Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, gracious hotel!

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Beautiful setting.
Cons: Staff could be available a bit more often
Location: Near coconut grove, great tennis courts.
Wonderful place to relax for holiday. Beautiful grounds and tennis courts. Nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Everything
I had a spacious room with all the amenities. All the staff were courteous and attentive. In the lobby, there are pictures of plans to tear the hotel down and build something more modern. In my opinion, this would not be an improvement, as Miami has so many new buildings. This hotel represents the luxury of "Old Miami"
1 out of 5
by LeeAnn from Beaumont, Tx

Worst Ever Hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
My reservation was for two queen beds. They initially gave us a king bed with a pullout couch. We went back downstairs to get a room with two queen beds. They gave us the two queen room but the air conditioner did not work properly. It would not cool properly. It was miserably hot. The staff said they would look at it. When we came back later in the day and the room was still hot the staff said it was because we were not in the room and that it was on a sensor! We ended up checking out at 4:00 in the afternoon because we could not tolerate the heat in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mplls.

Quiet, secluded within the City

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: See above.
A very pleasant surprise. One of the best kept secrets in Miami area. Rooms need refurbishing in relation to the rate paid. Pillows suck making it very difficult to get a decent nights sleep. Also resent the 10% room fee that could not be explained. Particularly irritating was the automatic service fee charged for beverages and meals. This is a gratuity! A gift for above average service delivered to the customer. It is not an ENTITLEMENT. Gratuities should not be taken for granted. What happened to pay for performance? The property needs updating and a total refurbishing. The owners need to decided whether to invest in the current property or get on with their proposed new development. Would love to return at some time in the future but not until property investment is made and gratuity policy change.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Nice location - quiet on private island

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Atmosphere - hotel was quiet and scenic. Mandatory valet service was very good.
Cons: Building is older and starting to show it's age, but overall still pleasant.
Location: You have to drive wherever you want to go. Bayside Marina is a short drive away providing nice view of harbor. South Beach was interesting.
Overall experience was enjoyable and comfortable. Beautiful ocean front walk along island shore overlooking the ocean. 24 hr security at entry to island eliminates outside traffic.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Horrible Hotel with outdated environment.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The View.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Coconut Grove Area was great!
Their food was molded, tuff lobster and they did not even bring spoons for our coffee service. Hotel is old and they are taking that hotel down very soon, so needless to say ALL of their furniture, furnishings were outdated, torn and awful. Please do yourself a favor and do not waste your money on this hotel!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful grounds. very serene, relaxing and quiet

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: We had a great view of the bay.
Location: Very difficult to get around. Miami traffic is horrendous. Took us over an hour to drive 22 miles
We needed a fridge in our room and it was brought up with the luggage. Every need was met with friendliness and speed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville fl

Classis miami

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Wonderful place and staff However the hotel is to be torn down in December and you can tell they are not keeping up
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not good

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: not much
Cons: lots
Location: normal
the bed was very unconfortable, the air conditioning made a lot of noise, they charged us the 24.oo daily for vallet parking when we had requested we dint want it. and then they made a charge of 400.00 to our credit card and din[t tell us.