Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Not to crowded
Cons: Remoled the rooms
Location: Good location not noisy good food near by at cheap prices
My experience at this hotel was not good smell bad ii was disappinted So dirty
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

2nd Time Staying at Ocean Surf, Best B-Day Ever!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location, Price and ESPECIALLY THE STAFF.
Cons: Just accept that it's an old hotel and you'll be fine
Location: IT'S ON THE BEACH and in the middle of everything, lots of restaurants, shops, other hotels, parking, some nightlife, you name it. Perfect location.
All I can say is I appreciate this hotel, their super sweet and nice staff, and the affordability. No, it doesn't have any frills. Yes, there is a lot someone who is picky can complain about. But if you are like me and will be on the go in Miami, want to save some money, and love being able to stay right on the beach (could see the ocean from my gorgeous 2nd floor balcony) then this is the place for you! If you are stuck-up, high-maintenance, can't appreciate a cheap place to stay that isn't brand-spanking new, you won't be happy. I am down-to-earth and can adapt to any situation. I resided at Ocean Surf in September 2016 for my 45th birthday and this was my 2nd time this year staying there. 1st time I was given a room in Ocean Surf's building next door and loved it! This time I stayed in the main building and loved it (I personally feel they upgraded my room because it was my birthday.) The staff is sooooo nice, always available, and at the front desk 24 hours. The area is quite at night. The hotel is very basic, but clean. Also you are a few footsteps away from one of the best sections of North Beach I've ever been in. I just can't say enough good about this hotel and it's location. But again I'm a reasonable person, I read some of the reviews on this hotel and I can't deny some of the observations, however, it just prepared me for what to expect, which is again no frills. I plan to go back again, and you can't beat the price anywhere in South or North Beach!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by JJ, Hotel Management
Dear Natasha: We are so glad that you had a amazing experience, we hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Great location for the beach and restaurants, very affordable, this hotel is great because it's in midst of miami, great spot. The hotel is very simple, great hotel staff, highly recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Great location! But building, room and staff urges a renew.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice to be close to the beach

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: the location
Cons: I do not know, I do not think to return to that hotel
Location: Good places to eat nearby, safe place to hang around
Toilet water not running properly, shower not properly cleaned when I arrived, carpet with bad odour I will not recommend that place to any of my friends
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Bad room smelt like mold no microwave n parkin sucks with dirty mattresses
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Worst hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 29, 2016
It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, because the bed was broken and the TV didn't work and there were necks in the room etc
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location-not my choice

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: It´s in front of the beach.
Cons: WiFi!!
WiFi did not work in the room, and was not able to connect in the lobby. No help with the bags. Old TV in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

You get what you pay for...

Posted Jul 29, 2016
I was forced to pay a early check-in fee. Rooms are ok as far as cleanliness. Very loud staff in the mornings. Sketchy drunks hanging out by the lobby. No cable or good channels, over all. It wasn't the worst experience ever but like my tittle says, you get what you pay for. Don't expect anything fancy or the most comfortability.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Despicable!

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Room smells like mold, it's very old and scary. I checked out 1am instead 11a because my daughter was itching all over. Awful experience!