Ratings based on 1,744 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Whitelaw Hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Would not recommend hotel. Room was dirty (stained sheets), extremely loud., uncomfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by kedi M, Hotel Management
Good Day.Thank you for staying with us and we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay.please give us another chance so we can better ourselves. We hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Nice little hotel, perfect location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The hotel was small, which is expected with a boutique hotel. But perfect location. Staff was awesome, and it had happy hour 7-8 daily. I will stay with them again when in south beach again. The room was small but cozy. The bed was great. Me and my husband had a great time. We were in walking distance of bars, the beach and shopping. Well worth the money :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Kedi M, Hotel Management
Good Day Jasmine Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our complementary amenities .we hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
the hotel was nice.. especially for the price. the rooms were clean with really cute decor and the hotel is in a perfect location. definitely worth it
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Kedi M, Hotel Management
Good Day.Thank you for your stay with us and we hope to see you i the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Affordable pricing, close to the beach

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: LOVE that they included wine glasses and a wine bottle opener in the room with the ice bucket. It was a nice touch.
Cons: Better bar service at happy hour - bigger drink sizes, less ice - tipping shouldn't be expected. (or don't offer a happy hour at all)
Location: There were a couple of great restaurants nearby we found on yelp within just a couple of minutes walking distance. And it was close to the beach!
It was nice this hotel was close to the beach (like 3-5 minutes walking distance?) and it was super affordable. It was reasonably priced (cheaper than most other hotels in the area with decent reviews) and it came with a free happy hour - which we totally weren't expecting. It had an interesting decor style. Didn't love that we had to put a deposit down on the room in the case of incidentals - especially since there were noticeable damages in the room upon arrival I was scared we'd end up being billed for. The free happy hour was nice and unexpected, but I was confused as to why the hotel even offered this.... It didn't seem like it was for the benefit of the consumer - but more to say they offered a free happy hour to get more customers in the door..... We had to constantly tip the bartender or we wouldn't be served. The drink sizes were fairly small and filled to the brim with ice. While it was a pleasant surprise that they offered a happy hour, I've seen happy hour done with more generous drink sizes and drink amounts with better service to boot at other hotels. Because of these couple of shortcomings, I would give this hotel a very average rating. What would take this hotel from good to great would be to focus more on the client experience in making guests feel even more welcomed with a high end luxurious feel. Don't charge a deposit for incidentals if the room is already damaged. If you offer a happy hour, REALLY offer a happy hour with excellent service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Kedi M, Hotel Management
Good Day JD.Thank you for your feedback.Thank you for staying with us and we will look into your concerns so we can better service you on your next visit. We hope to see you soon
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: carpet needs to be replaced and housekeeping needs to keep their voice down
walls so thin you can hear housekeeping early in the morning. no blackout curtains, vomit stains on hallway carpet. gross
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Kedi M, Hotel Management
Good Day Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Enjoyed my stay. Was easy to get to location wise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Eszter, Hotel Management
Thanks for your excellent 5 stars! We are so glad you chose us for your Miami accommodations. It was a true pleasure to host you. All of my best,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Terrible customer service

Posted Jan 27, 2017
I get that Parking in Miami is scarce, but when you have customers willing to pay $50 for the valet parking it should be worth your while to keep that spot available so that customers aren't having to circle the block FIVE times before they can drop off their car. My husband and I were given a room with two separate beds, which isn't horrible but a bit awkward, even though we were asked on check in what floor we wanted so they clearly had rooms available. The floor was dirty, the desk sticky, and the music and noise from the bar rang loud and clear well into the early morning. The real frustration was again with the valet. We had been assured that we could request our car at any time and that it would be available in 30 minutes. We told the receptionist at 9:40 am that we were going out for breakfast and would be needing he car at 10:40, giving them a full 60 minutes to get the car. 11:00 am we were still waiting for the car. I spoke with the general manager and she first tried to tell me we needed to allow 60 minutes for the car to come (which still made them late because by now it had been nearly 90 minutes), shrugged her shoulders, blamed the valet company, and did nothing. We waited over an hour and a half to get our car, when the lot it was kept in was three blocks away. We were offered no refund, no apologies. There are so many other hotel options in the area, don't bother with the Whitelaw.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Eszter, Hotel Management
Oh no! Hello to you and thank you for sharing. It is such a bummer to hear you didn't have the very best time with us, as we strive for. We appreciate you letting us know of the aspects that were not perfectly 5 star as this helps us to better ourselves for you and our future guests. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Jan 22, 2017
The room was rather small, no drawers and minimal shelving. I eventually figured out the remote for the tv but getting some channels involved an arcane ritual, learned only by trial and error. The bathroom even worse. A exceptionally small sink which tended to overflow. One small shelf half filled with towels. The shower was dangerously slippery. My wife took one and after that neither one of us chanced it again and waited to shower until we got aboard our cruise ship. On the other hand, it is S. Beach and expectations are not the same as our local Holiday Inn. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the hotel has a nice front porch and a nice sitting area on the side.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Eszter, Hotel Management
Thanks for writing to us! We are very glad you loved your experience here with us. We appreciate you mentioning all of the aspects that you found to be great. I hope you will visit us again so we can make sure your stay is a 5 star one! Cheers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice hotel, conveniently located

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Conveniently located, good price. Free happy hour was great too.
Was placed in a ground floor room on arrival for three night stay. Asked to be moved as it was too loud close to the bar area, so they moved us the next morning for the other two nights of our stay. Third floor was way better. The further away from the lift, the better too. Room was tidy. Two double beds. They have free drinks for happy hour between 7-8pm too. Breakfast is not available so recommend the News Cafe on the beachfront on the corner of 8th Street was good too. I would recommend this hotel for a visit to Miami Beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Eszter, Hotel Management
Hi Jane, thank you for your feedback on Whitelaw. We are glad you chose us. We appreciate you sharing all of the aspects that contributed to your experience. We're happy you loved our gorgeous rooms and our great location. We hope to have you here again should your travels return you to our area. Best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, In

BEST HOTEL ON COLLINS

Posted Dec 27, 2016
I love the location, staff and cleanliness of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Good day! Thanks for sharing your words We're so pleased you enjoyed yourself and we hope this means we'll get to see you again in the future. We can't wait to be your home away from home. Be well,