....................................... .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No hot water

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Disappointing . No offer of refund or reduced rate to compensate for lack of hot water
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Great location ...only.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Hotel could do much better, starting with the front desk staff. I had read a review that said that Laura from front desk didn't greet them /rude demeanor and it was on point. Upon my arrival to check in, I was met with a blank stare and not a "good morning ". While I'm not looking for a best friend during my stay, I expect a hotel to hire a friendlier and more helpful person for the front desk position. Room didn't have central AC but a portable unit that was so loud. Other than that, bed was comfortable and that was important.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location close to beach

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Hotel Astor was overall an enjoyable stay. The location was great as well as the staff. It was convenient that they had beach chairs at the beach for you and it only took 5 minutes to get there. The pool was very small and no lounge chairs and the renovations seemed cheaply done. Overall it's a good clean hotel if you don't plan on spending too much time at the actual hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay for the price

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Nice size room, not far from the beach. Right in the center of the action. Hotel staff was nice. Nice size room, bed, and couch. Bed was comfortable, nice size bathroom. only a few complaints. The shower took a while to warm up, the sink was clogged, on my last night, the cable TV was not working. However, for the price, I would say again. Hopefully with those few issues resolved next stay..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay at this art deco hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at the Hotel Astor was great. Everyone was very friendly and while the hotel is small overall, the space is very comfortable and clean and our room was huge. We spent most of our time at the beach and there are complimentary chairs and beach towels provided for use at the 10th street beach which is only two short blocks away. The hotel was close to all the action, but far enough away that you could have a quiet nights rest. The only thing to be aware of is that we could hear the music from the Hotel Astor's Social Club at night from our first floor room - it didn't bother us too much as we were up late and tired anyway. The only downside to note is that you are still charged an extra resort fee when you checkout. We weren't made aware of this when booking.