Ratings based on 1,343 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

The room had a weird smell

Posted May 24, 2017
They lack of things other hotels provide you with like toothpaste & toothbrushes, microwave, and room was very very tight, no space at all....
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Matthew Sims - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We regret that we did not fare higher in your opinion. Our room size is indicated on our website and partner websites and is typical of historic Art Deco hotels in the area. As we are a value priced hotel, we do not currently offer all of the amenities of our higher priced competitors. Again we regret you did not see the value in this. Your opinion is important and we thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great hotel and great value!

Posted May 20, 2017
Hotel near lots of restaurants and bars. A block from the beach and a wonderful bathroom shower:
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Matthew Sims - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review! We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion. It is our hope that you will choose us again on your next trip to the Miami beach area Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami beach

Average hotel for star rating could be improved

Posted May 10, 2017
Was given wrong room at first, walked in and there where people already in there, finally got a fresh room and there was old food left in the fridge from previous users, batterys missing from remotes other than that the hotel was clean and staff were helpful. Found out that the area is not very suitable for young children so be aware if your staying with kids
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Matthew Sims - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the recent review. You star rating was generous considering the unusual challenges you faced while here. Your experience is certainly not typical and we are looking into what happened. We appreciate your understanding and do hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washinton, DC

Decent hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The hotel is a decent hotel for the price. It is close to the beach and the staff is really friendly and great. The rooms had a funny smell. But overall the room is decent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Matthew Sims - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to see you found the staff friendly and great! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

loved it!

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: How friendly the staff was, how close it was to everything, modern rooms and bathroom, wifi, tv.
Cons: ventilation
Location: maxine bistro bar is the best place for breakfast! beach, the bar next door.
loved this hotel, modern rooms, close to everything. When we arrived at around 12, we didn't get to check in until 4 which was kind of a bummer. The guy at the front desk held our luggage while we went to go get some brunch. At around 3, he got us a room, which was really nice by the way, nice bathroom also. It didn't have a great view but we weren't really in the room that much. Hotel staff was nice and kept the room very clean. Would definitely recommend one to stay here. Check out was extremely easy, even offered to get us a taxi to go to the airport. If you do stay at the Kent please make sure to go to the bar next door, great food, drinks, and friendly people. During the time there, The Hotel did have a blackout but thats not something they could really control, staff kept us informed and power was on the next day. We also really enjoyed that they beach was really close, less then 5 minutes. Staff is pretty loud in the mornings but you barely hear them because of the ac.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Matthew Sims - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review! We appreciate the time you took in detailing your wonderful experience with us. It is great to see our efforts translate into wonderful feedback such as yours! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Charged twice for room!!!!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Booked room on Expedia, which is where I paid for room. I checked in at hotel and gave a credit card for incidentals. I stayed one night and noticed on my credit card I was also charged for room by hotel!! I called the hotel three times to have credited back to my card but never received a call back!! I am now trying to have it resolved by Expedia, which I emailed and never heard back from them either. I don't think I would ever recommend the Kent hotel OR Expedia!!!!! Go elsewhere!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Matthew Sims - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We take your concerns very seriously, especially if a billing error has occurred. Please contact me directly to resolve this issue at the Hotel. I have not received any word until now. Be assured, once I have the details, I will resolve the issue swiftly Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
The people behind the front desk were casual. Not a lot of staff Present but they were very friendly. The atmosphere was nice and always came back to a clean room. Just wish there was free coffee available in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Matthew Sims Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad you like the casual atmosphere and friendly staff. We think it is quite a departure from the often-stuffy climate of area hotels. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, In

Nice and upgraded hotel 1 block from the beach.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The hotel rooms looks exactly like the pictures on this website & it was in great shape. The front desk was really nice. Me and 12 friends had just got back from a cruise, they stored all of our luggage until we were able to check in. While waiting, when our rooms became available.... they let us check in early! I enjoyed my stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Matthew Sims Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the high score in your recent review! We are glad to have hit the mark in all areas with your recent visit. We work hard to provide a memorable experience for every guest. I am glad to see your experience was no exception! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by Douglas

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Overall good but we were charged "resort taxes" and valet parking charges on top of the bill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. I am sorry you were surprised about the fees and taxes. We outline them on our site as well as our partner sites. We apologize that this was overlooked. It is our hope that you will return again! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
We really enjoyed staying at here since it was so close to beach and walking distance to city center. Also the staffs were really nice. Rooms were clean too. Recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Matthew Sims Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the high score in your recent review! We are glad to have hit the mark in all areas with your recent visit. We work hard to provide a memorable experience for every guest. I am glad to see your experience was no exception! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager