Ratings based on 786 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tuxedo, ny

art deco

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Cons: Parking. Pd to much for valet service. Had to wait up to 1/2 hour or more to get our car. Glad we didn't have a plane to catch.
Location: beach, eating, sightseeing
The setting made you feel like you were in the 1930's.. Nice bar, great little courtyard for eating or drinking. Staff all very, very helpful. As soon as our suitcases were out of the car, they were taken in & brought to my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thank you!

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Thank you kindly for your hospitality on our recent stay. Our room was clean, and comfortable and the staff was kind and willing to provide any help that we requested. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable and we will see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A short comfortable stay

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: I like that the Hotel management tackle the problem with the T.V. in this manner, by offering different suggestions to let us feel comfortable.
Location: The location was perfect for us lots of shopping and dining locations.
The flat screenT.V. was not working, but we were offered an other room and breakfast. And also 10% discount on the hotel rate. But due to the fact that we had paid thru Expedia, we should inform Expedia about this fact so that the10% could be refunded.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bugs

Posted Dec 27, 2015
There were roaches in the bathroom all the time. Hotel also does not have its own parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, British Columbia

Undergoing renovation but okay to stay for a short

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Ambiance, lovely lobby, original 1930's look, original bathroom fixtures, proximity to Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue etc.
Cons: Floor in the bathrooms and if not included in the price the breakfast should be more reasonable.
Location: Shopping, beach, walking, a lot of fun although quite noisy at night.
I liked the general look of the hotel and when renovations are completed will be very nice (although I imagine they will raise the price). Rooms are okay right now but for an extended stay. Front desk very helpful, the tv in our original room was not working so they moved us immediately to a better, much larger room. Cleaning staff - not very good, the cleaning woman showed up at 3 pm, took five minutes and was gone. Big minus - basic breakfast at US$14.50 a person. Short walk to the Ocean Drive and you can have better breakfast for prices raging from as little as US$5.00 to US$8.50 per person. Apparently guests making reservation directly (not through Expedia) have breakfast included in the price. Not very nice. I would also recommend that they change or replace or... the floor in the bathrooms. Both rooms have tiles broken in the bathrooms, not a very nice experience if one is barefoot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Hotel Astor is a great location. An extremely close walk to all the action in South Beach. However, getting extra towels took some time, up to two hours at one point.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mollie from NY

Good - Could be great with some updates.

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
The Astor is co cute and vintage, perfectly located in central SoBe, two blocks off of the beach -- so steps away from partying on the strip, Espanola Way, and better shops along Collins. The staff was friendly and helpful but the hotel needs repair and updating, and perhaps some help from the owners/management. For example the room was clean, but you had to wait for towels because they did not have enough to replenish everyone's rooms with, no washcloths at all, limited hand towels and bath matt towels (so you had to wait for the laundry). The bathrooms big but floor tiles broken, the room was clean but their had been a leak above, so the ceiling was water stained - but again, all was clean and well kept. The funniest thing was the "complimentary breakfast" we received as a special gift to us - a choice of toast or cereal or fruit, coffee and juice - you may as well just give it away and not make a big deal of it. This hotel could be great with a little effort from the owners to put some money behind it -- it is fabulously classic Art Deco, it staff is excellent and trying so hard and its location is prime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JUAN from Valledupar

Paseo Miami

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Se nos daño el aire acondicionado en la madrugada no nos pudieron solucionar nada en el momento pero en la mañana del mismo día nos cambiaron a una habitación más grande y no regalaron el desayuno
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gutes Hotel in guter Lage

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Die Lage des Hotels ist super! Die Sauerkeit ist sehr gut gewesen.
Cons: Die Parkkosten sind sehr hoch. Das Hotel ist schon etwas abgewohnt. Im Zimmer wäre ein Safe sehr schön gewesen. Die Lage unseres Zimmers war ungünstig
Wir haben hier zwei Nächte zugebracht und waren insgesamt zufrieden. Die Lage ist toll - in 5 Minuten Fussweg ist man am Ocean Drive in zentraler Lage. Hier wird einem keinesfalls langweilig. Vorab möchte ich sagen, auch wenn wir einige Aspekte während unseres Aufenthalts hatten, die wir als unschön empfunden haben, so war es doch insgesamt trotzdem ein schöner und aufregender Aufenthalt in diesem Hotel und Miami insgesamt. Und ein Riesenpluspunkt: das Personal ist immer sehr bemüht und sehr nett. Wir sind mit Mietwagen unterwegs gewesen und brauchten daher eine Parkmöglichkeit. Wir haben uns gegen den teuren Parkservie entschieden. Zum Glück ist gegenüber vom Hotel ein kleiner Parkplatz und in der Seitenstraße kann man auch an der Straße parken - allerdings ist auch hier das Parken nicht ganz günstig. Und man muss aller 8 Stunden erneut bezahlen, das war etwas nervig. Zwei Straßen weiter war auch ein Parkhaus, aber wir hatten kein Glück, es war immer voll als wir dort waren. Aber dafür ist es auch Miami Beach - hier ist immer was los! Bei den Parkplätzen ist reger Wechsel, man muss halt nur etwas warten. Zum Hotel: das Hotel und die Zimmer sind insgesamt vom Stil her sehr schön gehalten. Wir hatten ungünstigerweise das einzige Zimmer der Etage, was nicht direkt den Zufang zum Gang hatte sondern mit Zugang zum Treppenhaus. Wenn irgendwer spätabends/frühmorgens (vor 6 Uhr) durch das Treppenhaus in den Gang wollte oder umgekehrt, haben wir im Bett gesessen vor Schreck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Great, friendly, and helpful staff! I plan to stay here again!