Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old Florida at old prices.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Not the best kept place, but okay to lay your head down for the evening. Inexpensive price if you are staying near the hub bub of Gainesville but don't want to pay their prices. Staff was friendly and informative. Accomodations were a bit lacking in cleanliness though and it felt like I was begging just to get supplies in order to have my free breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Not clean, no wi-fi.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Cheap and on our route.
Cons: Clean the carpets. Repair the wi-fi. Quit advertising breakfast.
We came in very late so it was nice that someone was right at the front desk to check us in. The carpeting in the rooms looked like they had not been cleaned since installation 20 years ago. One of the main reasons we selected the motel was it promised some rooms had wi-fi and we specifically booked two of those rooms. No wi-fi. Too late and tired to switch. The toilet in one of the rooms backed up on first use. The "breakfast" consisted of a packaged muffin and a bottle of juice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The two ladies we came in contact with at check in and check out were pleasant but that is the only positive thing i can say
Cons: Shut this place down ..I wish I had taken photos
This is possibly the worse place I have ever rented a room at ..the pictures are very deceiving ..Even after switching rooms, the new room was even worse ...flithy carpets..half the lights dont work which was probably a good thing so we didnt see all the nastiness . Shower wouldnt drain , the smell was awful . The place looks like it should be shut down ..I find it hard to believe it would pass inspections of any kind ..broken electric outlets obviously not being tended to . There is a strip club across the street and im sure this is a "rent by the hour" type of place.. wont make this mistake twice !
2 out of 5
by scott

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
run down close to strip club run down location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bates is Better

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Almost nothing worked.
Location: Gainesville - Alachua area is great.
If this hotel gets a 2 rating, a North Korean prison must be a 3.
3 out of 5
by Thomas

It will work for a cheap price.

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
I'm not complaining, but you get what you pay for. This is an old run down motel, but it will do if you are in need of a bed and only have a few bucks to spend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
This is nothing but a hooker hotel. The room was gross. There were missing ceiling tiles in the bathroom over the shower. I would not stay there again if they gave me a room. It is across the interstate exit from a nude club and people were out and about all night long. This place should be shut down. It was extremely gross. It should be taken off the hotels.com site. NO ONE should stay at this place.
3 out of 5
by LESTER

Ok stay

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
My stay for the most part was a good one. The only thing i can complain about was the toliet not wanting to flush. The plug for the lights being broken and the lack of towels.
4 out of 5
by Luis

Nothing to do except see nature & a 200 years town

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Best place for take nature photos. Excellent location 1 mille from Historic Site and Museum. Hundreds of birds.
1 out of 5
by Don

Just avoid this place

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Dirty, old, no WIFI, no working TV, no working phone and not even water in the pool...