Ratings based on 985 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 8, 2016
i like this hotel,very much.this is a first time i was ther.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 27, 2016
This hotel exceeded my expectations. First off there was an error with my check-in date, my itinerary had said that my check-in date was a day prior to my arrival, but the hotel staff was more than accommodating and had a room ready for me despite the inconvenience. The hotel room was clean, beautiful and had a nice view of the ocean. The hotel provides beach towels for guests which is convenient and the also have bikes they'll lend to explore south beach! (Free of charge I might add!) But the one thing that exceeded my expectations was the breakfast; they offer a continental breakfast for free with your stay and let me tell you the breakfast was amazing! Most hotels usually just offer the basics, coffee, cereal, toast/bagels, but they had so much more than that. They offered hot breakfast (French toast, pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, as well as "normal" continental breakfast items. I had such a pleasant stay at the Breakwater!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Fine for what I paid- but nothing more.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: staff, beds, pool area
Location: Everything is within walking distance if you plan to spend your time on the main strip.
The hotel is in a great location, but definitely a "no frills" stay. The room was decent size, but the bed was very hard, and the cleanliness was a bit questionable. I booked through expedia and was supposed to have a king size bed with a courtyard view. Upon arrival I waited 10 minutes for someone to come to the front desk to check me in. I was directed to a room that over looked the dumpster in the alley and only had a full size bed. I called to the front desk and was told that they would look into changing my room and call me right back. 20 mins later I still hadn't received a call, only to realize that the room number that was on the actual phone was not the room I was in. I gathered all of my things and proceeded back to the front desk where the employee told me that she tried to call my room but got a busy signal (which of course was due to the mix up of phones in the room). She relocated me to another room in a different building- which at least had a side street view (of the Clevelander) and a king sized bed- however, to get to the building you had to walk through the restaurant (literally in front of the stage where there were performances going on) and past an ice cream shop to a small suspect elevator tucked in a back corner. The valet drivers were definitely the most inviting part of the staff. I booked the hotel last minute and paid very little for the night. For that price, I was fine with what I got, but I would not have paid anything more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from middle village ny

Hotel front desk

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pay attention to your guests. We are the reason you have a job.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great location, great vibe!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
The breakwater is on the beach, true Art Deco and had a party going from 8pm daily. It is close to everything in SoBe and really enjoyed it. Only complaint was we got put in new wing under renovation - our room was nice but workers in the hallway. However that was minor and overall it was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Breakwater Hotel, Hotel Management
Simon, thank you for choosing the Breakwater Hotel as your South Beach destination. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stayed and that our location is prime. We are so sorry that at the time you were here there was a soft remodeling going on. We will assure to look into this matter in order to assure a seamless future stay. We thank you again for choosing Hotel breakwater Hotel !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near the beach

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Walking distance to beach, restaurants & tour buses. Free towels for beach and bike rental free.
Cons: Even though the breakfast was complimentary, we noticed there was no fruit, just apples.
Location: Across the street from beach, 1/2 block to boat & bus tour, plenty of restaurants.
My daughter recommended Breakwater. We loved it! Walking distance to beach, restaurants & tour buses. Staff was helpful. Free towels for beach and bike rental free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Breakwater Hotel, Hotel Management
Rick, thank you for choosing the Breakwater Hotel as your South Beach destination. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stayed and that our location is prime. We will assure to look into this matter and share your thoughts with the restaurant management in order to assure a seamless future stay. We thank you again for choosing Hotel breakwater Hotel !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
The valet parking at the hotel was quite expensive. If you are planning to stay at this hotel, I would strongly advise not to bring a car as it is difficult finding parking in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We thank you for choosing the Breakwater as your South Beach destination. We apologize if the nightly cost of valet parking was not what you had anticipated. Unfortunately as there is no free parking in south beach we understand it can be difficult to find a nightly parking option. We do hope you enjoyed your stay at the Breakwater South Beach and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
by Jessica from Malmö

Great location on beach with free bikes to loan

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Overall very good but last night I found a huge cockroach and some other unidentified creature in room and had to move late night to another room. When I checked out there was no compensation or even anyone that said anything about the incident. I found that very, very odd since I lost 2 hours of my vacation because of this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Natalie, Hotel Management
Jessica, Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. First and foremost I would like to appoligize for any inconvienices that may have occurred during your time at the Breakwater South Beach. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we are aware how valuable and precious vacation time is. We hope that on your next visit to South Beach you allow us to provide excellent service to you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic Stay

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Location: Beach, Art Decco Shop, Mango's, food, food, food!
Location was great - across from the beach and near all the South Beach night life! The staff was super! When they found out it was our anniversary, we received a complementary bottle of bubbles! Cell phone signal was a bit weak in the room; had to go across the street to make a conference call. Overall... great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Natalie Levkovitz- Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Breakwater as your South Beach destination! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff will be motivated to know their service exceeded your expectations! We hope to see you on your next anniversary visit to South Beach!
3 out of 5
by Sheila

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels