Ratings based on 709 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great choice!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Close to beach, clean, reasonable
Cons: Funky smell in hallway
Location: Lots of good restaurants, and the beach!
Took a chance and glad we did! Staff is very friendly and helpful! Room was clean and quiet. Older building, but well maintained. Will stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

The Pelican Hotel on Ocean Drive, Miami

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: As above. The high points were that the amenities and perks were as advertised and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Juice and a choice of tea as opposed to just coffee with the free breakfast would be a nice improvement.
Location: On Ocean Drive with lots to see and do, especially in the evening. City tour pick-ups, AA Arena, cruise port are close by. The beach is right there.
The Pelican Hotel on Ocean Drive Miami was as advertised and reviewed (favourably). We chose it because the cost was middle of the range of options, there is beach access, and it is relatively close to the American Airlines Arena where we were going to ($23 cab ride). The good reviews helped. My wife and I stayed four nights. As can be seen from their website the hotel décor is a little unusual, but very comfortable, even if a bit small. There were several advertised discounts and "perks" (e.g., complimentary breakfast, 2 free happy hour drinks per day, 20% of all dining room meals, free beach towels and beach lounge chairs, WiFi, bottled water every day, safe) which were offered to us without any prompting. The "free" breakfast was quite adequate and if you did want something extra you could pay the difference. The staff were all incredibly polite and friendly. Usually I try to remember a staff person's name to comment on if they are friendly, etc, but I didn't have to this time because everyone we interacted with was friendly and helpful. It has to be remembered that Ocean Drive is where all the action is in Miami Beach, so it is pretty noisy at night. The Pelican is several hotels away from the "noise centre" which seemed to me to be around the Clevelander and the Mango Tropical Café. Still you might want to take some earplugs for sleep. Our room on the third floor was fairly quiet with respect to street noise. Overall a very good experience. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Caldwell, NJ

Great Art Deco Hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: We really liked that each room had a different theme.
We really enjoyed our one night stay at the hotel. We were right in the middle of all of the activity and it was great being right across from the beach. We were pleased upon checkin to find that we were given two free drinks at happy hour, a 20% discount on the menu for dinner and a breakfast credit up to $9 per person.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Close to the SB but over priced & food was ok.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Location!
Cons: All of it, we should have been asked what theme! Chairs in our room were broken.
Location: Party, very pricey!
Surcharge was added for a resort fee, breakfast & Internet. It was advertised as free. Room was a 1930 theme. You were not asked if you would like it. We did not. Breakfast was ok no biggie, had to pay extra for bacon! For the price it was not at all what we paid for!! Not any of the other guest were smiling either. We asked for a 7am wake up call, it never came.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, atmosphere and vibe.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
We loved the interior decor, music, service and location. Walkable to everywhere we wanted to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Great hotel close to beach, food and entertainment. Friendly staff clean rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, paper thin walls

Posted Jan 23, 2016
The hotel is well located, but the best part of the experience is the great staff. They are very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. The value of the room was good given all the little add ins the hotel provides- breakfast, two drinks during happy hour, beach chairs and towels. The major downside is the thinness of the walls. We could hear our neighbors conversations word for word... Even their nonverbal conversations in the middle of the night.. This is the only thing that knocked down our experience from a full 5 stars. That, and the neighbors were just generally HORRIBLE. On our third night they decided 3am was a good time to start cursing each other out in the hallway. Waking up to screaming cuss words really detracts from the experience. Luckily when we called down the staff immediately addressed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to the beach!

Posted Jan 5, 2016
This was my first time visiting Miami Beach. The staff made sure I had a wonderful time. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. The beach was a short walk across the street. My room was perfect. I didn't hear any street noises or disruptions from other guests. I would definitely go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great location

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Great location and liked all the inclusions ie wifi, breakfast and beach towels/chairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice Stay, Great Perks

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Stayed here mid December and it was a very nice stay. Stayed in the Deco (cktail) room. Very clean room with a 1940's feel, a little on the small side but still nice. Two free drinks per person at happy hour from a set drink menu, nice amount of drink options, and a complimentary daily hot breakfast ($10 value). Hotel is in the heart of all South Beach action. Set on a block in between Wet Willies and Mangos, two well visited places in South Beach. The Pelican restaurant food was really good, one of the places always full of people on the strip. Had magnificent check in and hotel services with Jesus and the hotel property manager. Only issue we had during our 4 day stay was with one of the waitresses who served us on two different days and screwed up our orders on both occasions. Was no big deal until it happened the second time and when we brought it to her attention she started denying what we ordered and yelling at us. I called for a service manager who came immediately along with the hotel property manager who both apologized profusely and did what was possible to correct the situation. That incident was the only issue we had, which by the time the managers rectified everything it wasn't much of an issue at all. I would definitely stay here again and would recommended the Pelican to friends.