Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville Florida

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Beautiful hotel in historic South Beach. Extra large rooms with enormous closet space. All rooms facing Atlantic Ocean. Hotel staff goes out of way to make sure you are Welcomed. Been to Sobe 25 times over last 20 years and found this jewel several years ago. Only place I would stay on Ocean Drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Miami Weekend Getaway

Posted Jan 21, 2017
My stay at The Tides was great. The room size was awesome. It accommodated four people comfortably. The staff was friendly, informative and outgoing. Everyone was extremely welcoming and attentive. Upon check in, my party recieved a complimentary upgrade which provided a beautiful beachfront view from the 7th floor. This was my first trip to South Beach and my stay at The Tides hotel has ensured a return in the future. If you're looking for a classy experience on Ocean Drive, The Tides is where to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Best reasonably-priced hotel on South Beach

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Location, rooms, staff, lobby, ambience.
Cons: Secondary (or tertiary!) glazing to eliminate noise from Palace Bar.
Location: Beach, bars, clubs, boutiques, restaurants. Lincoln Rd promenade and Espanola Way restaurants 10 mins walk.
Over the years I've stayed at many hotels around South Beach and, all-in-all, this is the best. I never feel justified in splurging on holiday hotels, as I'm not in them much and instead prefer to spend that money on having a good time once I step out the door. So in Miami Beach I've always tried, and failed, to find a well-located hotel offering good service and plenty of style, luxury and comfort, without breaking the bank. Finally, that place turns out to be the Tides. It's right on the beach, in the middle of the action. 12th St is perfect, as the main stretch of stores, bars and clubs begins around 7th and goes up to Lincoln Rd at 17th. Staff are charming and helpful. The lobby is beautiful, and the marble theme extends through the rooms, all of which (I believe) face the ocean. My room (studio, corner unit) was huge, with a spectacular double aspect. It was luxuriously appointed and seductively lit. Big flat-screen TV, lovely bathroom, with a shower of truly awesome power. There is only one downside, and if you're sensitive to noise it could be a deal breaker. The Palace bar next door has twice-daily shows, lunchtime and after dinner, which pump out pop anthems at top volume. The din ends at around 11pm, but if you need to sleep earlier (though if you do, why on earth are you in South Beach?!) there's no escape. I was on the 6th floor and the noise was just a mild irritant, but I wouldn't stay on a lower floor. Overall though, the positives vastly outweigh. It's
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly updated, cute decor, great location!

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Cute updated room decor, HUGE walk in closet, HUGE bathroom w/ lots of counter space.
Cons: Pool area sucks. Have better communication regarding Valet policies.
Location: Collins ave is 1 block over, the beach is across the street.
We ended up here after leaving another hotel that was horrible. This hotel was such a pleasant surprise! The hotel staff were all amazing, from check in to the bartenders and waiters! The location can't be beat, right in the middle of Ocean making it easy to go to beach, or walk to nearby restaurants. Don't stay here if you want to lay at a pool, the pool is tiny, barely gets sun and is overlooked by a construction site so you wouldn't have peace or privacy. Our room didn't have a balcony, but did have a nice view of the park & ocean. Room had a huge walk in closet too, and cute decor. My only warning, is when we checked out they tried to charge us for valet service for each day we were there, even though we only used it 2 days. When I caught the mistake, the lady at first blamed me and said "you are supposed to tell us if you don't use valet". Well I've never in my life stayed anywhere where we have to TELL them if they don't have our car, and they for sure didn't tell us that when we used it, so beware of scams along ocean, as it seems everyone will try to scam you somehow! Because she was slightly defiant it left a bad taste in our mouth at the very end, so I would suggest they get a better policy or train their staff. Other than that I do recommend this hotel if you want the "Ocean Ave" experience. It's very loud too, but to be expected if staying along that street. If you eat at the lobby restaurant, you must try their chicken empanadas!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staten island ny

Beautiful hotel and so close to the beach.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The staff was amazing and the hotel was beautiful. Really happy w the selection of the hotel. The only drawback was the construction in the back of the hotel. Not a major problem. I will def be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Once you know loud music plays until midnight...

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Once you know loud music plays until midnight or so, you can enjoy! We booked a large room with view on the ocean and that was absolutely nice: sparkling wine bottle and personalized welcome printed message... Plan ahead for valet service as that does not seem to be a service used very often ... we had breakfast twice, but no dinner or lunch as the restaurant has pretty bad reviews ... But breakfast was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Ideal for beach and nightlife

Posted Aug 22, 2016
This is a tastefully renovated Art Deco hotel within walking distance of many restaurants, bars and shops. It also has excellent access to the beach. The rooms are large and interestingly decorated, although probably not to everybody's taste. The creaking old elevators might also be either charming or scary depending on your perspective. Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay and a pleasant alternative to the more modern but somewhat characterless luxury hotels farther up the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel location

Posted Aug 8, 2016
We had a large studio with2 queen beds. The room was large with separate changing area. Beautiful ocean views. Nice and soundproof considering the area. Beach access across the street. Welcome drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice restored oceanfront room

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Nice, spacious room with stunning ocean view and good sound insulation. The only thing I didn't like about the room was that the shower glass covered one quarter of the tub (I had never seen that before), making flooding inevitable. Location is excellent if south beach is your thing. The restaurant needs to improve, food is actually pretty good and staff is friendly, but they take ridiculously long and run out of essential food despite low traffic. Hotel staff is very nice and attentive, and go out of their way to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Fantastic service I highly recommend.it was everything they said and more.