Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Best reasonably-priced hotel on South Beach

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Location, rooms, staff, lobby, ambience.
Cons: Secondary (or tertiary!) glazing to eliminate noise from Palace Bar.
Location: Beach, bars, clubs, boutiques, restaurants. Lincoln Rd promenade and Espanola Way restaurants 10 mins walk.
Over the years I've stayed at many hotels around South Beach and, all-in-all, this is the best. I never feel justified in splurging on holiday hotels, as I'm not in them much and instead prefer to spend that money on having a good time once I step out the door. So in Miami Beach I've always tried, and failed, to find a well-located hotel offering good service and plenty of style, luxury and comfort, without breaking the bank. Finally, that place turns out to be the Tides. It's right on the beach, in the middle of the action. 12th St is perfect, as the main stretch of stores, bars and clubs begins around 7th and goes up to Lincoln Rd at 17th. Staff are charming and helpful. The lobby is beautiful, and the marble theme extends through the rooms, all of which (I believe) face the ocean. My room (studio, corner unit) was huge, with a spectacular double aspect. It was luxuriously appointed and seductively lit. Big flat-screen TV, lovely bathroom, with a shower of truly awesome power. There is only one downside, and if you're sensitive to noise it could be a deal breaker. The Palace bar next door has twice-daily shows, lunchtime and after dinner, which pump out pop anthems at top volume. The din ends at around 11pm, but if you need to sleep earlier (though if you do, why on earth are you in South Beach?!) there's no escape. I was on the 6th floor and the noise was just a mild irritant, but I wouldn't stay on a lower floor. Overall though, the positives vastly outweigh. It's
5 out of 5
by Mary

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic - my favorite hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay at the Tides

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel, nice view, room was clean, staff was extremely professional, friendly, and helpful. Overall 4.5 rating out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly updated, cute decor, great location!

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Cute updated room decor, HUGE walk in closet, HUGE bathroom w/ lots of counter space.
Cons: Pool area sucks. Have better communication regarding Valet policies.
Location: Collins ave is 1 block over, the beach is across the street.
We ended up here after leaving another hotel that was horrible. This hotel was such a pleasant surprise! The hotel staff were all amazing, from check in to the bartenders and waiters! The location can't be beat, right in the middle of Ocean making it easy to go to beach, or walk to nearby restaurants. Don't stay here if you want to lay at a pool, the pool is tiny, barely gets sun and is overlooked by a construction site so you wouldn't have peace or privacy. Our room didn't have a balcony, but did have a nice view of the park & ocean. Room had a huge walk in closet too, and cute decor. My only warning, is when we checked out they tried to charge us for valet service for each day we were there, even though we only used it 2 days. When I caught the mistake, the lady at first blamed me and said "you are supposed to tell us if you don't use valet". Well I've never in my life stayed anywhere where we have to TELL them if they don't have our car, and they for sure didn't tell us that when we used it, so beware of scams along ocean, as it seems everyone will try to scam you somehow! Because she was slightly defiant it left a bad taste in our mouth at the very end, so I would suggest they get a better policy or train their staff. Other than that I do recommend this hotel if you want the "Ocean Ave" experience. It's very loud too, but to be expected if staying along that street. If you eat at the lobby restaurant, you must try their chicken empanadas!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but noisy neighbors.

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was great. The condition of the hotel and room was ok. What I hated was the loud music from the bar next door, the palace. They started at noon everyday through the weekend into the night. Not a hotel for someone who likes to sleep in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best on South Beach!!

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
I cant say enough about this wonderful hotel!! We stayed on our honeymoon and the staff was amazing!! The hotel is immaculate and we have never had a better stay!! You guys are the BOMB!! See you next year for our First Anniversary
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will want to just stay here.

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Loved our stay here. The room was big and clean and beautiful. the receptionist Jennyfer was very nice to us and even gave us tips on out onward journey
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great. Customer was outstanding! One of the best I have seen. The staff need to be recognized. Location was great. Hotel was very nice! The only thing I wish was the pool was little more lively. Hotel did not have a lot of foot traffic pretty quiet.