Ratings based on 667 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice Hotel Close to Beach, no complaints.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location and Atmosphere, was close to everything, but not in the middle of the action. Offered beach chairs umbrellas and towels.
Cons: Access to a Pool
Location: Beach, Shopping, Dining, Hiking, Water sports, Biking
Great Hotel, quiet, comfortable mattress, slept good, nice design, relaxing experience, beach across the street, hotel provided chairs and umbrellas, and towels, the beach was fabulous, got very lucky with the weather.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Manuel, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Location: Walking distance to Joe's Crab Shack
perfect location, near to South Beach restaurants and beach. Room and bathroom were small but clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experienced some of the wonderful restaurants in walking distance such as Joe's. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lisle, Illinois

Nice area & close to cruise port.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Nice time at the hotel & beach. Close to the cruise port for next day boarding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and had fun at the beach. We hope to see you again soon! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coatesville, PA

Location & Staff Can't Be Beat

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The second in what's sure to be a long string of stays. Located below Fifth Street, this South Beach boutique is very close to everything, yet just far enough away that you can actually sleep when you decide to. The building's greatest feature is its deep covered from porch - perfect for watching the world go by on Ocean Drive and striking up friendships with fellow travelers. But the real magic is the staff. Front Desk Manager Devin Hartling sets the tone, and everyone's one the same page. You're greeted by name, but genuinely, not solicitously or transparently like at certain high-end chains. The staff connect with their guests as hosting friends would, learning what cuisines and experiences would enhance each guest's experience, and making suggestions and arrangements to bring them to fruition. If you want a wild, thumping night-clubby hotel, go further north. If you want one of literally dozens of perfectly adequate but undifferentiated hotels in the heart of South Beach, take your pick. But if you want to feel genuinely looked after by folks who put their customers first, book your stay at the Lord Balfour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Bobby, Thank you so much for your review and your kind words about our hotel and staff. I could not be more pleased to hear we made you feel at home and treated you like a friend would. It was truly a pleasure to host you and we hope to see you again soon! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday Getaway.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, cleanliness, decor.
Cons: Cost??
Location: See above. Would recommend Puerto Sagua if you want to try Cuban food. Good food, great prices. Also, The Local House for drinks and/or lunch.
Hotel staff was great. Very friendly and accommodating. Recommendations for food and drinks were excellent. The hotel is literally right across the street from the beach. Additional hotel charges ($10) per day include towels, chairs and umbrellas for beach. Valet parking each night is $35. Not prohibitive but would suggest a possible alternative. Not sure what that is however. Great location. Walking distance to pier, marinas, clubs, restaurants, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I'm glad you had a positive experience and picked up on some of our best features- especially Puerto Sagua, the best Cuban food in Miami Beach! We appreciate your detailed comments and hope to welcome you back to an even better stay in the future. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Quaint hotel 1 block from a private beach

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Proximity to nearby shopping and dining, private section of Miami Beach
Cons: $14pp for breakfast is a little steep
Location: 1 block from Miami Beach, short walk to Washington Ave/Collins St shopping and dining area, already located on Ocean Dr.
1 night stay in January 2017. I stayed at this hotel on the final night of a trip through the United States as my flight back to Australia was flying out of Miami. This hotel is located on Ocean Dr in South Beach, a very short walk away from the beach itself and also backing on to main shopping/dining strips on Washington, Collins and further up Ocean. It's not a big high-rise and the whole building only comprises of three floors with a restaurant/bar on the first floor with the lobby. It also has a lot of interesting paintings which makes it a nice change from all the same-same hotels around. They also have a private section of Miami Beach with deck chairs and umbrellas reserved for guests. The room we had was perfectly fine for the limited time we had in Miami - clean, comfortable bed, large TV, nice bathroom. It was a little on the smaller size but that wasn't an issue since we were only there for one night. The hotel staff were also very friendly and stored our luggage for the afternoon at no extra charge. If I were to return to Miami I would definitely look at staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Rhys, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we could make you feel at home. We appreciate your comments about our breakfast and please know we are always looking into new options to increase its value for our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Excellent located hotel.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Cons: The bathroom is quite small and has hardly any space to put things down. One side table between two beds is not enough.
Location: Excellent location in a quiet area of Ocean Drive.
Nice hotel near the beach and other interesting areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by FOS, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will gladly take it into consideration, as we only wish to make the stay for guests as comfortable as possible. We also appreciate your kind feed back on our location! We would love for you to visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE Ohio

Nice hotel in a quiet section of South Beach.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Staff was really friendly and helpful; room was perfect for one person-would have been a bit crowded for two
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by FOS, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

South beach vacation

Posted Jan 15, 2017
This is the third time we have stayed at Lord Balfour....everything was fine except we asked for a wake up call at 5:00 am...had to make a early flight...no call! Fortunately I woke up at 5:35 and had to haul it...we almost missed our flight...on the way out I asked the gentleman at the desk why nobody called us he replied nobody had told him...didn't apology or seem to care. Maybe the hotel should invest in an automated system. Don't count on them to wake you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, Thank you so much for your review. While I am delighted to hear you are one of our repeat guests and that you enjoyed your stay, I'm so sorry that we failed you in providing the wake up call you requested. It was my team's mistake in not communicating I am just glad you didn't miss your flight. Comments like yours remind us the importance of these simple requests and I will certainly follow up with them so it doesn't happen again. We hope to see you again and welcome you back for many more visits! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Staff was hard to understand. The room was a bit small and the shower was a bit weird, but the bed was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Devin Hartling, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. Your feedback is important to us and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay despite a few issues. We hope to see you again soon! Warm regards,