Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Ideal for beach and nightlife

Posted Aug 22, 2016
This is a tastefully renovated Art Deco hotel within walking distance of many restaurants, bars and shops. It also has excellent access to the beach. The rooms are large and interestingly decorated, although probably not to everybody's taste. The creaking old elevators might also be either charming or scary depending on your perspective. Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay and a pleasant alternative to the more modern but somewhat characterless luxury hotels farther up the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel location

Posted Aug 8, 2016
We had a large studio with2 queen beds. The room was large with separate changing area. Beautiful ocean views. Nice and soundproof considering the area. Beach access across the street. Welcome drinks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice restored oceanfront room

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Nice, spacious room with stunning ocean view and good sound insulation. The only thing I didn't like about the room was that the shower glass covered one quarter of the tub (I had never seen that before), making flooding inevitable. Location is excellent if south beach is your thing. The restaurant needs to improve, food is actually pretty good and staff is friendly, but they take ridiculously long and run out of essential food despite low traffic. Hotel staff is very nice and attentive, and go out of their way to help.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay BUT...

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Wow! VERY nice boutique hotel. Professional and attentive staff. Across the street from the beach, great nightlife. Walk to shops, food, clubs, drugstore, whatever you need. WARNING, nice pool but construction on the immediate next property with cranes and loud heavy equipment. If you are driving valet parking is $35 nightly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Relaxing Stay, Excellent Service

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms big and nicely appointed. Hotel is right across Ocean Drive from beach access and provided complementary umbrella and chairs each day. Lots of choices for food and nightlife in the area. Hotel bar nice. A short walk to Espanola Way and the Lincoln street outdoor mall. Hotel service was excellent. Will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Fantastic service I highly recommend.it was everything they said and more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

awesome vacation

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Great vintage hotel! Rooms are very spacious. Elevator and ceilings are a little dated, other then that gorgeous. Staff very friendly, and room service is amazing. I love this Hotel. This is my second time stAying there. It's located right by everything.
5 out of 5
by Usha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

The Tides, not the Hotel it once was.

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Did not stay long enough to find out.
upon our arrival the car valet was nowhere to be found. we double parked and rolled our bags to the front desk leaving the car unattended creating a traffic jamb on Ocean Blvd. The valet finally surface and took my car keys. The hotel was strangely quiet and empty. We checked in and proceeded to our room. Upon walking down the hallway we noticed the carpeting was torn, dirty and stained. Keep your shoes on as there were broken shards of glass laying around. The room was decorated in the classic Art Deco one would expect of such a storied hotel. However, all of these furnishings were worn and dirty. The windows appeared to be obscured but upon closer investigation they were dirty and not just dirty, FILTHY! We promptly decided this was all unacceptable and picked up our bags to check out. On the way out I stopped by the exercise room to see the conditions. As anticipated, tired, worn and dirty. The windows were obscured too! We notified front desk of our intension to checkout and the reasons why. We were told the Front Office Manager would be there shortly to speak with us. It took the valet 40 minutes to retrieve our car as we waited outside. In that time the Fire Dept. arrived, trucks and all to investigate the tripped fire alarm. Apparently, the fire alarm had been going off all week prior to our arrival. Our car finally arrived with an apologetic valet who told us there was a problem with the third party valet company. The Front Desk Manager never arrived.