Ratings based on 793 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay

Posted Dec 24, 2016
I read other reviews and wax a bit worried but everything from check in to getting upgrade to ocean front room, to nice pool and jacuzzi (although the waterfall feature is pretty it actually is a bit annoying since CE goes in your eyes). Staff was very nice throughout, location cant be beat. All good, my son and I had a wonderful time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, right on beach access

Posted Dec 24, 2016
It was pretty cool. They were nice friendly and accommodating
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre

Posted Dec 21, 2016
A mediocre experience. Poor value for cost. Definitely not a 4.5 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Sales Administrative Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for the review. It is incredibly disappointing to read that we did not exceed your expectations. Please allow me to assure you that providing value to our guests is of the utmost importance to us. Our main goal is to deliver outstanding service and amenities that exceed guest expectations. In this instance, we fell woefully short. We hope you can will give us another opportunity in the future to share with you the hospitality we normally provide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Very nice hotel. Enjoyed to stay) Close to everything
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Dec 14, 2016
The management must keep the place perpetually overbooked - for such a small hotel there were very long lines at checking and checkout, many in my party and many others were observed to need to wait for a room to be ready...and on the morning of my checkout the maid actually let herself into my room to ask me, at 0830, when I would be checking out! The property is older but kept in good shape.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Sales Administrative Assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent visit, though we're very sorry to hear that you experienced a longer than normal check-in/check-out wait. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will pass it along to our Front Office Management to ensure we are always appropriately staffed. We apologize again for the inconvenience you encountered and hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate the high level of service our guests have come to expect from the Royal Palm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Needs updates Dirty room

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Took forever to check in Not enough staff on hand- no one ever answers the phone Needs updates
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Sales Administrative Assistant, Hotel Management
Hi Joseph – Thank you for the valuable feedback. We can assure you that we have addressed your insight with our team members who will look to provide a much higher level of service in the future. Thank you again for your giving us this opportunity to improve, and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, United States of America

Kind staff, terrible hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Depends what kind of hotel they want to be.
The staff at this hotel is incredibly kind -- attentive, friendly, doing their best. Unfortunately, they do not compensate for the unpleasantness of the hotel. The lobby is lovely, but this is a hotel with barebones rooms now primarily used for tour groups and partiers. My toddler and I felt totally out of place among the drinkers and smokers near the restaurant, and the pool was clearly an adult-friendly area. The beach was lovely but everything closes right around check-in time, so don't expect to use any of the chairs or towels even though you are being charged a resort fee. The hotel agreed to waive it for us, but only after a bit of insisting. We left at 7am the next morning due to a loud room and funky smell in the bathroom, and moved to a more child-friendly hotel. Because we booked through Expedia, the hotel would not reimburse the second night. All this is par for the course when you book through a travel agent like Expedia, in a Collins Ave hotel, but travelers with children should think twice before booking here. There is no child pool, obviously, or kid menu at the restaurant (they only have mac n cheese). But again -- super nice staff, definitely not their fault.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Sales Administrative Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Guest- Thank you for taking the time to share this review. While I am so happy to see that you enjoyed our hospitable team members, I am disappointed that we did not suit your needs overall. Our hotel certainly can be very lively and energetic, the location of our property makes it very busy and popular for travelers of all ages; our goal is for every single guests to experience the best service in South Beach. City ordinances do dictate the beach service closure and I am disappointed you did not have the opportunity to take advantage of this feature. We hope you will visit us again in the future if your travels bring you back to Miami beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec, Canada

my best hotel experience.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, respectful and professional staff and hotel design.
Cons: Although there was enough hot water for the shower, I couldn't get the water hot enough for a bath.
Location: Centrally located in South Beach, close to Lincoln Road, and great restaurants. Also easy transportation access.
After a long day of traveling, I was greeted by a pleasant smiling gentleman at the reservation desk. I had the utter joy of hearing that they were upgrading my room to a suite. Just like that! My suite was beautiful, clean and comfortable. Great comfy bed and lots of space. I didn't communicate much with the front desk, but when I did I was well treated by pleasant professional staff. As I found to be the case for the rest of the staff at the pool, restaurant and beach. The hotel grounds are beautiful and clean. I can't thank the hotel enough for my upgrade, and although I doubt I would get one the next time, I will still consider them my number one choice for a hotel in the future. I haven't received my on line statement from them but trust I won't have any problems.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Not for the disabled

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Central location and close to Lincoln Road
Cons: Disabled room was not fit for purpose for someone in a wheelchair. There was a 6 inch lip to get into the shower!
Location: Great location and no car needed
Unless you are a preferred member then check in is not until 4pm which can be a problem if you arrive early in Miami as we did returning from a cruise. The room we requested was not available but the reception did their very best to see that we were accommodated as early as possible
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Sales Administrative Assistant, Hotel Management
Hello traveler- Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to see you enjoyed our hotel location and that our front desk team was very accommodating to your requests. We are saddened that you were not happy with your stay overall, our great location makes our property very popular with high volume of check-in/out. As we never wish to inconvenience our guests, I have shared your feedback with the team who will thoughtfully take your insights into consideration. Our goal is to consistently deliver great hospitality service. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future for service that is exceptional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

DIRTY

Posted Nov 14, 2016
The hotel appears to be remodeled to look more modern with white and wood features but overall, not taken care of. We had no balcony and our room was filthy! The windows were gross and not clean. We took our shoes and socks off to relax and after walking on the sticky floor, decided it was time to check out. It only took us about 7 minutes of walking into to the room to book a new hotel and leave. I didn't even want to attempt sleeping in that bed! I wish I took photos but we got out as quick as we could.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Sales Administrative Assistant, Hotel Management
Hello Jodle- Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are correct to expect a better service from us, and we are saddened to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations. We really hoped you’d love us. Please know that we consistently work to deliver the high level of hospitality our guests have come to expect and deserve. Please know that your feedback has been shared with management so that we can use this as an opportunity to improve. Should you ever find yourself back in Miami, please give us a chance to show you that our product and services can live up to your expectations.