Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location, not great room....

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Location...and on the beach.
Cons: The room. See review above.
Location: Right on the beach...lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Walking distance to at least two museums.
Came here for a winter get-away in the sun, but would have liked a better room. The hotel is located centrally...close to everything and beach in walking distance. Though there was no place in the lobby to relax or wait for someone.....went right into the restaurant. The room was VERY small and crowded. The king-sized bed did not fit in the room - could barely walk around it. The "couch" on the window side was way too large for the room, partly covering the window. There was no closet, just a rod to hang a few things. Too much emphasis on the bar, fridge, goodies etc. Would have rather had a cheap coffee maker or small microwave. The bathroom had a HUGE walk-in shower, but the sink had only a 10" counter - no place to put anything more than a toothbrush, toothpaste and hand cream. Bad lighting over the way-too-shallow sink. It looks like they went for style and not function. However, the help was really nice...very friendly, not pushy. Just an overall average experience, though we would not return to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Tiffany, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, however, it pains me to hear of your unsatisfactory with the room size of your previous room. For future visits, we offer Suites, Villas and Penthouse room categories if space is a necessity. We hope you were able to enjoy the pools, restuarants and convenient location of the property. We do hope we are able to showcase these rooms to you during future stays. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYCity

Nice hotel if saving money is not an object

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, overall customer service, interiors, bed comfort.
Cons: Some interior furniture replacements, add coffee makers, room closets if possible.
Location: key location
Very clean, boutique type of hotel, key location, close to the beach and all the attractions. Our room was very small to be called "superior" )))), it is waaaaay overrated in my opinion. Hardly enough space to fit in a king size bed, the furnishing included only one bulky chair and nothing else!!!! No coffee table, no coffee maker, no closet, no dresser, not enough space to get around without knocking yourself!!!! The bathroom however, was rather large, more then it needs to be considering overall lacking of spacing. The restaurant in the hotel was ridiculously expensive. If you are hungry - eat someplace else, here you can only get so called "tasting experience" for hardly justifiable prices. Regardless whether it is sunny or rainy you will be charged daily for beach items - beach chairs and towels!!!! There are two outdoor pools in the hotel, the heated one which is connected to the bar - extra charge, something you learn only on site, plus the hotel allows loud outside private parties to use that pool, and then you are not allowed to be there..... .
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Tiffany, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review about the SLS South Beach! Our rooms can be quite cozy, as we are located in a historic building built in the 1940's. Neither of the pools are heated as the Miami sun provides the best heat in South Florida! I do hope we have the pleasure to see you again at the SLS South Beach during future visits. Thank you for your review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from roma

Un albergo alla moda caro e scomodo

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Albergo ben frequentato la sera grazie al ristorante katsuya ed alla discoteca interna ma scomodo per camere piccole senza armadio e bagno microscopico. Difficoltà ad ordinare al bar con tempi lunghissimi di attesa, Lo stesso per entrare nelle feste nonstante l'accesso sia automatico per gli ospiti dell'hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2016 by Tiffany, Hotel Management
Grazie per la tua opinione genere sulla proprietà SLS South Beach. Saremo lieti di ospitarvi ancora presto al SLS South Beach!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cobraron 2 veces el cargo por la noche comprada

Posted Jan 12, 2016
ademas de Expedia el hotel me cobro la noche como si no hubiera pagado... como solicitamos el reembolso??
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Tiffany, Hotel Management
Me disculpo, ya que no tengo la información de seguimiento. Le agradecería la oportunidad de abordar el problema a la brevedad posible. Por favor, póngase en contacto con nuestro equipo y estaremos más que encantados de ayudarle!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St-Helena, California

