Ratings based on 1,687 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Clean hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Cons: read a second time upper comment
was insulted to be charge resort fees for wifi, breakfast and " bottle water " when you advertise that being part of the offer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Perfect location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: the cleanliness, friendliness and coziness in the back yard.
Cons: bar should be open atleast til midnight.
Location: Walgreens is across the street, the beach is right in the back of the hotel, very easy access. The restaurants are everywhere. Shops and bars are too.
The location is perfect, restaurants are side to side, front and back. Love the cleanliness of the hotel. We love the backyard cozy feeling of the garden patio. and front patio. Me and my friends stayed at the back a lot! it was very lovely! The staff is very accommodating, Daniel (front desk Mgr.) and the guys at the bar are very welcoming. Sandy the bell man is very helpful and very friendly. The housekeeper had cleaned our room everyday for 3 days. It was indeed a perfect lovely and relaxing getaway. Couldn't be more happier with our stay. Would love to come back there yearly! - Rm 310
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Volha, Hotel Management
Dear Jeramie, Thank you for taking the time to write the detailed review. We are delighted to hear you had a great time at the President Hotel, enjoyed the cleanliness and the central location of our property. Thank you for recognizing our team members. It is truly humbling but also rewarding to know that our staff made your stay pleasant. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Miami Beach. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SKOKIE ILL

BEST VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: GREAT LOCATION GREAT BUFFET
ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN AIR WORKED FINE. STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY. BUFFET BREAKFAST WAS WELL WORTH THE RESORT FEE. IVE STAYED AT OTHER HOTELS IN SOUTH FOR DOUBLE THE PRICE BUT NOT DOUBLE THE VALUE IF I WAS DONALD TRUMP YOU ARE HIRED!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by volhas@penguinhotel.com, Hotel Management
Dear Melvyn, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is a true pleasure to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver bc

Attractive but bare bones

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Great location. Friendly staff. Attractive room but no desk or table or drawers and extremely small bathroom. Poor timing by housekeeping staff. Breakfast was minimal. Enjoyed having a drink on the front porch! Does not carry basic tv channels so missed the Super Bowl.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear karen , Thank you for your review. We will be renovating our rooms and lobby area in the coming weeks. This should fix the small bathrooms issues, along with the table and drawer’s issues. We are working on the tv stations to make sure this doesn’t happen again to our guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Didn't like floor to ceiling mirrors on 1entire wall of room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous , Thank you for taking the time to post the review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We will be renovating our rooms and lobby area in the coming weeks. This should fix any issues with the ceiling and mirrors, giving them a better design.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Secret of south beach

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Location. Drinks. Atmosphere
Cons: None
Location: Beach block away!!
Ocean Drive who??? You are truly missing out on a gem if you don't give this spot a try. One block off ocean, near beach, bar, free breakfast, towels, Internet!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear C, Thank you for taking the time to post the review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 15, 2017
I enjoyed staying at The President it was close to everything, the staff was friendly and I love the wall mirror!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Volha, Hotel Management
Dear Takirah, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the President Hotel. It was a true pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to restaurants, shops, beach, and nightlife

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Affordable choice on south beach. Breakfast was horrible. Rooms were pretty dirty. There was a wig in my closet. Location was nice though
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to post the review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are sorry to hear about the service you received. I will talk to the housekeeping manager and see how we can improve cleanliness for future guests. We do clean the rooms each day when a guest checks out as well as freshen up the room when people are in the rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2017
In our room , there was tap noise in the wall that made it hard for us to sleep, front desk clerk could do nothing about it, he said the noise is in pipes in wall, and we would have to deal with it. I will make sure to have them Not take the same room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to post the review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We will be renovating our rooms and lobby area in the coming weeks. This should fix the noise issue in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well located

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Hotel was clean, beds are comfortable and the bathroom was clean as well. It has an elevator ! Most hotels in South Beach don't have elevators so this is a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Volha, Hotel Management
Dear Charlie, Thank you very much for such a positive review. It was a true pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards