Ratings based on 1,412 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

On SOBE

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Direct access to the beach with hotel services on the beach. Jordan, a beach attendant, took good care of us on the beach.
Cons: There was some construction going on so hopefully this will only improve the hotel for the future.
Location: Nothing more to be said about winter on South Beach when you just came from NYC.
Had a very good stay for a few days before a cruise at the Kimpton Surfcomber. Easy check in & room was ready at a fairly early hour which was appreciated since we arrived by 10AM & were able to spend time on the beach that day. Breakfast on the hotel property was good, especially bloody Mary's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornelius, NC

Very Windy on the day we were there.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Joe's Stone Crab House was exceptional.
Overall very nice facility. Bartender at the Pool was a great mixologist. Breakfast was Good. Front Desk Staff were Exceptional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Elro Roche- Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Doug, Thank you so much for the feedback! We love hearing what our guests think and I am glad to hear you had a great time :) We hope to see you back at the Surfcomber soon. Until then, safe travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

We're coming back!!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Great staff! Great location! The hotel restaurant was better than all of the other restaurants we went to. Don't miss breakfast there.
Cons: Others have mentioned the lights in the hall are very dark. It's a little too easy to trip over service carts or room service stuff left in the hall.
Location: the beach is great. Stroll along Lincoln Rd or take one of the hotel bikes out for a ride through the Art Deco district.
I decided to make a mini vacation out of a business trip by adding 3 days in South Beach. So glad we did, and so glad we chose the Surfcomber! The staff is amazing (how do they hire so many terrific people?!?) Don't miss out on happy hour at the Social Club restaurant. Omar is a great bartender (thanks for the Palomas!) and Louis our waiter was super nice. Try the wings and mahi tacos! The pool staff is great -- they offer fresh citrus or mint water and sunscreen for all.. The fitness center is small but with Precor equipment so very good. Or take a run along the beach -- very easy
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Elro Roche- Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Cathy, Thank you so much for your feedback, we LOVE hearing if our guests had a great time, and it sounds like to did! Our team is fantastic- and not to brag but Kimpton has been listed on Forbes Best Places to Work 8years in a row! I'm glad to see it shows in our team members, especially Omar and Louis :) We hope to see you back at the Surfcomber soon and until then, safe travels!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

great staff and close to beach

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The staff, beach, pool, and food.
Cons: Turn the lights on in the hallway and vacuum the floor.
Location: First time in Miami; didn't like what I saw. A lot of criminal types also vacationing, causing trouble. The cops made a crime scene 2 blocks from hote
The staff was great. The beach was beautiful and right behind the hotel.The food was excellent.The doormen are johnny on the spot with a cab and an open door. On the other side of the coin; the beach is not exclusive so anyone can use the area. The in-room bathroom was extremely small and the hallways are kept extremely dark like a cave. We had one bad experience for breakfast where our un-friendly waitress took forever and acted like she had been forced to work there. Other than that, the staff is top notch and very friendly.One piece of advice. If you want the cuban experience I highly advise going with a tour. We made the mistake of finding a restaurant "Versailles" in little haiti on our own. Big mistake. The waiter made it very clear he did not care for people that did not speak spanish. The next day we took a tour w/ a big group where the locals appreciate the business, even if spanish is not your first language.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Elro Roche- Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sending us your feedback! Not everyone does, and we always like hearing what our guests think. It seems that you picked up on how great our team is and enjoyed the hotel amenities, but we have some work to do on the upkeep. I'm sorry your didn't have a fantastic visit with all of Miami, but I hope you enjoyed your stay with us at the Surfcomber. We have let our full team know of your concerns, especially with our service for breakfast- that is not our standard! Please feel free to keep my contact information in case you make it back to sunny South Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stylish boutique hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Stylish hotel in a great location. Room was comfortable (garden view room) and the pool area is great. The hotel staff were super helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Myers, FL

Quaint small hotel with a great ocean access.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Beach access, great pool open 24 hours and walking distance to all South Beach activities.
Cons: The breakfast at the hotel was not impressive.
Location: Hotel is right in the middle of the art deco area and South Beach.
This is a three story hotel with a large pool and pool area and great access to the ocean. The hotel has chairs and towels for guests right behind the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Art Deco Hotel close the Beach, Shopping & Dining!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The lobby and pool area was clean, funky and very inviting. We enjoyed all the food served at the Social Club or poolside. The wine hour was a treat
Cons: The ventilation system could be improved as we experience intermittent cigarette smoke coming into our room through the ventilation system.
Location: Everything you need is within walking distance. The beach, shopping and great dining are all within minutes from this location.
We had a wonderful stay at the Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Great location, amenities, staff, and value!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Thanks so much to Katie at the front desk for being so professional and accommodative, "Foxy" at the pool for running a tight ship, and Gabrielle for her outstanding poolside service! What a staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Fabulous Hotel with Great Location and Beach

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Huge room, beach connected to hotel, warm pool, great food and drink, fabulous staff.
Cons: Turn off the lights outside the room or put up blackout curtains.
Location: Right in the middle of Sobe. Beach and restaurants are walking distance.
We were lucky enough to upgrade to the suite which was spacious and comfortable. The only negative was that it faced the front of the hotel and there were lights directly outside which stayed on all night, but this was a minor inconvenience. The location of the hotel was perfect. In the middle of everything. Walking distance to restaurants and easy pick up for tours and Uber. Day one was spent at the hotel's beautiful beach under an umbrella with a bucketful of drinks. When it got late, we moved to the pool. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to make our stay great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford

Great, cool hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Excellent pool area & beach access. Plus very close to good nightlife, shopping, restaurants, movies & theatre.