Ratings based on 882 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami fl

Very nice and authentic

Posted Oct 24, 2016
I had a really good time! Me and my boyfriend stayed for 3 nights Closet to the beach, close to Lincoln road and a lot of restaurants and attactions in the area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Overall great time and will return

Posted Oct 18, 2016
We stayed at the National for one night on our anniversary. When we told them at check in, we were surprised later with an unexpected tray with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. It was very nice and welcoming touch. The room had a nice view of the ocean and was clean and updated. It rained that night so we were able to enjoy the entertainment in the lobby without having to leave the hotel. Sunday buffet had a wide variety of foods from scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles to yogurt and fruit and cereals and breads. The staff all over the hotel were very courtesy and accommodating. Overall great time and we will return for another stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Beautiful hotel , the staff very friendly

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything;)
Cons: The valet parking price $40.00 per day .
Location: Walking distance to the Main Street , Lincoln road , the española way. Restaurants,shops,bars
Love the sixty look , beautiful pools , one of them with warm water.breakfast was excellence , buffet style, nice selection . Great attention. close to everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great access to the beach

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Of course, the location... Being so near Lincoln Rd. is the best... The second best thing is the beach taking away those 19 for the umbrella
Cons: Fire Ronald immediately! But image for the hotel.
Location: It's South Beach!
Our stay was very pleasant... Just a couple of issues that made it not a perfect 5 but a 4.5. They charge the "resort fee" as pretty much every other hotel in the area. At the National this fee doesn't cover the beach umbrella at 19 a day. The guy that fixes up the chairs at the beach (Ronald) is a bad mouth and complaints outloud about his work. On the other hand, Steve the server at the beach was very good. Breakfast buffet was very good, at first it look like it wasn't going to that good because it doesn't have an omelette station but if you can live without it, you will enjoy it. It pretty much has everything else. Room service was great! Fast and delicious! Our neighbors were good and didn't make loud noises but I could here people laughing every now and then coming from other rooms. Our city view was incredible! The place is a little pricey. My checkout bill did surprise me a little. And last but not least, my bathroom air extractor was not working, so it was hard for vapors to leave the shower/toilet area. I kind of hated this...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice 1930's Hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: old 1930's style restaurant .
Cons: the size of the rooms and bathrooms.
Location: in the heart of South Beach.
Ocean view rooms is misleading , the first view you get is of the rooftop of the lower floor ,then the view of another wing they built , the view of both buildings (left and right ) that extend past this one and then about 2 or 3 blocks away you get to see some ocean , room is small and so is the bathroom , the is no comfort , no even a coffee maker, staff is great , nice pools , the restaurant and bar are nice , a bit overpriced , on Saturday after check-in (4.30pm) we went down to the restaurant , not a single soul in sight , after about 5 minutes of waiting a person that was sweeping the floor saw us and told us to have a seat and she would get someone , after 10 minutes seating down no one showed up , we got up and left , no greeter , no waiter , no one , we ended up eating by the pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bucaramanga

Very good location and price

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pool was amazing, the beach very well kept and paceful, people very kind and polite, valet parking took too long to bring the car 3 /4 times
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ebersberg, Bayern

Schönes Hotel mit komischen Gerüchen

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Der lange Pool
Cons: Sonnenschirme am Strand sollten umsonst sein.
Ich war mit meiner Mutter für 3 Nächte da und wir buchten ein Zimmer mit Meerblick. Das Zimmer war schön, sauber und bequem. Die Aussicht war ok, da das Gebäude relativ weit vom Strand weg ist und man auf viele Klimaanlagen der anderen Gebäude blickt, ist der Blick etwas getrübt. Das Personal war sehr freundlich, die Liegen wurden mit Handtüchern immer schön hergerichtet und der lange Pool ist zum Schwimmen toll. Es gibt Liegen am Pool und am Strand, leider kostet der Schirm am Strand jedoch extra und in der prallen Sonne hält man es dort leider nicht lange aus. Leider roch es im Gang und auf dem Weg vom Aufzug zum Pool fürchterlich. Eine Mischung aus Klostein, eckligem Putzmittel und verdorbenem Essen würde ich vermuten. Total unangenehm!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
We like the area it's close to the City Center and the beach, and it just walking distance to many places
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

great location!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The National is in a brilliant location, right on Miami Beach and a short walk away from Ocean Drive. The pool and bar area outside is lovely. Rooms are pretty standard, but clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room or closet?

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Our room was basically in an old closet. The hotel does not stand up to the pictures. We were charged more than double the prices on the room service menu and had to argue to get the charges reduced.