Ratings based on 681 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Quaint hotel 1 block from a private beach

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Proximity to nearby shopping and dining, private section of Miami Beach
Cons: $14pp for breakfast is a little steep
Location: 1 block from Miami Beach, short walk to Washington Ave/Collins St shopping and dining area, already located on Ocean Dr.
1 night stay in January 2017. I stayed at this hotel on the final night of a trip through the United States as my flight back to Australia was flying out of Miami. This hotel is located on Ocean Dr in South Beach, a very short walk away from the beach itself and also backing on to main shopping/dining strips on Washington, Collins and further up Ocean. It's not a big high-rise and the whole building only comprises of three floors with a restaurant/bar on the first floor with the lobby. It also has a lot of interesting paintings which makes it a nice change from all the same-same hotels around. They also have a private section of Miami Beach with deck chairs and umbrellas reserved for guests. The room we had was perfectly fine for the limited time we had in Miami - clean, comfortable bed, large TV, nice bathroom. It was a little on the smaller size but that wasn't an issue since we were only there for one night. The hotel staff were also very friendly and stored our luggage for the afternoon at no extra charge. If I were to return to Miami I would definitely look at staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Rhys, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we could make you feel at home. We appreciate your comments about our breakfast and please know we are always looking into new options to increase its value for our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Staff are very nice and the room were clean and neat
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to welcome you back! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Excellent located hotel.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Cons: The bathroom is quite small and has hardly any space to put things down. One side table between two beds is not enough.
Location: Excellent location in a quiet area of Ocean Drive.
Nice hotel near the beach and other interesting areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by FOS, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will gladly take it into consideration, as we only wish to make the stay for guests as comfortable as possible. We also appreciate your kind feed back on our location! We would love for you to visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE Ohio

Nice hotel in a quiet section of South Beach.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Staff was really friendly and helpful; room was perfect for one person-would have been a bit crowded for two
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by FOS, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
It was great! I liked everything about the hotel except the bathroom which is so narrow and small .. not comfortable and definitely not made for women! Otherwise the room amd the hotel was very nice and cozy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite our bathrooms being a little small. Your feedback is important and we are planning to address this when we open our new guest rooms in the summer. We hope to welcome you back so you can see them! Also don't forget to ask about our other room types! Warm regards, Devin Hartling Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

South beach vacation

Posted Jan 15, 2017
This is the third time we have stayed at Lord Balfour....everything was fine except we asked for a wake up call at 5:00 am...had to make a early flight...no call! Fortunately I woke up at 5:35 and had to haul it...we almost missed our flight...on the way out I asked the gentleman at the desk why nobody called us he replied nobody had told him...didn't apology or seem to care. Maybe the hotel should invest in an automated system. Don't count on them to wake you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, Thank you so much for your review. While I am delighted to hear you are one of our repeat guests and that you enjoyed your stay, I'm so sorry that we failed you in providing the wake up call you requested. It was my team's mistake in not communicating I am just glad you didn't miss your flight. Comments like yours remind us the importance of these simple requests and I will certainly follow up with them so it doesn't happen again. We hope to see you again and welcome you back for many more visits! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Staff was hard to understand. The room was a bit small and the shower was a bit weird, but the bed was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. Your feedback is important to us and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay despite a few issues. We hope to see you again soon! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Nice hotel. Close to the beach.

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Great service. Friendly staff. Well decorated rooms. Close to the beach. Cons: very small rooms and bathrooms. You can heat activities and conversation from the room next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Kimberly, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay despite experiencing some noise from your neighbors. We hope to see you again! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
by Patrick

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Patrick, Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back. Warm regards, Devin Hartling Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Close to beach, Nice bar section in the hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Location, decoration in the lobby
Cons: Beds are not comfortable at all, and it seems too old covered with sheets. I really dislike the strong perfume smell in lobby and room!
Overall I had a pleasant stay at the hotel. It was quiet at night, no late night party around. Room is moderate size and bathroom is too small. Strong smell in the lobby and room, really dislike the smell.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Angela, Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I'm glad you had a pleasant experience despite your bedding issues. We take your feedback seriously and will look into this because a good bed is a pillar our core values. We hope to see you again and offer you the perfect experience you deserve. Warm regards,