Ratings based on 2,803 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PR

Very nice and close to store

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Short stay but nice hotel, the staff very good and facility's is good. Close to Pharmacy and more
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort. We are delighted to know our location close to various attractions of the city was convenient for your needs and that you were impressed with the service provided by our staff. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you, Guest Relations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Definitely "Different"

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: I liked that it was beachfront.
Cons: Hotel rooms needs updated.
I paid extra to have my room upgraded, they still placed me in a room that wasn't ocean view and had no balcony. They switched me rooms after asking them to do so and put me in a room with a leaking air vent. There was a puddle of water in the room. I assumed it was from them mopping the floor and it had not dried yet but I was wrong. I fell on it that night. We ended up placing a towel in the floor to keep it soaked up. I complained to housekeeping, who called maintenance, and he was very rude and told me it was because of the door being opened too much. The last night I was there, I woke in the middle of the night to use the restroom and slipped and fell because of the water and hurt my wrist and knee. When I told the front desk they called someone who told me that I needed to write a statement and I couldn't even move my fingers. The only thing I could write was "Fell".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Sean Marchessault, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for being our valued guest. We apologize for any negative experience related to your recent visit. Please know we take reports of any kind of injury seriously, and we appreciate your patience as we investigate. Please feel free to contact me directly to further discuss your stay. Our hope is to resolve this situation quickly and follow up with you directly. Sincerely, Sean Marchessault General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Going here for years love this place and posting the pizza in the pizza shop downstairs an the pool staff was very good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for returning to our hotel for another spectacular stay! We are delighted to know you our associates left you with a good impression of our hotel and that you were impressed with the food we serve at Poolside Tiki Bar and Grill. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to welcome you back soon! Thank you, Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from idaho

Great hotel on the beach without the high price

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Went on business/relax and wanted beach/ocean view. The prices were so high on all other properties, that when I saw this one I thought for the price that it was probably not that great. However, big surprise, when you walk in you have a beautiful lobby, the room was lovely, spacious and clean They have a nice bar with entertainment It was great to sit on our balcony/lanai and watch the waves. it's a few blocks to restaurants etc but if you don't mind walking you're fine We are going back next week for another week Best of all, the price is right
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for evaluating your stay at the Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your oceanfront view from your room and that you found us to be of a great value in the area. I will be sure to share your compliments with my entire team. We are delighted we met your expectations for an ideal visit and look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Horrible service and very old hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Beach and the pool
Cons: Everything can be improved. Rooms and attitude from the employees. They don't seem to be happy and they take it out on the guests. BIG NO NO.
Location: Nothing to do nearby
Everyone has an attitude. From the valet parking to the restaurant server. The rooms are big but outdated and very poor maintained. The bathroom had holes on the tub. All the lamps were missing the bulbs so we had to call to get them installed so we can have some light. The AC was not working and when we asked, the response was that it needed Freon. They must have added some because the 2nd day was a little bit better. The restaurant server is super slow and gets the orders wrong and when you tell her, she gives you an attitude. Expensive food form what it looks like TV dinners. The only thing going for this hotel is the pool and the beach (FYI, they close at 8pm). I will never stay here again. For the amount of money I paid, I could have stayed in a much nicer hotel with better service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Jackie, Please accept our apologies for the frustrations you experienced with our staff during your stay with us. This is not acceptable service and we will address your feedback comments directly with each department manager mentioned. We do appreciate your staying with us and hope that in the future you will find an opportunity to allow us to make it up to you with a very different and more positive experience. Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

on the beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017
great location lots of stores and place to eat with a 15min drive… wasn’t thrilled with the pizza in the hotel but then again it was late they looked like they just wanted to go home. The pool looked nice didn’t try it out only wanted the beach, the beach was ok thought it would be better too much seaweed…. bring beach chairs. The rooms are not great needs a lot of updating. Used there valet parking since there is no parking to leave car. Only across the street noticed a parking lot for the beach, not sure if you have to pay or free… Also pets are allowed.. Definitely eat at Las Vegas restaurant great Cuban food!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you liked our oceanfront location and the pet-friendly policy. We appreciate your observations in regard to our service and update. We have recently renovated some of the public areas and a number of guest rooms and will continue renovating more rooms this year. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Guest Relations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Hotel from Hell

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Front desk manager pocketed my valet parking fees...and refused to pull the film as proof that I paid...also the room cleanliness was not up to pare for a resort...the people in the room next door was smoking weed...I had a none smoking room...my stay was horrible...I complained to the Corp office. Cool part of the trip was the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by guest relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We are sorry that you had a negative experience with one of our front desk associates, and it is extremely concerning for us to read your comments about theft at our property. Please be assured that we are doing everything in our capacity to investigate this matter and resolve it as soon as possible. The safety and security of our guests is of utmost priority, and our front desk staff is available 24/7 to resolve any issues you may have with neighboring guests. We would have welcomed the opportunity to resolve this issue while you were still here. We appreciate you choosing our hotel, and we hope you will give us a second chance in the future. Thank you, Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Rundown overpriced

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Rooms are dirty and infested with roaches. Restrooms are very small, old and rusty. Air conditioning is old and works at 20%. Cigarette butts on the balcony. Mandatory resort fees as well as bell boy and valet parking services add at least 50% to advertised daily price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by guest relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We are sorry that you were unhappy with your room. We do conduct regular maintenance on our air conditioning units, but it seems we did not get to this one in time. We also apologize for any "unwanted visitors" in your room. We have contacted our pest control to service the hotel, and we are working to ensure procedures are being followed to prevent future issues. Additionally, we are sorry our resort fee came as a surprise to you. We inform guests of this when booking the reservation and again at check-in. The resort fee includes a host of useful and unique amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. We will review your feedback with our team to make sure this information is being presented clearly. Thank you, Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

This place is filthy I had cockroaches crawling.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
I will never book a vacation with Expedia ever again. My room had cockroaches crawling in my bed and in my kids room as well. I had to wait for my car for about 1 hour as well. When I call you guys your costumer service sucks!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by guest relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. Please accept our apologies for any "unwanted visitors" in your room. Our pest control provider has serviced the hotel, and we are working to ensure procedures are being followed to prevent future issues. Additionally, we are sorry for any service issues you experienced during your stay. Our staff typically does a terrific job responding to our guests’ needs, so we're sorry that did not happen in your instance. We value your feedback and will use it to ensure we are more consistent in our service levels. We hope you will give us the chance to make it up to you on a future visit. Our staff typically does a terrific job responding to our guests’ needs, so we're sorry that did not happen in your instance. We value your feedback and will use it to ensure we are more consistent in our service levels. We hope you will give us the chance to make it up to you on a future visit. Thank you, Guest Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

The hotel is a little old but clean.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The hotel is a little old, had been renovated but clean. Watch out for extra hidden charges: valet parking, beach access & $100 deposit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Guest Relations , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know your overall stay was enjoyable, but I am sorry if any inconvenience was experienced. We hope you will choose us again the next time you are in this area. Thank you, Guest Relations