Ratings based on 813 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Doesn't get any closer to the party scene

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Like I said if you are into the party scene, don't care much for sleep and prices then it'll suit you.
Cons: Obscene $300 hotel lodging bond cost up front
Location: Party and Party. If you want to save on eating costs walk left about 5 blocks to likes of TGI Fridays. Of course Ocean Dve is on the beach line
If you want to party 24/7 then this is the hotel for you. If not read away and seek another hotel. This hotel location is not for the relaxed traveller wishing to get a quiets sleep. The Oceans 10 bar is connected to the hotel lobby so you can party as early as 8pm with live band until closing of with a DJ to as early as 6am the next morning. One block away is the Clevelander another popular party and dance bar. I intended to have a lack of sleep and live the party scene. Not until the ridiculous alcohol prices were shown. $21 USD for a pint of Stellar was ridiculous and made me realise pretty quick this hotel or Miami was not for me. I don't appreciate getting taken for a ride on stupid prices and ordinary service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from falk

Excellent au top

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Hotel on ne peut mieux placé sur océan drive,, qui dit bien placé dit ambiance dit bruit on ne peut pas tout avoir. On a adoré chambre super grande. Pack plage avec serviette et eau à dispo gratuitement chambre jusqu'à 12h00 le jour du départ . Je le recommande vivement
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Perfect stay at breakwater hotel.

Posted Aug 5, 2015
I couldn't have asked for a better accommodation. This hotel had a spectacular view that would knock your socks off! it was in the heart of south beach near all the hot spots for entertainment. Customer services was on point with impeccable room service. When you order your drinks you can a deal of two for one all day long and the drinks are prepared to perfection! If you live in Florida like me or you come to visit please consider this gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Perfect Location!

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Location, gym, shower, comfortable rooms, super friendly staff, location!
Cons: Fix the "renovations," the hotel looks like it is falling apart....disappointing for such a great hotel!
Location: beach across the street with watersports, restaurants upon restaurants down the Ocean Drive. Cute art shop down the street.
The hotel was very nice, had a pool and small gym. Perfect if you want to get a quick run in everyday but don't want to be in the sweltering heat. Staff was always available and pleasant, willing to help! Quick walk to the beach, where you can rent lounge chairs and umbrellas, hotel provides beach towels. Hotel provides water bottles upon request and has fruit available for free every day, as well as, a free full breakfast every morning. Two restaurants attached to the hotel, one is low key, while the other one is upbeat with live entertainment on the weekends. It does get loud, but our room was on the back end of the hotel, so the noise was not an issue. Super plus is the water fall shower head and detachable side shower head, which you are able to toggle the water between the two heads or not. The only con I have is that it looks like the hotel has either been renovating or it is deteriorating. I never saw any workers working to make renovations, which leads me to believe that the hotel may be letting some issues go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panamá

Very close to the beach, nice location

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Cons: Breakfast
Excellent location, in the middle of the party, close to the beach, nice room very clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from São Paulo

BreakWater - CUIDADO!!!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Somente a localização.
Cons: Atendimento e respeito.
Pois bem, o hotel mencionado oferece bicicleta aos seus hóspedes sem nenhum custo adicional, porém não avisa sobre algum perigo que possa ocorrer. Como sempre viajamos e usamos bicicletas dos hotéis em outros lugares do mundo, sempre levamos nosso cadeado, por garantia. No dia 29/07/15 no período da noite meu marido e eu usamos as bicicletas sem nenhum problema. Então, na manhã do dia 01/07/15 resolvemos ir a um shopping próximo localizado ao lado da 115 5TH Street, para fazer compras na loja Ross. Colocamos as bicicletas ao lado do ponto de ônibus, em frente a entrada principal do shopping e como de costume trancamos as mesmas. Porém para a nossa surpresa quando saímos as bicicletas haviam desaparecido. Chamamos a policia e fizemos o boletim de ocorrência. Porém, para a nossa surpresa quando retornamos ao hotel e mostramos o boletim de ocorrência, eles não se interessaram pelo ocorrido e somente nos disseram “paguem” o valor referentes a elas, US$ 600,00. O gerente que estava no hotel naquele momento, não se dispôs a conversar conosco, mesmo sabendo que o Hotel tem seguro, só exigiu o valor a ser pago. Fomos ao Victor Hotels, tentar encontrar alguém para nos ajudar, já que o dono é o mesmo. Não adiantou. Só queria parabenizar ao hotel por ter destruído a nossa viagem de comemoração, referente há 8 anos de casamento. A partir desse dia não conseguimos fazer mais nada, pois o dinheiro que tínhamos, usamos para pagar as bicicletas, que não valiam nem US$ 100, as duas. CUIDADO!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
We had a really nice room for 2. We stayed for 1 night, the room was very clean and the staff were very helpful and full of personality. We had a lot of fun and we enjoyed the beach right across the street and the pool on the side of the building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
A little pricey for the overall condition of the hotel but it worked out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia PA

Great area

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Breakwater is right in the middle of South Beach party strip. They have live entertainment & a DJ on stage in the middle of there 2 buildings. The only cons are the view depending on where your room is located, & the rooms are just basic. But its Miami & who stay in the room often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Fun Hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 24, 2015
The hotel is good if you going for late night fun, as it is in the middle of all the South beach action and right in front to the beach. Room is nice and clean, Includes light breakfast, bike for two hours, Not recommended if you want a quiet relaxed night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Carlos Santana, Hotel Management
Greetings Victor, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. We are in the middle of all the fun and entertainment that Miami Beach has to offer but also have locations in the hotel that are quieter which enable our guest to get some relaxation. We certainly loved having you here and look forward to seeing you return in the near future! Yours in Hospitality, Carlos Santana General Manager Breakwater South Beach