Ratings based on 2,118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mi

Great location

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Close to Lincoln Rd, Espanola Way, and Ocean Dr. Beach access and a pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Parking.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
There is no parking at this hotel you must pay valet parking. You can here other people through the walls.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but old

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Nice hotel but more suitable for older guests, there was no music played by the pool area, these was no 24hr food service, the dining area was extremely small and most of the hotel staff were not friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by TRH, Hotel Management
Greetings, We thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We value your feedback but we are alarmed to read that you felt that our team was not providing you with the hospitality you should have received. It’s our goal to welcome each of our guests as if they were staying in our home, and if this was not your experience we certainly apologize. This is not typical feedback for the hotel, but we have reviewed your comments with our team to ensure that no other guests depart having felt this way. Again, we thank you for taking the time to share your review and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you with a more appropriate Richmond Hotel experience. Sincerely, The Richmond Hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what you'd expect for the price

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Loaction
Cons: Cleanliness, staff morale, customer service.
We arrived at the Richmond and expected the "superior" room we booked on Expedia. Room #1 - We walked into the tiny room and were immediately disappointed. I'm not certain if it was 1970 "art deco" interior, the awkward conversation in the room next to us that we could hear very clearly, or the dingy bathroom. I called the front desk and requested to be moved to a non-adjoining room and confirmed that our new rook would also be a "superior" room. Room #2 - This room was identical to the first except it wasn't adjoining, thank god. The bathtub however, was so backed up there was about 7" of standing water after my fiance showered. We called the front desk and to their credit they sent someone with a can a generic drano right away. Although room #2 was better, we were still disappointed with the lack of cleanliness, upkeep to the rooms, hallways, and pool area. It's dumpy and obviously neglected. Next trip to South Beach we won't be booking through Expedia and will avoid the Richmond.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by TRH, Hotel Management
Dear Richmond Guest, We appreciate you taking time to reflect on your recent visit to South Beach and our art-deco style hotel. We value the comments of each of our guests as it provides us with the opportunity to elevate the overall guest experience. We are pleased that each of your concerns were quickly resolved by our responsive team, but we are disappointed to read that you felt unsatisfied with your experience with us. While we understand that we did not meet your expectations on this visit, we would like the opportunity to provide you with a stay that is more reflective of our standards. We thank you again, and hope you will allow us another chance. Warm Regards, The Richmond Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Could've been better

