Ratings based on 813 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whitehorse, yt

Nice hotel, good location

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Location, pool.
Cons: Wifi and water pressure.
Location: Excellent location. Lots of good restaurants and next to beach.
Solid hotel. Decent room. Low water pressure for shower and toiilet. Decent pool . Next to beach with loungers. Wifi was not consistent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Apr 28, 2017
This is definitely a family friendly hotel in South Beach. We were a family of 4 with 2 young children and the hotel was perfect. Lots of kids by the pool and an area on the beach for them to make sandcastles. The room had a fridge and microwave which was perfect with a baby and the tv had disney and cartoon network channels. TGI restaurant and ice cream shop just across the road and all the restaurants of South Beach. There is a park 7 blocks up and its a 30 minute stroll to Lincoln Road. These were all my concerns when booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Right near the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2017
We had a nice stay here. The cleaning staff was nice and did a good job. Room was pretty clean. Front desk guy was so-so. Hotel could use some updates as far as the carpet in the hallways (kind of dirty and worn down.) Broken closet door in room.Pool area is nice. Plantings were gorgeous around pool. Right on the beach so that is a plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel but just too old...

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Cons: make the WIFI work correctly...
pool is top, everything else is like going back 40 years
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoy the place several times for vacation

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Place was not visitor friendly first 2 days due to large unruly number of guests. A fight actually occurred next to our room on second morning. After we spoke with manager things changed back to our standards of a peaceful vacation spot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little over-priced for the quality

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Pool
Cons: Staff should be more attentive to guests.
Location: Montys was delicious!
We arrived early and our room was ready, however, the staff was less than friendly. The elevator was out of order so we had to walk quite a distance to our room. There was no bellhop to assist with luggage. The room was clean and well stocked with towels, but there was barely any hot water for showers. Restaurant and bar staff never stopped at our chairs to bring drinks or food, we continually had to walk to the restaurant. Concierge did hold our bags at check out, but it took nearly 20 minutes to get them back when we were finally departing. The pool was nice and clean, but for the quality of service and price I can't say I will be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal location, lovely pool and terrace

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Just spent a great 3 nights on south beach, the hotel is ideally located with direct beach access. Buckets of iced beer and food delivered to your lounger on the beach or by the pool. What you'd expect of a dated hotel, water pressure bad and air con noisy but I would definitely stay again. (Better than most carribean 4* I've stayed in) Food very good and the pool area is nice and sheltered.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbus, oh

Begs for renovation

Posted Mar 28, 2017
It probably was a nice hotel 50 years ago. The bathroom has some mold, with the shower trickling either scolding hot or cold water. The best feature of the hotel is the sound insulation - you never feel lonely if there are people above or next door. On the plus side, the location is perfect.
3 out of 5
by Maritza

Our not so comfy family vacation...

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Location was great.. but this hotel needs improvements. This hotel cost as much as The Loews but I wanted to be more south, I expected better.. courtyard room really means staring at the generators and listening to that sound all the time.. sofa smelled horrible like wet socks and sweat.. the air conditioner never worked making the room feel stuffy... it leaked and when they opened the vent it was a block of ice... they just could not get it going... then of course as if I needed anything else there was the ROACH crawling on the wall... this place did not work for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location with beach access. Staff was excellent, very responsive.