Ratings based on 1,068 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great experience overall

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Staff, facilities, pool, service
Cons: Earlier check-in time
Location: Central to good food places and adjacent to the beach
The staff was absolutely incredibly and very nice. We had a relaxing experience and felt like we were in paradise. In our opinion, the nicest pool area along the beach in the area. Beautiful decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Timewarp !

Posted May 20, 2017
I like to imagine the scene in the 40's ! Great bed ! Great pool ! Great beach ! Great location!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so National

Posted May 19, 2017
The Valet ran over a curb with my rental car and ripped the lower bumper. No apology. Valet left used paper towels in my car after (I assume drying off after rainy day). The AC condense leaked and left a puddle of water soaked into the carpet. They give you room 904 say no.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location spot on

Posted May 19, 2017
Feels intimate , very nice staff . Pool area is very nice. Menu during day is ok, wish their were healthier options M thanks Cxxxxxxxxxxxcbxxx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great location!

Posted May 10, 2017
Five minutes away from South Beach with its restaurants and attractions, this recently renovated built in 1939 ocean-front hotel is still located in a relatively quiet and nice area just north of the Ritz Carlton and Loews Hotels. It has two pools, the long one being in a palm-shaded area all the way along the path to the beach. There were always enough chairs, umbrellas and cabanas both at the pools, and at the ocean front. The staff is friendly and professional. Plenty of places to eat to every taste around, including the pedestrian part of the Lincoln Rd. in a walking 5 min. distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go somewhere else

Posted May 7, 2017
This was one of the most painful experiences. We had so many rules. They made it so difficult to get a towel on the beach. A towel!! There's a $20 charge to get an umbrella on the beach which is beyond me. The room was dated and gross. Our AC didn't work. Don't come here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Wonderfully located close to everything ! The staff was kind , helpful and professional, The grounds was clean and safe . We loved our stay !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara, ON

Beautiful hotel by the ocean

Posted Apr 29, 2017
We had a wonderful time at The National. The staff was friendly and ready to help with anything we needed. It was in a great location and within walking distance to shopping and entertainment. We would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Wonderful, will return!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location, size, atmosphere.
Cons: In-room or complimentary coffee in the lobby.
Location: Minutes from Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, Ocean Drive, Hispanola Way, Art Deco district. Even walkable to Joe's Stone Crab, a MUST!!!
Our stay was perfection! I arrived early on Monday morning and was provided a complimentary upgrade and immediate check in - off to an amazing start! I was concerned that a cabana room might be noisy as it overlooks the pool, but it was quiet and peaceful, and the balcony was wonderful. There is a smaller heated pool that was the perfect temperature and a nice choice to have. I chose to have a massage at the poolside cabana, and Melisa was wonderful although a little difficult to reach. The hotel is located on Collins Ave. less than half a block from Lincoln Road. There is a liquor store, wonderful Italian bakery, and a Walgreens just steps away. Ocean Drive is just a short walk as well - a must for people watching! The food at the hotel was good but expensive when delivered either in room, at the pool or beach. The grilled shrimp quesadillas were fabulous, as was the key lime tart. The staff were welcome and accommodating, particularly Jose the bellman and Gili the concierge. Arrive early at the beach or pool for optimal seating! A very relaxing vacation. Will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Fantastic in all aspects but no late bag service.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Locsation and atmosphere.
Cons: Numbers of lounges by the pool were not sufficient past 10:00am.
Location: Lots of restaurants and lounges within walking distance.
Facility was very nice, service overall was excellent. One item that was a challenge was that I reached the hotel past midnight and they had no one to take my bags out of the car and to take them to the Cabanas which are back by the pool. the food and drinks were good as well as was the cleanliness.