Ratings based on 1,019 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Beach is s few steps from the pool, nice experience and looking forward to go back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Pa

Clean Comfortable and Convenient

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Just be aware that most everywhere you go they will add an 18% gratuity automatically to your bill. I double tipped a couple times before realizing it
Location: Everything is close. Beach, restaurants, bars and shopping.
This was a spring break trip with my daughter. There was plenty to do near by. Definitely go to Lincoln st mall. Tons of shops and restaurants a short walk away. Pool area is really nice and the beach is beautiful. Beds are very comfortable. Bathrooms are a bit small but clean. We had a city view room that looked out on Collins ave. (the main street) and it was surprisingly quiet for as much traffic and noise from the spring break crowd. Gym was amply supplied with a cable weight machine, dumbbells, a bench and a half dozen cardio machines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beautifully restored hotel on the beach!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I loved this hotel! Renovations maintained Art Deco character with modern flair! Just don't stay during spring break the week before the music festival. The National hosts a pool party from 12pm-10pm 7 days straight. The absurdly loud music was intolerable as well as the clientele were clearly not the hotel guests. Was a shame!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lovespark Il

Very nice hotel, walking distance to beach.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Very friendly staff, very helpful. Room was awesome although when I booked the "poolside cabana suite" I was under the impression that it included a cabana for your stay. I was pretty disappointed when I found out it didn't, that was one of the reasons I booked that specific room. Phil from the lounge and towel booth on the beach was the best, he talked us into renting a "bed" to lounge in on the beach and it was the best, he took very good care of us, he also brought us a staff member and introduced us saying he would come by and take our orders for drinks and food but we never once saw that guy again for the whole 9 hours there. The room was very clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Watch out for parties at this hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: the pool is beautiful - but since they organize parties there, they tell you sorry but you cant go there but you are welcome to go to a partner hotel
Cons: attitude, prices not consistent with the value they deliver
Location: miami beach is a monstrous overprice tourist trap with no sustainable future in charging the present prices for their poor value and extreme arrogance
they will prevent you from using the facilities, tell you that you are welcome to use the pool and the facilities at other hotels with which they have agreements but basically if you prepaid at Expedia, THEY WILL LET YOU STRANDED. Avoid Miami Beach, avoid this hotel, its about taking as much money as they can from you and give you attitude and no consideration whatsoever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great Hotel - Great Location!!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location and beach access
Location: Since the hotel is located on Collins Ave you are in walking distance to everything!
Took a quick break from the NY winter weather and headed down to The National Hotel in South Beach. The hotel is located in a great location on Collins Ave and offers beach access. The hotel offers two pools, a couple of bars and other amenities. Like most hotels in the area the rooms are rather small but are very modern and clean. The bed was a little too soft for my liking but did not prevent me from having a good night sleep. I stayed in a room with an ocean view but primarily offered a great pool view. The bathroom was very modern and clean but was very small. For those travelers that are used to taking cruises you will have a similar feeling as it relates to the cruise size bathroom. The hotel staff all were very friendly and helpful. Like most hotels in South Beach there is a resort fee which covers, the gym (very small), towels at the pool and chairs for the beach. The maid service was excellent, albeit a bit slower than I have experienced elsewhere. The only other negative thing that I would say about the hotel is that on my last night at the hotel we did not receive any washcloths but did get fresh towels. I made a call to the front desk advising of the issue and was told that they would be right up but the washcloths never came. Other than the one issue I had a great stay at the Nation Hotel and would definitely stay again should my travels take me to South Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location and a very nice style of hotel.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Great facilities for a small-ish hotel. Nice pool area and outside bar, access to the beach etc.
Cons: Very indifferent staff. It is customary to ask guests who are checking out whether they enjoyed their stay. Not here, it seems.
Location: Great location for pedestrians. Very close to Lincoln Road, the beach, restaurants, Ocean Drive, etc.
I would certainly recommend the National Hotel. It has been modernised very well, the facilities are excellent and the location superb for someone without the use of a vehicle - close to the beach, shops, Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive etc. There were a couple of disappointing aspects: (1) the staff were quite indifferent. (2) Room 1101 had a connecting door to a neighbouring room so it was possible to hear everything the occupants said. I have never known anything like it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand art deco hotel in South Beach!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location, size, style
Cons: Room on the small side, bathroom on the very small side
Location: lots to do - close to the beach, close to Lincoln Rd, close to Ocean Drive
Loved this hotel! Great location near the beach and all things South Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The main lobby staff was not very good.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Pool bar staff was very good, we loved Jojo.
Cons: Customer service at check in, make sure the rooms promised are delivered or give an upgrade to better room.
Check in was very poor, not accommodating at all. Parking is too high. Resort charges per day for beach / pool chairs and the pool doesn't have enough chairs for all guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from baltimore md

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Only thing I would change is the hotel pillows! Everything else was perfect!