Ratings based on 1,167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Friendly, relaxing. Nice pool, easy beach access.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Wonderful staff, who accommodate requests whenever possible. Perfect size for those who don't like big, noisy, hotels.
I felt welcome from the moment I walked into the door to the moment I left. Staff greeted me with a glass of champagne, they held my bags until check in time, and helped me get a cab when I departed at the end of my stay. They also were able to give me a slightly later check out per my request, which was really helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, texas

Location, staffing, restaurant PERFECT

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Arrived three hrs prior to check in, they greeted my husband and I with 2 glasses champagne. Got us a room cleaned within an hour. aromatic lobby where snacks and infused water were available, lots of chairs, wonderful restaurant to which staff learns who you are and what you like quickly. Pool was heated, cabana area was great and south beach was literally a 2 minute walk behind the hotel. rooms were a tad small but the laws in Miami don't allow the changes of 1920s Art Deco historic area. Everything is modern, overhead shower felt like rainforest. You are 2 minutes from Lincoln mall, 2 min to ocean drive with all restaurants and shops. Do Not get rental car. We walked every where as there is no parking so you have to valet $40 if you go anywhere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Good location close to Lincoln Road and in the heart of everything. Hotel restaurant had some great selections, especially breakfast. Friendly front desk staff and delicious craft drinks in the lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoy! I did.

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Location, Beach, Friendly and Helpful staff, clean rooms
Cons: Make the resort fee optional
Location: The perfect location for me. On the beach. Great restaurants within walking distance.
Definitely will stay at the Surfcomber again. I highly recommend it. Great location. On the beach. I enjoyed their pool and the pool patio outside area. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Recognized me and greeted me by name! Be warn there is a mandatory resort fee. It is wrong and a guest should be able to opt out. I did not use any of the resort advantages. It is like charging for parking if you don't have a car. Since this is a trend of a lot of hotels in the area I still gave it 5 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: it was not a huge hotel
nice boutique hotel! complementary coffee in the am and wine at 5 -6pm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

extremely disappointing experience for Kimpton

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: location is great
Cons: safety for your belongings reception staff not particularly supportive (big difference vs 2 years ago)
being french and traveling often in the US, we are usually found of Kimpton boutique hotels. For our second stay at the Surfcomber, we were vey much disappointed by the experience, due to a particular incident we arrived late and were assigned a room on the first floor literally facing a wall. The air conditioning noise from the building next door was very loud and we asked if we could change room. As the hotel was full for the night, reception told us they would transfer us the next day. As planned, the next day, we packed our luggage and left them in the room as some hotel staff was supposed to move them to our new room while we were out shopping. Coming back after lunch, we went back to our room to make sure everything was ok. We found the housekeeper in there with our luggages open and our personal belonging uncovered. My pc and my gps seemed to have been particular targets. We immediately called reception which was extremely reluctant to come up and check. They did not trust us !! when finally one on the receptionist came up and told us that they would manage the situation and give us a 100$ credit.... After that incident, we kept on seeing the same housekeeper in the corridors and decided that we would look all our belongings in the room safe to avoid problems. This is really traumatizing when you are looking for peace of mind and relaxing experience. Not sure I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for safe stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

All flash, no substance

Posted Jan 17, 2016
This boutique hotel are clearly trying to attract a crowd to South Beach that is not our demographic. We booked a 4 person room and literally just fit through the door. The room had few amenities - except those you had to pay for ($7 for a Snickers bar - really?). The tiny bathroom didn't work for 4 people either. We were on the first floor down the end of a long, dark corridor and still managed to hear the DJ playing in the bar and every other guest walking past the front door. The beds were tiny, with sheets that didn't tuck in and a soft mattress - worst nights sleep in a while! So, overall not my favourite, but with great access to the beach and shops - pity about the huge storm that kept us inside!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Nice private beach with 2 chairs available

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Staff, amenities and of course the daily wine hour!
Kimpton hotels always impress. Even though we did not bring our dog on this trip we love the fact they are considered family. Was a little disappointed in the 12 a day wireless fee. I feel we got a good value for a South Beach hotel but $40 a night to park is a little steep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the young at heart

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere was casual and upbeat. Everyone there was out to have a good time and relax.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and good eats nearby.
We had no problems with staff or room. The room was neat and clean. The shower room was well designed, no curtain needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Mix of SoBe life & beach relaxation

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff was extremely helpful many times, room was clean unlikely other hotels in South Beach. And they have bikes for loan.
Cons: The valet, door guy and bag storage folks could be a bit more attentive, they were too busy chatting among themselves to help a few times.
Location: Lincoln Road, South Beach night clubs, the hotel is right on the beach with a board walk along the way
We loved staying at this hotel, it's a great combination of SoBe life and a great relaxing beach environment for when you need it. Restaurant in the lobby is great, fun staff, but you can also find plenty of options nearby, mainly in Lincoln Road.