Ratings based on 1,257 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great hotel but hard small pillows

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Location, kitchen and living room facilities.
Cons: Need different soft pillows. could not sleep on small hard pillows.
Location: 5 minute walk to great beach and bus stop with easy access to all of Miami.
Great hotel with kitchen and separate living room. Close to beach that was not too crowded. Close to buses. Would definitely stay again. Only negative were very hard small pillows that were more what you would put on a sofa. Need to replace with regular type pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfy

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Very good experience any time i come i would really try to stay there the place felt homely i will be recommending this place to my friends
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, hello! Thank you for taking the time to write to us! We are truly happy your time was a glowing 5 stars! We aim to please and it's smashing to read you loved your visit. We hope to have you back again soon. Warmest regards, Candace
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not for business

Posted May 11, 2017
If you are a female business traveler arriving late at night don't expect to be given a room on the second floor. Don't expect someone to help you with your luggage or take you to your room even though the property is huge and confusing at night. Thankfully a nice guy appeared at the last minute to help but the front desk guy was rude and suggested my request for a second floor was silly. Do expext a nice kitchen, a lumpy mattress, and a lot of noisy neighbors smoking outside your window. Ok for vacation but not for work.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your feedback on Tradewinds. What a bummer to hear your time with us wasn't perfectly 5 star- as we aimed for. We do hope you will understand this is not our norm. We hope you will choose us again in the future, should your travels return you to us. All of my best, Candace
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tradewinds good, SBH disappointing

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Tradewinds was exactly what we expected when we booked. Well maintained rooms and grounds. Kitchenettes were stocked with all supplies one could need during their stay. However, our experience checking in was very disappointing. When we arrived, we were told that the hotel had been overbooked and that we were being transferred to a different South Beach Group Hotel. Three hours later, after being transferred to a hotel that did NOT meet our original needs or standards, and with little help from the SBG reservations department, the manager and staff at Tradewinds managed to get us back to their hotel for our stay. Once there we had a great time, lounged by the pool etc but having read subsequent reviews of SBG hotels, it seems that overbookings and changed reservations are a norm.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the inconvenience of being sent to another hotel, but are delighted that we were able to bring you back to enjoy your holiday. Nothing pleases us more than knowing our guests truly enjoy their accommodations with us. Our staff work diligently to make sure each guest is satisfied. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes, Candace
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Room with a kitchen

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Having a kitchen was great
Cons: Would love if they had bikes, would not have minded if they were for rent.
Location: Like I said, everything is walkable but a bit of a hike, make sure you have a good pair of runners.
Was a nice place to stay, close to Collins St. and a walk to the beach. A bit of a hike to other points of interest like the art deco district but doable. Liked that we had a kitchen, although the grocery store was a bit of a hike as well. We walked to Publix and then took a cab back. But it was nice to be able to make breakfast in the room and make sandwiches for lunch. It then afforded us to go for more extravegant dinners and there are some really nice places to go for dinner. The Miami Beach Local bus is only 25 cents a ride and is a good way to get around but you have to have patience as we had to wait up to an hour for it to come. The Trolley is free and is also a great way to get around, trolleys come all the time but you have to watch which one you get on and where it is going. The pool was nice but the water was freezing, although the kids didn't seem to mind. The grounds are pretty and there are a lot of spots to hang out around the grounds and take in the great weather.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and we sincerely hope to accommodate you once more. Until then, Candace
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Stayed their for four nights, the bathroom sink clogged up on night two and the kitchen sink clogged up and leaked all over the floor on the final night. Parking spots aren't guaranteed to their guests and their parking area is very tight for larger vehicles like SUVs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good day! Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're so disappointed to hear you didn't love everything, from start to finish. We aim for excellence and it's truly sad you didn't love everything. We hope you will come again and experience our smashing offerings. Regards, Candace
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very thin wall, hear everything! Very noisy!!!

