Ratings based on 2,418 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Augustine

Really disappointing

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Basic room No hot water. Amenities far away. Don't stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Definitely need a rental car

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Very nice clean. Restaurant is on site. Beautiful pool Jacuzzi is a little on the snall side. You can charge whatever you want tk your room. But you definitely need a rental car to get around. Everything is about 20-40 mins away. Beach is 25 mins.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Antonio Avendano , Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location. impression hotel was closer to airport

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: good restaurant clean and quiet except when planes flew over
Cons: Staff could be better informed about local transportation and trolley system ended up having to go to City Hall to get information
had to call staff several times to get things fixed. clock radio, plugged sink, wake up call system confusing entrance to room dangerously slippery shower stall overcharged for room service (18% gratuity automatically charged but server wanted more $) told taxi would come in 10 minutes morning I left. It took 30 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Antonio Avendano , Hotel Management
Hello Judy, sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected. We will address all the issues you had in order for things like this do not happen in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore,MD

Best hotel NOT by the beach

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Recently stayed here during the World Baseball Classic and we were pleasantly surprised. It is a rather upscale hotel in a nice part of town. Price was right and facilities were very nice. About the only knock I can say is that the gym is very small and is not located where it should be. You have to walk thru the lobby to get there. It just seemed kind of weird. Even so we'd stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Antonio Avendano, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Hope to have back with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great Amenities if they Actually Worked!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The junior suite had a kitchen with equipped with all appliances needed to prepare meals. It also nice size semi private bedroom and living room.
Cons: The rooms are nice but the maintenance and IT support for WiFi need work. Front desk staff speak English but maintenance and cleaning staff do not.
Location: Great location with 20 minutes or less of many attractions.
The hotel offers some great amenities if they actually work. I stayed in Building 13 room 1307. The Jacuzzi in my room had a defective switch which allowed you to cut it on but not off. Maintenance had to come to my room to fix it twice. The WiFi signal was inconsistent and did not work when sitting on the patio. A tech from their IT department had to come to my room twice to fix that problem. The patio was never cleaned so you could not walk barefoot without getting your feet dirty. It should also be mentioned that the maintenance and cleaning staff did not speak English. The best thing about the hotel would be the spacious rooms that and the view of the golf course. When I contacted management to let them know about some of the issues I experienced I was told that they had no record of any of the problems.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Antonio Avendano , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. All issues will be addressed with the proper department heads. Hope to have you back again to be able to turn around your bad experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, Canada

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: The rooms/suites were very large and spacious and the food was very good with large servings.
Cons: An airport shuttle would be a huge bonus, typically most hotels within a certain distance have one. I thought food was overpriced.
Location: Not sure of surroundings except it borders a golf course.
The staff was very helpful and prompt. Beautiful pool. The hotel is separated into a main building that includes the restaurant and front desk, and 15 separate buildings each with 16 rooms/suites. The wifi is quite adequate and there is a computer available to do your flight check-in etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by antonio avendano, Hotel Management
Thank you fro your review!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Its a 3 star hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The room filled up with worms, ate 2 platescof pancakes when arrived me & my wife. For those 2 plates was charged 70 dollars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Antonio Avendano , Hotel Management
JE sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected. We will make sure we address the issues you encounter.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from honduras

Nice hotel but dirty

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: size of the room
Cons: clean, nicer staff
Location: perfect
the hotel is dirty, our room the nightstand was with wet paint, I called to ask for someone to come clean our room and the women at the front desk was rude, would not stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Antonio Avendano, Hotel Management
Hello, I'm so sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We will definitely address the issues you had with the staff in order for this not to happen again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty room, staff impolite and horrible food

Posted Feb 23, 2017
It was just awful. The room smelled and wasn't cleaned
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Antonio Avendano, Hotel Management
Hello, sorry to read you did not have a good stay. I would like to apologies on behalf of the entire hotel. If every want to stay with us again and give us another opportunity we would make sure we definitely make things right this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
had a small i9ssue with the shower and the front desk bent over backwards to make sure that I had the appropriate upgrade
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Marilaura Maldonado - Front Office Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and giving us the opportunity to rectify the issue. I am glad that we were able to turn the situation around and that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon!