Ratings based on 2,253 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for what we needed!

Posted May 26, 2017
We needed a cheap, clean place to stay that was centrally located and that was exactly what we got! Hotel staff was great! Location was great!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ellicott City, MD

Nice location but needs improvement

Posted May 26, 2017
This hotel location was awesome and the staff was very nice. The issue that I had was the bed in the room was very uncomfortable, could barely sleep. Our door to our room couldn't lock without it being slammed beyond belief and our golly wouldn't flush. Even though our room was"updated", I feel it could have been better. Dont think I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's an okay hotel near the beach.

Posted May 17, 2017
It had roaches and some of the staff were rude. The rooms are clean, but they had roaches. No elevator but the staff did carry our suitcases up the stairs. I wouldn't go back do to the roaches and communication with the staff, they are rude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Not too bad, good value.

Posted May 16, 2017
Not too far of a walk to the beach, and the Lounge chairs and umbrellas were worth every bit of the resort fee. The room was modest, but clean. There were however little gnats flying around- but it wasn't a huge deal. I also didn't have hot water for a couple of showers, but I survived. The Continental breakfast, isn't the greatest and it's a very small area where its located. Be warned there is noise until very late at night. There is a small market across the street, to save money on food. Also a Walgreen's within walking distance, that sells food as well. Overall I would stay here again. If you are extremely picky or fussy however, it may not work for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

The hotel is run dow

Posted May 11, 2017
The room had little flies everywhere...I tried killing them but it seems like they multiply. The BEST thing was the AC.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy motel

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: They had Bath and Body shampoo and body wash
Cons: Everything
Location: Plenty of restaurants near by and beach is less than 10 mins away walking
Customer service was bad, no bathroom in the lobby or anywhere near and the girl kept saying there is no bathroom for me to use; didn't offer any solution. The room we had was in a separate building a block down on Washington Street, and unfortunately, it is right above their restaurant. We got to hotel at 10am, told us to come back at 1pm, we did and room was not ready until 3pm. First day, we were tired so once checked in, we stayed in the room. With the restaurant right downstairs, the loud music was on all day and night until 2am everyday. It was HORRIBLE. The walls were so thin, we could hear the room next to us so clearly. At night, 2 nights in a roll and not weekend, people were coming back at 3am. The metal gate slamming woke us up. The room setup was strange, the wash basin was by the bed and not inside the bathroom. Breakfast was a joke. They had white bread, frozen waffle and the fruit were all cut in half or third. After first day, we never went back for breakfast. At checkout, we were charged resort fee which was not communicated at check-in. If we knew, we would have stayed somewhere else. NOT RECOMMENDED.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Your review is very important to us; we will take immediate action to correct the issues you brought up. Thank you, The Clay Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location!

Posted Apr 29, 2017
nice bathroom, clean and simple room! nice ladies at the front dest
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Thank you, The Clay Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Good location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: I liked the setting and the party atmosphere sorroundings.
Cons: The building arquitecture is old and needs to be remodeled.
Location: Good location. Very close to the beach, Lincoln Road, walking distance to South Beach restaurants.
The room although small was nice, clean and remodeled. Good location and if you are looking to have fun and party there are many nice restaurants right there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Thank you, The Clay Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location: 7 minute walk to the beach; variety of restaurants next to/ underneath hotel; supermarket across the street
Overall my wife and I stay here was good. The hotel was in a great location. There were plenty of choices of restaurants right next to the hotel. Also a hotel front desk clerk, Daphne, was very helpful and pleasant. She was knowledgeable of the area. We definitely would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Thank you, The Clay Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, get what you pay for in SouthBeach

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Great location 2 blocks from the beach and walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life. It is an old building in the middle of renovations, unfortunately I didn't get a revonated room so it was very dated. Mini fridge, coffee maker and iron in the room. Wifi was very slow, but worked. A pool would be nice, but again, you get what you pay for.