Ratings based on 2,197 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

good location

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: location
Location: The Sea close just two blocks away. There are restaurants nearby.
The hotel is close to the sea two blocks away from ocean dr. The room is clean but small. During my stay our region was under construction. They said that next year there will be elevators
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

No-frills hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Cons: It would be nice if the windows opened to get a bit of fresh air. Also, it would be nice if there were an outdoor space to just relax.
Location: Perfect walking distance to the beach, shopping and restaurants.
Overall it was a good experience. Simplistic room with basic amenities. I loved that valet parking was offered and was efficient. The hotel should consider adding chairs in the courtyard to just relax at the hotel without having to dine at one of the restaurants on Espanola Way...just to sit outside.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, on

Good location, close to everything

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Construction on Español Way was a bit of a pain, but didn't really hinder stay. Free continental breakfast was a nice surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The warm and friendly attitude of the hotel staff, the location, and the atmosphere of the hotel were exceptional. Mimi and Fiorella made it great.
Cons: The offering for breakfast is bare bones. A few more options would be a significant improvement.
Location: The beach is a short 5 minute walk. The restaurants on the street outside the hotel are excellent. Lincoln Rd. Mall is 2 blocks away.
We spent one week at the Clay Hotel. The first night we stayed in the building down the street from the main hotel. There were a few problems with the room which were brought to the attention of the front desk. Mimi went above and beyond in getting us a room in the main building. Recognizing that the great restaurants were located beneath the rooms in the front, she secured a wonderful room away from the front that was great. For the remainder of our stay Mimi and Fiorella were extremely helpful and made our stay one to remember. The rooms may not be fancy but they are quite comfortable and the hotel fits well into the character and theme of the restaurants on the street. Within one block you can experience Mexican, Cuban, Italian, Argentinian, and Brazilian food that is excellent and priced well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Clean Comfortable room located by beach & food

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Hotel is clean, food and nightlife is nearby. Walking to the beach would take less than 5 minutes and is a block away
Cons: The rooms can be noisy at times due to the bars/restaurants outside but that is expected and is the nature of the location
Location: Night life, beach, shopping and museums are all nearby
The layout of the hotel can be difficult as it spans over a block past restaurants and bars but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are recently remodeled. The hotel does hand out free coupons for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay overall. Continental breakfast a joke.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Would definitely consider again! Great location! Fun hotel, different feel than traditional. Only real complaint was continental breakfast was worst I've ever had. Almost rather not have been offered. Served... orange slices, over ripe banana pieces, breads. A diabetic nightmare. No protein offered. No hot options. OJ, milk for corn flakes and tea/coffee. Felt put out for asking for water. If wanted breads toasted had to wait in long line. Ended up giving our bread to homeless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Practical location near beach, restaurants, shops.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
In my first room there was an issue with the hot water. The staff was friendly and quickly arranged a new room. And there was a microwave in the new room. Bonus! Helpful and friendly staff, especially Mimi, Peter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice old hotel, close to Lincoln Mall!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Nice historical hotel, close to Lincoln Mall Rd, and a couple of blocks away from the beach, and Ocean Drive. Staff super friendly, helpful. Espanola street is under construction so it was a bit noisy. Overall very happy with stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Extra fee of $18 per day for "complementary breakfast and local taxes". Breakfast was limited to coffee, milk, half banana and bread. Not very clean area either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

The location is what you're paying for.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The walls are paper thin. The construction outside is a pain, and our room was on the thirs floor with no elevator. Espanola way was closed because they were actively working on the road. The room made all sorts of noises like the fridge, the ac, and the super loud bathroom fan. You can tell the place is super old which is why its great that they're remodeling! The breakfast wasn't much either, but with all of this said, we would very much like to return in the future when the construction is done. You're pretty much paying for location. We only needed to sleep there at night and shower. It is so close to the beach, lincoln mall, and ocean drive! Espanola was way beautiful despite the construction! Don't stay here if you are picky and if you would have a huge problem with anything I mentioned above.