Ratings based on 1,842 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired facilities that transmit noise!

Posted Feb 8, 2016
While the hotel was conveniently located near a shopping mall with a movie theatre and shops, the facilities seemed a little dated. It is also not near the beach. If there is a wedding going on, expect a loud crowd and the rooms carry the noise from adjoining rooms. The staff were pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Right in the heart of the Coconut Grove tourist area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

First class, iconic hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Everything! But the character and condition of the property are really outstanding.
Cons: If I had to find complaints they would be 1) they need better signage so the entrance can be found more easily when approaching from Grand Ave, and 2)
Location: Coconut Grove, the beaches, Coral Gables, Miami, Miami Beach and Wynwood. Lots to do.
This hotel has undergone a top to bottom restoration and is first class. The bathrooms have limestone floors and walls, frameless glass shower enclosures, rain shower and other chrome fixtures. Everything looks new, but fits in perfectly with the art nouveau style or the original hotel. The bedroom has beautiful linens, up to date furnishings and a limestone floor. There were sliding glass doors to a patio with a hot tub. The patio was very private due to plantings on the exterior of the hotel. The room, bath and patio could not have been cleaner and everything was well maintained. In the middle of the hotel is a 3 story atrium with a glass roof--gorgeous! The staff at the hotel were also very helpful, and they allowed us to bring our dog. The hotel was located in a very "hopping" part of town. Nightlife in Coconut Grove centers on the Coco Walk and the Mayfair Grove shopping area. The hotel is located right between the two. Starbucks, restaurants and shops are a 1/2 block away, yet the hotel is very quiet. It was also a great value. I hope to get back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Nice Hotel close to a quiant shopping area

Posted Feb 6, 2016
A great hotel close to a quait shopping area, cineplex and restaurants. The highlight was the hotels taxi service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Largo FL

Quirky Mediteranean Elegance

Posted Jan 31, 2016
The Mayfair is a very unique property. It's odd layout, numerous stairs, balconies and alcoves, and often sprawling multi-room suites, makes one feel a bit like living in a comfortable maze. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed, though there did seem to be an odd smell that permeated the room and seemed to linger in my luggage after leaving. Liked it - but can't say I loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Fabulous. Luxury Japanese hot tub on the balcony

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Lovely hotel Good location. Hot tub on balcony. parking is expensive though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, close to shops and restaurants

Posted Jan 18, 2016
We stayed here for a wedding and it was a beautiful hotel. Rooms and bathrooms were good size and very clean. Only thing is balcony faces a wall, no view of anything. Very close to shopping and restaurants, waking distance to the marina also. Would definitely return here and recommend to others
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: proximity to food, shopping
Cons: A bit noisy to other rooms. Would love a little carpeting
Great hotel for price and location. Shopping within walking distance and parking is very reasonable. Only a mile or so from University of miami and rooms spacious. For the price it is a wonderful find.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Penticton, B.C.

Avoid this hotel at all costs

Posted Jan 6, 2016
When we first checked into the hotel, the service seemed good but it all went downhill after the first night. The hotel is EXTREMELY loud, which resulted in me having the worst week's sleep of my life. The bedding is really uncomfortable as well. The hotel room seemed nice right off the bat, but at closer look, was actually really dirty and the walls/roof/flooring looked about ready to cave in at any moment. Before we left the room each day, I made sure to organize all our belongings so that they weren't in the way of the housekeeping staff. To our surprise, one of them had rummaged through both our bags on the fourth day and left all our clothes and belongings thrown on the chair in the room. They literally took everything out of the bag and left it empty. Nothing seemed missing, but we called down to the front desk right away. That was the last straw that convinced me to never go to this hotel again. I HIGHLY do not recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Palm FL

You have been warned....do not stay here.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Beautiful facility.
Cons: Pretty much every thing. Service is terrible....and I rarely complain.
Location: Great locale...fun shops restaurants in the area.
The hotel itself is actually quite beautiful. However, the hotel is poorly run. The staff is inefficient and irresponsible. I booked a ride to a concert nearby and the young man booking forgot to follow through. Other staff questioned us as if we had made up the booking....and then made us late for the concert, and still charged our room for the ride. We had booked our room through Expedia, so the room itself was also paid in full. After returning home, I discovered the hotel had charged us again for the room. The staff again put us off multiple times and we ended up having to dispute the charge with our bank. Do yourself a favor and try a different hotel. It was a complete hassle.