Ratings based on 1,267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jul 26, 2016
It's in the middle of everything but certain staff members were rude it was a very old and worn
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Jim, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us about your previous visit. I am so sorry to hear about the unfortunate opportunities that occurred during your trip and I assure you that we will address it in any way that we can. Thank you again for your feedback, and we truly hope to host you again on the beach. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super recomendo!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Hotel maravilhoso, melhor localização impossivel, as pessoas da recepção são muito solicitas. Ficamos hospedados com crianças e foi otimo pois tinhamos acesso direto a praia! O serviço do hotel fez valer a taxa de resort com serviços na praia e piscina!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Jim, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us about your previous visit. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our awesome pool, and beach access. I will be sure to let our team know how wonderful your visit was. Thank you again and we hope to see you back on the beach soon. Best,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Very good choice

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Perfect hotel with a walking distance access to shopping, dining and beaches. Very nice, friendly and professional staff and service. The only problem is the room size. We were a family of 4 in a double queen size room; the room was really small for the family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Jim, Hotel Management
Hello Tarek, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us about your previous visit. I am so happy to hear that you had such an awesome time, and especially enjoyed the location, and our fantastic staff. I will be sure to thank our team for the incredible job they did. Thank you again for your amazing comments, and we can't wait to see you back on the beach! Best,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

ROBBED by staff!! Treated Horribly!! Racists!!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: The valet were polite and courteous. I wish that were enough.
Cons: I was treated rudely, like I was crazy. When I told the manager I was hiring a private detective. He told me to leave or pay for another night. I did!
Spent a ton of money just to get robbed for several thousand dollars. Stay elsewhere. The hotel is not that great for the price. There are a lot nicer hotels in South Beach. The room is really small. The shower didn't have a door and water would spray everywhere. Let's get to the part of where I was robbed. I was getting ready to check out when I tried to access the safe in my room. The same safe I had opened over and over again during my stay. Lo and behold my code I set did not work.To make a long story short my cash was gone. I admit I wish I would have handled it differently. But my emotions got the best of me and I had a complete melt down and a panic attack. I just could rationalize in my head that the money I locked away securely had just vanished. When the management and other hotel staff were in my room the topic of my business partner being black as well as another guest of my room being black was all the topic. I just didn't understand what the color of their skin had to do with the matter at hand. They may have just as well started shouting the "N" word. I was deeply insulted by the way they assumed that just because they are black that on of them did it. The money had come out my business partners bank account. I called the Elsafe the manufacturer and they informed me that the only way to reset the pin code was to use the master key. And that the master key is unique to each hotel location. What could the only explanation be? My vacation was ruined.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Jim, Hotel Management
Hello Jennifer, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us about your previous visit. I am so sorry to hear about the unfortunate opportunities that you encountered during your visit. Please know that we will follow up with our team, and we will do everything we can to better our guests future visits. Thank you again for your feedback. Sincerely, Jim
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to the beach, mall, restaurants

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Location is great. Close to everything
Great hotel close to the beach, mall, restaurants, and the staff are friendly, respectful, and professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Jim, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us about your trip! I am so happy that everything was amazing, and you loved the location to all that Miami has to offer! I will be sure to thank our team for the incredible job they did taking care of you! Thank you again for your amazing comments, and we can't wait to see you back on the beach!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Randomness at its best!

Posted Jun 26, 2016
This was our first time in Miami. Staying at this hotel was the best thing we could've done. The beach, the pool, the staff, the food, the bartender, everything was great! I highly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Jim, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us about your previous visit. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our awesome pool, amazing food, and excellent staff! I can't wait to thank our teams for the incredible job they did taking care of you. Thank you again for your amazing comments, and we can't wait to see you back on the beach! Best, Jim
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Great reception; wine hour; staff. Rooms are clean and location cannot be beat. Not right in the loud south beach, but is very accessible. Bikes are a great addition. Wonderful pool; big enough for lap swimming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by Jim, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us about your previous visit. I am so happy to hear that you had such a fantastic time with us, especially loving the pool, and our fantastic amenities. I will be sure to thank our teams for the incredible job they did taking care of you! Thank you again for your amazing comments, and we can't wait to see you back on the beach! Best, Jim
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will recommend and return! Great hotel.

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: proximity to beach, views, pool, restaurant, location
Cons: the prices at the pool and beach were exorbitant. We ordered two drinks at the beach and they ended up costing us $25 EACH. Even for SB, this was high
Location: Get the breakfast sandwich at the hotel restaurant--!
We had a fabulous time at the Surfcomber...we were immediately greeted by the friendly hotel staff, checked in quickly and were on the beach within 20 minutes. Our concierge, Chase, was so helpful and gave great recommendations on things to do and restaurants that were off the beaten path. It was a busy weekend, but the hotel upgraded our room during the week which was amazing--the interior rooms are a bit small with no views at all (don't expect a view! you'll be disappointed!) but the balcony room is beautiful and well worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Jim, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us about your previous visit. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the awesome pool and beach, and fantastic food! I will be sure to thank Chase, and the rest of our team for the incredible job they did taking such great care of you. Thank you again for your amazing comments, and we can't wait to see you back on the beach! Best, Jim
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice but stop with the add-ons

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: We liked the food. Everything we tried was great. Expect high prices Loved the free wine tasting. Chardonnay or Merlot
Cons: STOP with the extra resort fees! Just add it to the nightly amount and forget it. I don't care what everyone else in Miami does
Location: Go to the new Walgreen it is phenomenal! Great sushi The Italian bakery across the street was wonderful.
We were 10 women here for the weekend and had a great time. The pool and Beach are great. The pool is Very Crowded. We ordered food and drinks at the beach. Good for the most part. Staff was helpful because we all had our keys remade many times. But, they are changing that?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Jim , Hotel Management
Hello Ann, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us about your previous visit. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, especially the location, and our awesome amenities! I will be sure to thank all of our teams for the incredible job they did taking care of you. Thank you again for your amazing comments, and we hope to see you back on the beach soon. Best, Jim
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel close to the beach with dark rooms

Posted Jun 1, 2016
The hotel is clean and the staff is helpful, but the deluxe king bed room had no view at all. It was dark and looking at the adjacent building's wall. Make sure you call the hotel to ask about the room and the view before confirming your trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2016 by Jim , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us about your previous visit. I am so sorry to hear about the unfortunate opportunities that you encountered during your visit. I assure you that we will continue to do everything we can to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible. Thank you again for your feedback, and I truly hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Sincerely, Jim