Tourist trap

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: The food was good however.
Cons: The rooms would have to be totally remodeled, be made bigger.
Location: Great location!
For the price that they charge, you can get a much better hotel on the beach like the W hotel. I will tell everybody I know not to go to that place. We booked with Expedia and prepaid everything so we weren't able to get our money back which I think it's a trick to have people book that hotel. However, we seriously considered to spend another 2 000$ to go somewhere else because we were really uncomfortable there. That hotel has the smallest rooms I have ever seen. You can barely walk around the bed. Moreover, the bathroom is so small that it was difficult to dry my hair with bumping into the wall. The toilet is only separated from the bedroom with a mirror sliding door so there is no privacy. My husband had to put music when he was going to the bathroom for me not to hear him. Not very chic! Also, we could hear so clearly everybody in the hall because the wall were so thin. Really, there was no privacy in that room even though we were placed at a corner room. It wasn't the best sleeping also. We had only 2 towels per room and often they were taking the towels at night without putting new ones. I had to call so many times to get new towels. The gym was in the basement with the restaurant bathrooms. It smelled so bad going down there. Moreover, the gym was really small. It had only free weights, one bench and a few cardio machines which didn't work well. My husband had to find a gym nearby and go there to train which made of lost some precious time together in our vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Tiffany, Hotel Management
Dear Samantha, Thank you for your review but it pains me to hear of your experience at our property. I do apologize on behalf of the SLS Family the room was not up to your expectation. I do hope we have the opportunity to showcase our improvements during future visits. Please let me know next time you are visiting, I can guarantee your next visit will be one for the books! Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2015
SLS Miami has a very unique atmosphere since the hotel was designed by Philippe Starck, a very well known designer. The room was very romantic & has a very comfortable bed. They also has a well stocked mini bar. And the location was very convinient since it just a couple blocks away from the Lincoln Road mall where you can find a great number of shops & restaurants. The only downside is the size of the room which is very limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2016 by Tiffany, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback about the SLS South Beach! I to enjoy the decor by Phillippe Starck throughout the property. The location is the best on the beach for shopping and nightlife. Certain room categories can be a bit cozy. However, we do offer King rooms and Villas and Suites for guests for future visits!! We hope to see you again at the SLS South Beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Best South Beach hotel - location, food, luxury

Posted Dec 25, 2015
We went as a couple for a pre-Xmas 5 day break that included one weekend. We got a room on the city side on a corner. This seemed to offer the most privacy and quiet. The room was clean, modern and very comfortable. The small bathroom was very well designed, and the air-conditioning (it was in the 70s overnight) deserves extra praise for being so quiet and easy to use. The hotel interior design is excellent as you'd expect from an SLS/sbe, and considering that they are limited by it being based on an older deco hotel (only two elevators for example) they've done a terrific job. There are two pools, one for the hotel and one as part of HYDE Beach. We spent most of our time at te HYDE one, which was extremely comfortable. So, quiet romantic room, great amenities, but I haven't yet touched the highlights: 1) the food. Just incredible. With all that S Beach has to offer, we ended up eating at the hotel far more than we usually would. Every dish is better than you were expecting. 12/10. 2) the "presents" from the hotel. These included a giant peanut full of deluxe nuts, and one night a selection of exquisite chocolate patisseries. So overall as an experienced traveller, and an ex-Miami resident the SLS is the best Miami hotel experience currently available. PS: My wife and I are Soho Beach House members - we found the SLS much more luxurious and refined.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2016 by Maggie, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! It was our pleasure to you at the SLS South Beach! We hope we have the pleasure to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach Gardens,FL

2nd time at this hotel. Love the location

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Friendly staff, clean room,great location! What more can one ask for..
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2015 by Florencia Gariboldi, GM, Hotel Management
Dear Patricia, Thank you for your awesome review about the SLS South Beach! We hope we have the pleasure to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

Good for one night only

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Katsuya
Cons: Arriving no one opens the door for you and very few bell hops.
Location: Party
Best part about this hotel is Katsuya downstairs. Best restaurant and great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2015 by Maggie, Hotel Management
David, Thank you for your review but it saddens me to hear of your experience with the bell hops. I will speak with my front of house team about this as well. We hope we have the pleasure to showcase our improvements during future visits. Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel muito bonito mas não vale o preço que cobram. No final ainda te cobram uma taxa de resort de 30 dólares dia que não mencionam no check in. Alem do estacionamento ser caro 50 dólares dia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2016 by Tiffany, Hotel Management
Obrigado por seu comentário sobre o SLS South Beach. Como muitos hotéis em Área de Praia do Sul, uma taxa do resort está incluída com a sua estadia. A taxa de resort inclui wi-fi, café de cortesia, acesso à academia, cadeiras de praia, piscina e serviço de praia também. Espero que isso explica a taxa de resort para futuras estadias. Nós esperamos ter o prazer de vê-lo novamente no SLS South Beach!