Ratings based on 2,167 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The warm and friendly attitude of the hotel staff, the location, and the atmosphere of the hotel were exceptional. Mimi and Fiorella made it great.
Cons: The offering for breakfast is bare bones. A few more options would be a significant improvement.
Location: The beach is a short 5 minute walk. The restaurants on the street outside the hotel are excellent. Lincoln Rd. Mall is 2 blocks away.
We spent one week at the Clay Hotel. The first night we stayed in the building down the street from the main hotel. There were a few problems with the room which were brought to the attention of the front desk. Mimi went above and beyond in getting us a room in the main building. Recognizing that the great restaurants were located beneath the rooms in the front, she secured a wonderful room away from the front that was great. For the remainder of our stay Mimi and Fiorella were extremely helpful and made our stay one to remember. The rooms may not be fancy but they are quite comfortable and the hotel fits well into the character and theme of the restaurants on the street. Within one block you can experience Mexican, Cuban, Italian, Argentinian, and Brazilian food that is excellent and priced well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Clean Comfortable room located by beach & food

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Hotel is clean, food and nightlife is nearby. Walking to the beach would take less than 5 minutes and is a block away
Cons: The rooms can be noisy at times due to the bars/restaurants outside but that is expected and is the nature of the location
Location: Night life, beach, shopping and museums are all nearby
The layout of the hotel can be difficult as it spans over a block past restaurants and bars but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are recently remodeled. The hotel does hand out free coupons for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay overall. Continental breakfast a joke.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Would definitely consider again! Great location! Fun hotel, different feel than traditional. Only real complaint was continental breakfast was worst I've ever had. Almost rather not have been offered. Served... orange slices, over ripe banana pieces, breads. A diabetic nightmare. No protein offered. No hot options. OJ, milk for corn flakes and tea/coffee. Felt put out for asking for water. If wanted breads toasted had to wait in long line. Ended up giving our bread to homeless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Practical location near beach, restaurants, shops.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
In my first room there was an issue with the hot water. The staff was friendly and quickly arranged a new room. And there was a microwave in the new room. Bonus! Helpful and friendly staff, especially Mimi, Peter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice old hotel, close to Lincoln Mall!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Nice historical hotel, close to Lincoln Mall Rd, and a couple of blocks away from the beach, and Ocean Drive. Staff super friendly, helpful. Espanola street is under construction so it was a bit noisy. Overall very happy with stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Extra fee of $18 per day for "complementary breakfast and local taxes". Breakfast was limited to coffee, milk, half banana and bread. Not very clean area either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

The location is what you're paying for.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The walls are paper thin. The construction outside is a pain, and our room was on the thirs floor with no elevator. Espanola way was closed because they were actively working on the road. The room made all sorts of noises like the fridge, the ac, and the super loud bathroom fan. You can tell the place is super old which is why its great that they're remodeling! The breakfast wasn't much either, but with all of this said, we would very much like to return in the future when the construction is done. You're pretty much paying for location. We only needed to sleep there at night and shower. It is so close to the beach, lincoln mall, and ocean drive! Espanola was way beautiful despite the construction! Don't stay here if you are picky and if you would have a huge problem with anything I mentioned above.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but that's about it

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Our building was 1/2 way down the block and then the room was up 2 flights of narrow, steep steps. Had no idea there was no elevator. The stairs were slippery when it rained too. The room itself was very small. It says the 2 double room sleeps 4, but there's no way that tiny room would be comfortable for 4. We were 2 and in each other's way constantly. The bathroom only fit 1 person. There was one cabinet for clothes and a small coat rack. Needless to say we lived out of our suitcases.... along with the dresser and rack. Just seems like they could've spent some money on making the rooms more comfortable and functional. Lastly, the free breakfast. Basic motel type spread. Little effort and total attitude from staff. It's a shame because it's a great location! I won't stay again though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Close to the Beach, on Noisy Street

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Its location and Mediterranean design.
Cons: The breakfast, the room appointments.
Location: Two blocks from the beach, 3 blocks from Lincoln road shopping social street.
I have stayed there for years, starting in 1995 before renovation and when prices were very low. It had more authentic charm at that time. My room was extremely sterile, small and without any charm. No table for my laptop. Worst part is at night, Espanola Way that runs beside the hotel is a restuarant, walking, social street that becomes very loud. Further, as you walk down the sidewalk you have to sidestep waiters, diners and greeters from each restaurant. Then there is the hotel complimentary breakfast, which is pretty terrible....for instance, the only cereal was fruit loops, no eggs etc.etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Better off in a hostel

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Unfortunately, this hotel does not give quality for the price. The buildings are old and under renovation, which is great that improvements are coming, but at this time the hotel is too expensive for what is offered. We had a big issue with an awful smell in both the room and hall outside upon check in, but even ignoring that the room was painfully small, the bathroom tiles had scum stains from age that made it look unclean, the WiFi was inconsistent, and the breakfast (mandatory to pay for as part of the resort fee) was subpar considering the cost (ie, bagels, bread, cereal, oranges, grapefruit, banana, and coffee). But on the positive!! The location is great, very near the beach/ocean drive and some great restaurants. The area is under construction at this time but is nonetheless a nice area. And the staff are very lovely, accommodating and considerate, though they do seem to be understaffed at times. I would not stay here again personally, but if you find a good price compared to other options and are planning to spend as little time in the room as possible, it may be OK. To each their own!