Ratings based on 717 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Excellent location to beach, restaurants etc.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near beach, shopping and restaurants.
Had a wonderful time. Great area, great hotel, restaurants. Went with my teenage granddaughters and it was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel with a top notch staff

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Our room was small. The lobby (and only the lobby) had a bit of a musty smell.
We loved everything about this hotel. The location is right on the beach, but just slightly north of the "party crowd", so even though we were there during spring break, we were able to sleep! And sleep we did, with a great bed and amazing pillows! Every single staff member was smiling and courteous. We had a wonderful couples massage in the rooftop spa, followed by champagne on the rooftop deck overlooking the ocean. Thursday night we caught live jazz in the lobby. And there in-house restaurant, "LT" was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seatte

Good hotel right across from the beach

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, great location right off of the Beach.
Cons: Rooms are small. Room service slow.
Location: You are in the heart of South Beach and right across from the sand.
We stayed at the Betsy for one night in March. The hotel is very clean and nice. Rooms are super clean and comfortable but I'd describe them as cozy (ie not big). We rented a suite, which was disappointing because the suite sitting area was off of the bedroom area and not at all integrated. Just not a great layout. Other warning is noise. The walls are thin and you are in the middle of South Beach. That explains why you get earplugs on your bed as part of your welcome. It honestly wasnt too noisy, but if you want a quiet night, then the Betsy may not be for you - come to think of it, South Beach may be be for you. We had dinner at their Bar/restaurant and it was great. Good service, good drinks and good food. Not a big scene, but high quality for South Beach fare.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful old hotel close to beach

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: too expensive. signage
Location: nice location on beach in South Beach
the Betsy is expensive for the value. Hotel layout is very confusing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, great restaurant

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: We didn't even rent a car, got a cab from the airport. There are restaurants and clubs in walking distance. Fantastic vacation.
I was treated like Royalty. The most wonderful vacation I've ever had. Going to the beach and having someone set up chairs and umbrellas, never having to open a door. It was a fabulous vacation. I hope to visit the Betsy again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

So very disappointing

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Some staff were truly excellent. Most just didn't seem to care
Cons: Staff training. Hotel orientation. Noise from alley between the two buildings (especially upgraded windows)
Having had lunch at this hotel during a previous trip, we had high hopes for a great stay. They disappeared upon check in and never returned. There were so many issues (both large and small) but it has to be said that the hotel has some great facilities and lots of potential. Good Points: Some of the staff are excellent. The roof top pool and roof top terrace are both great. Not so good points: - Front desk staff told us the room was ready but was being inspected. We sat for 15 mins and I asked how long it would be as we would simply go for a walk if it was to be too long. Told 5-10 mins and they would take us. Waited 25 minutes and asked again (different person by now) Told that the room had been ready for 20 minutes and they didn't know why we were left there. - Room was extremely noisy. Not only is the alleyway a service road for garbage truck etc, there was work being done right outside our window - it started at 7.45 am until I complained then it was put back to 9am - Bars close between 10-11pm. Lots of other small things - no real point listing them. Still love Miami - just will not return to this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Best location, beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Perfect location on Ocean Drive. The Betsy is a beautiful oasis in the middle of the action of South Beach. Good size hotel, nice lounge just off the lobby and an excellent restaurant called LT Steak. Roof top pool is perfect as is the other large lounge deck. Cant go wrong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and superb service

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Could not fault the service but a few negatives-the location means it's very noisy-with the lively nightlife and the early morning deliveries/workman you won't sleep past 8am. The pool is a could size but is permanently in the shade and could do with a clean. The rooms are small but very nicely furnished and the cleaning staff extremely efficient coming in 2-3times daily. Like I said we really couldn't fault to staff 5* service which makes all the difference to our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

noise and security issues due to construction

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: location and interior ambiance
Cons: completing the construction will reduce noise.
The hotel is incorporating the art deco wing behind it into the main hotel. This caused noise and security issues. Fees are high, food is more expensive than New York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice small hotel with great location

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: There was no beach drink service on the beach provided by the hotel.
Cons: Provide drink service on the beach for hotel guests
Location: The location is an A+. Walking distance to many great restaurants and the food is incredible.
We had a fantastic stay at the Betsy. Our room was small but very nice. As best as I can tell, it looks there are two different wings of the hotel. The wing we were in was new and updated. If I were staying there I would make sure I was in the newer part of the hotel. This hotel makes for a very romantic stay and even though it is located on south beach, it did not feel like party central. Every staff member we met exceeded our expectations. The location is great. You are in walking distance of many great restaurants and the beach is just across the street right in front of the hotel.