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Swimming pool better than photos and direct access to beach are the only Hi-Lites of hotel
Cons: Room interiors, walls, carpet, and bathrooms Receptionists very friendly and like to help but their spoken English needs some courses
Location: Location is great, close to Ocean Ave and lots of restaurants
Well, I don't want to say any bad things, but the reality is that in spite of the great location and the pool the inside of hotel needs a complete renovation, walls, carpets, bathrooms, sound insulation for privacy, and a couple of well English spoken staff ( even a little broken is acceptable) The area has plenty of hotels, and to be fair to Richmond, I did not go into each of them to check and compare, but visually they looked better. I noticed someone with a realtor inspecting the hotel. I hope new buyer will do some real renovations The restaurant across the street is great for breakfast Valet parking service was convenient but a little bit expensive $40.00 plus per night I don't rate this hotel 3.5 due to the interior condition of the room and the bathrooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. While most of our guests fully enjoy our property, services and our staff we are sorry that you did not.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Just Horrible!!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: The only good thing about this Hotel, is that is across the street from a really good restaurant called MAXINE'S BISTRO , @ The Catalina Hotel.
Cons: Demolish the Hotel and build a New one!, that will make it better!, Hopefully !!
Location: The location is nice, close to the beach, shops, restaurants, bars... a little far from Ocean Drive.
This is probably one of the must disgusting Hotels in South Beach Miami, There is NO WI-FI in the rooms, only in the lobby, which by the way sucks!!... The hallways smelled like cigarettes from years and years!. When we got to our room, we had our window, facing to a wall, and that gives you a feeling of being in a prison cell. We found disgusting hairs in our bathroom shower and in the towels. We wanted to get a decent and not so expensive place in SOBE, and my girlfriend and I figured that 3.5 stars rating wouldn't be that bad, but ohh surprise man!!, this Hotel should be rated 1 star if so!... Just think about it twice before you decide to book a room at this Hotel, and pay a little extra money to get a better one. The only good thing about this Hotel, is that is across the street from a really good restaurant called MAXINE'S BISTRO , @ The Catalina Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by TRH, Hotel Management
Greetings Arturo, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. While you have highlighted aspects of your stay which are alarming to us, we can’t help but express that there are other comments which we would like to ensure are fully understood. The Richmond Hotel is pleased to offer complimentary WiFi internet in all of the common areas of the property including the lobby, restaurant and bar area, and outdoor spaces. We see guests lounging in these spaces each day making use of that complimentary amenity. For those wishing to gain access to the Internet within their guest rooms, the hotel offers this service for a minimal fee. Most of the hotels on South Beach run perpendicular to the ocean, and like The Richmond, have side facing views. For those wishing for a guaranteed ocean-view, we would encourage upgrading the room type at the time the reservation is made. Your comments regarding housekeeping are alarming to us as this is certainly not our standard. We have shared these points with our leadership team to ensure that this does not repeat itself. Our apologies for any inconvenience this caused, and we do hope you would allow us an opportunity to provide you with another experience at The Richmond Hotel which is more reflective of our high standards. Yours in Hospitality, The Richmond Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit outdated.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
The decor was outdated and the area around the pool was unclean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by TRH, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sharing this with our team, as there is no excuse for the pool area to not be clean. Please accept our apologies and allow us another opportunity to provide you with a flawless Richmond Hotel experience. Warm Regards, The Richmond Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!!

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Climate Control
Location: Beach. Shopping. Drinking.
Few small issues. Employees / Management resolved quickly. Very nice time, have stayed previously and would return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by TRH, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any minor issues you had upon arrival, but we are thrilled to know that the team was able to quickly resolve so that you could begin your South Beach experience in comfort. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, The Richmond Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Amazing place for a beach stay

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: The proximity to the beach (literally right in the backyard!), the staff, and the food were all wonderful. Everything was spotless.
Cons: The hotel was humid, and it got hot at night, so more temperature controls can help. Also, there was a weird smell (sort of like old peach rings).
Location: The beach is right out back and there are great restaurants and shops on the block.
The hotel was very vintage and art-deco, and everything was really clean. The staff were incredibly nice, whether it was helping to get a taxi to the port or just serving us brunch in their adorable restaurant area. The pool and hot tub were beautiful (though the weather was too lousy for us to take advantage of them), and there's a walkway directly to the beach out back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2016 by TRH, Hotel Management
Dear Jess, Thank you for sharing your comments. Cleanliness and hospitality are two of our core values and it sounds like we exceeded your expectations in both aspects. We have passed your feedback along to our culinary team as well, all of whom were overjoyed to learn of your praises. We thank you again and hope you will soon return to the sun and sand of South Beach! Warm Regards, The Richmond Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prima hotel maar inderdaad erg gehorig

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: De locatie was perfect en verder ziet het hotel er goed uit en ligt natuurlijk aan het strand!
Cons: Kamers isoleren
Location: Ligt vlakbij Lincoln Road en Ocean Drive, lopend te doen.
Goed ontvangen in dit hotel, schone kamer en twee prima nachten gehad, vooral omdat ik oordopjes in heb gedaan 's nachts want je kan alles heel goed horen (op de gang/kamer ernaast)... en sommige dingen wil je niet horen. Ik had van tevoren al wel gelezen dat het hotel gehorig was maar je denkt toch dat dit wel meevalt. Helaas. Verder was de locatie echt perfect en kon je lopend naar bijvoorbeeld Lincoln Road en Ocean Drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by TRH, Hotel Management
Greetings Wendy, Thank you for sharing your review. It was a pleasure to host you and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, The Richmond Hotel