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: extra bed and the bathroom
Cons: noise control
Location: far away from south beach
Traveling with 2 teenagers, it was nice to have an extra bed in the room. Having two bathrooms and the kitchen was a plus also, BUT the walls are so thin and we could hear EVERYTHING from the next door and upstairs! Also, the really loud music/bass sound lasted past 3am from the bars across the street and we couldn't sleep. The front desk person was not friendly at all and he had to reply his friend on the cell phone before he could help us. Over priced for the quality, I will not stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Candy, Hotel Management
We thank you for your feedback on Tradewinds. What a bummer to hear your time with us wasn't perfectly 5 star- as we aimed for. We do hope you will understand this is not our norm. We hope you will choose us again in the future, should your travels return you to us. All of my best, Candace
5 out of 5
by marcella

Cleaness and in a convient location

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
This was the first time my friend and I ever been to Miami and the stay at the Tradewinds was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and the place was beautiful and clean. The room was always cleaned early in the day, so when we returned from lunch, dinner, shopping or from the beach we were able to come back to a nice clean comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017
Wow! Thank you for your 5 star rating! We are so pleased you were happy with all of our services. Should your travels bring you back to Miami Beach, we hope you choose us again! Regards, Candace
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Lovely little hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The unit had everything you could need including a fully equipped kitchen. The grounds and garden seating areas were wonderful.
Cons: Don't count on the unreliable shuttle and they need a pool monitor as guests were behaving VERY badly poolside.
Just stayed for a week and was very happy with the accommodations. The apartment had everything that you could want including a granite kitchen, 2 new A/C units and 2 flat screen TV's. There was even a little desk area for your laptop. Plenty of towels, soaps, lotion, sponges, dish-washing liquid etc. The grounds were wonderful with many quiet little seating areas tucked into beautiful flowering gardens. It was easy to get to from the airport with the Airport Flyer bus #150 stopping literally a 2 minute walk away. Like so many other South Beach area hotels, soundproofing was not great, but the buildings in the area have been around for so long that soundproofing probably didn't even exist back in the day. Even with the poor soundproofing I found it easy to sleep by just having the bedroom A/C run in fan mode while I slept. The white noise did the trick. My only complaint was the pool area. They REALLY need to monitor guest activities at the pool. I saw so many varieties of crazy going on at the pool that I could write for another 10 minutes. People standing inside the pool holding glass beer bottles, unsupervised children running laps around the pool and throwing nerf footballs at unrelated guests, various groups competing musically with their Bluetooth speakers even though the pool had it's own stereo system running. My vacations are about zoning out and relaxing so for the last 3 days I walked the 5 blocks to their sister hotel and used that non-crazy pool to get some peace
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by Candace , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tradewinds. We are so pleased you were satisfied with all of our amenities and beautiful landscaped grounds. The month of March can be a little hectic with spring breakers around, but don't let this deter you from visiting us in the future. We would love to accommodate you again should your travels bring you back to Miami Beach.
1 out of 5
by Linda

you get what you pay for

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
You get what you pay for and in this hotel the one bedroom apt was roomy. We used the kitchen (no cutting board, no spatula, sink stopper did not hold water and no dishwasher), and a big waterbug in the sink on tuesday morning. The first night our neighbors started playing loud music about 5 pm. Many people arrived between 5 and 9 for a big spring break party - we knocked on their door at 9 pm. They answered but the music was not turned down. We called the front desk at 10 pm - no answer. at about 1115 they went out; returned about 3 am when music/noise started again. When I stopped by the front desk attendant obviously did not care. No other rooms available and we stuck it out for 4 more days of talking, yelling, music, slamming doors, late night noise. The air conditioners also very noisy but they helped cover up the noise from the room next door. The last day the pool area was taken over by beer guzzling young men who also were smokers. Wifi service was slow and faded in and out all of the time. All in all you pay not much but you get not much in return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017
Good day! Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're so disappointed to hear you didn't love everything, from start to finish. We aim for excellence and it's truly sad you didn't love everything. We hope you will come again and experience our smashing offerings. Regards, Candace