Ratings based on 665 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Sugar Shack!

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Our room on the first floor was plain but large, as was the bathroom. Shower was okay, rather elderly. The air conditioner was old and very noisy, so we only ran it when we were out of the room. The staff were fine and rather entertaining, as well as helpful. They let us check out at noon instead of 11 am, so we could walk down to the beach for a visit. The breakfast, although plentiful in choices, revolves around sugar. Prepackaged Danish, pop-tarts, sugar cereals, everything was sweetened to the max. Not going to get any All-Bran here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were clean, hotel is visibly very old, carpet in hallway needs a change. Staff was extremely friendly and sufficient. littlebreakfast room was cute. Alley view not my fave, heard homeless people all night. Location was great. walking distance was sweet and short. Overall pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017
GLAD YOU ENJOYED OUR STAFF AND YOUR STAY THE CITY AND POLICE WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT THE HOMELESS THIS SITUATION EXISTS ALL THROUGH SOUTH BEACH COME BACK SOON RICHARD
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel manager and workers were very sufficient and friendly. View to alley was not so pleasant. Overall stay was pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Antonio

Spring Break 2K17

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
When for spring break anothe hotel messed up my reservations but island help Ken out and the price was good thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017
HELLO ANTONIO WERE GLAD THAT YOU ENJOYED YOUR STAY AT THE ISLAND HOUSE COME BACK AND SEE US NET SPRING BREAK RICHARD
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Staff not rude, but don't care what happened. The condition is ok. You got what you paid for. Fair choice for low budget traveller
5 out of 5
by SYLVIA L FLORES

Convenient !! Affordable

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
That night I stayed everything was quiet
3 out of 5
by Mark

South Beach on a budget

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
This is an older hotel that has started to upgrade. It all starts with the curb appeal, the sign on the building gave it a sketchy appearance. i opened the front door and I had second thoughts about staying, there isn't a lobby, just a room with a desk. There were questionable people hanging around and the carpet in the hall needs replacing. I checked in and was given a old fashioned key (not a electronic card pass). I was pleasantly surprised that the room was clean and the beds are new. few outlets. Continental breakfast was mostly sweets and suitable for a 10 year old. TV & connection was poor. I don't plan to stay there again. Didn't have any amenities.
2 out of 5
by john

old folks hostel

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
It was billed as a two-room suite, with one room having two double beds, and the other having a single with a sitting area. In reality, each room had one double bed and a third room had bunk beds. Then the wi-fi router didn't extend to half of our floor. The location was good, but overall, the reality didn't come close to the expectations for the room.
5 out of 5
by Joanie

Convenient, Clean, Friendly

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location. Great pricing for room and such friendly staff! Hotel offers towels to use on the beach! (Convenient for packing/cleaning purposes) Parking garage available around the corner for $20/night. Breakfast "buffet" offered in morning with coffee/tea/juice/bagels/snacks. Rooms are a bit outdated, however, no complaints though!
5 out of 5
by Derrick

Best place for ur money on South beach

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Needed place to stay over weekend visit to South Beach. Was last minute thing. But island house was perfect. Would go back again & again