Ratings based on 697 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel steps away from the beach

Posted May 21, 2017
This was a nice hotel to stay in SB for a few days. The room was clean and nice but my only complaint is the hard wood floors. Although nice to look at, I do not think it's practical for a hotel because of the noise you hear from the other rooms. I would say for the hotel to have carpet in the rooms so the other guest are not disturbed with the walking, yelling, and other loud noise. But overall good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Beautiful boutique hotel with exceptionally wonderful staff. Direct access to beach with chairs. Great wifi access. Beds were not the most comfortable and ac was blowing on head at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
It was was one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. I would recommend it to my friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel at home. We hope to welcome you and all your friends very soon! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Great hotel, perfect location. One of the best things about it is that they provide you with chairs and umbrella at the beach!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our beautiful beach and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great, classy, upscale hotel.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Super close to the beach and far enough from the often loud and obnoxious tourists. We have stayed there 3 times....as boyfriend/girlfriend, as fiancées, and just recently as husband and wife! It really is the only place for us whenever we are in South Beach. Additionally, the owner is often visible and interacts with his guests regularly. We will return same time next year and for many years to follow.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra & Jose, Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay yet again and that we have become a home away from home for you- this is exactly the feeling Room Mate hopes to create in their guests. We hope to be welcoming you back soon.. maybe with the kids this time! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

On Ocean Drive, a stone's throw from the beach.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Attractive decor. Very helpful staff.
Cons: I liked the room decor, but would have liked an armchair to sit on.
Location: The beach is just over from Ocean Drive and there are restaurants and bars aplenty in the locality. Regular buses to Miami itself.
Really helpful, friendly staff. Toiletries were plentiful and replenished daily. Ideal position in the very attractive Art Deco district.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and felt at home with our staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Valet parking

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The hotel was very nice the only problem we had was that the valet parking went through our whole car
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jessie, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the issue with the valet. We work closely with our partners to provide the best service, and what you mentioned is clearly not an example of this. We value your feedback and will investigate the issue to ensure it does not happen again. I hope we can welcome you back soon to provide a perfect experience. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from New York

Solid hotel, across from beach

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Location, room size, staff
Location: Beach, on main drag w/ restaurants, bars, etc.
Great service, great location, and a nice room in the heart of Miami Beach. Reasonable price considering the quality of the property
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Matt, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and picked up on all our best features. We can't wait to welcome you back! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Quirky hotel a stone's throw from the beach.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
This quirky hotel full of character is a stone's throw from the beautiful beach where complementary reserved loungers and umbrellas await. The staff are excellent, genuine and polite, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms a little on the small side but an extension to the hotel, with larger rooms, roof terrace and pool is underway. Extended check out until 3pm for $50 was really appreciated. I will definitely be returning sometime as really, really enjoyed my stay. Thank you for a memorable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Olga, Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel and your kind words about our staff. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us as much as we did with you and that you felt at home here. It was a pleasure to host you and we're looking forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
by Sarah

Great Boutique Hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Altogether a nice hotel! It's south of the busyness on Ocean Drive, but still close enough to walk to everything. The breakfast buffet is nice, you get a discount if you're a guest. Rooms are clean and the beds were comfortable. There are wood floors so great aesthetics, but it does mean you can hear the people above you as they stomp about and roll their bags. Our room was on the Ocean Drive side so it was noisy out there. There was also phantom bass music that started first thing in the morning and didn't stop until late at night. We couldn't figure out where it was coming from. The maids could be loud too as they were cleaning - so if you're trying to sleep in that could also disturb you. I fixed all the above by wearing earplugs before going to sleep. I would say it's a must, unless you're a heavy sleeper. It's true that the bathrooms are small, just don't try to fit more that one person and it's not so bad. The shower was nice, that didn't feel small. I think the room needed another mirror. They had a full-length mirror on the closet doors, but it's so far back into the room you have no natural light to see. Our bedside lamp also had no bulb, we kept forgetting to call and ask for one. At the front desk they give you towels for the beach, and there's a shack on the beach that gives you chairs and an umbrella. You do have to walk a bit to get to the beach but it's not far. You pay for it so you might as well use it! I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your review of our hotel. You're comments are very important to us and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. Sorry for the noise you experience from our staff and other guests, we take this feedback seriously and will find solutions to prevent this from reoccurring. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon! Warm regards, Devin Hartling