Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pleasant staff

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Staff were very helpful
Location: good for walkers and people who like looking old style shops staff in local shops very helpful
We had a few small problems bulb gone and heating stopped and the staff sorted the problems straight away
3 out of 5
by Nicholas from Eynsham

Pleasant hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant stay but hotel lacks character a little. Good value though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The hotel itself is quite large and yet still quiet enough to relax in. The en-suite in my room was very modern and nearly as big as the room itself.
Cons: The free parking is limited & you can get blocked in, however to the rear there is a big public carpark. Perhaps hotel permits would be advantageous.
Location: Knighton is a pleasant little town with plenty of shops/cafes etc and a good base for walking breaks, though quite noisey on an evening.
The hotel staff are all friendly and happy to help. The hotel itself is well presented, very clean, tidy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

short stay

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Quiet and well decorated hotel with excellent facilties
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gwynedd, Wales

Pleasant visit

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Well appointed and comfortable hotel. Efficient staff
Cons: One or more stronger adjustable lights needed in room
Location: Central location. Interesting little town, full of character. An excellent welsh welcome. Near wonderful scenery
On arrival at the hotel reception initially said that they had no record of my on line booking. However after I had produced the documentary evidence, I was given an upgraded room by way of an apology. The room was very comfortable but rather poorly lit. A problem arose with the remote control on the tv. This was quickly dealt with by the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire, England

A perfectly pleasant and comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2015
The hotel is very well maintained and faithful to its history - it is an 18th century building and they have maintained features such as the main 3 floor hallway (it's stunning to stand and look up at) with old varnished wooden staircase and banisters/railings. Our room was very neatly decorated and presented, clean and functional. For times when you don't want to eat at the restaurant/bar, you are allowed to eat your own food in your room - there are a number of local takeaways and convenience stores - and hotel staff were more than happy to provide plates and cutlery for doing so. I will now pick on the very small details - don't read too much into these. Our room had a jacuzzi bath which either didn't work or we couldn't figure out how to use. We raised this with staff on our second of two nights, so they didn't have time to review/fix if it was indeed broken. If it was working and we just couldn't figure it out, some basic operation instructions in the room information pack would have been nice. I rated Hotel Staff 4 out of 5 because on one occasion, a member of bar staff wasn't very helpful (in fact grunted) when we were asking whether bar food could be eaten in the restaurant because the bar area (which I think is open to the public) was quite lively. We ended up going and asking someone on the reception desk who was more than happy to help. Other than this one occasion, staff were excellent.
4 out of 5
by Jason from London

Knighton Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels
Second time to stay at the hotel. Great location and nice place to stay. The walls though are very thin so was woken by the next room's alarm clock going off and that was with industrial strength ear plugs in. Other than that no complaints whatsoever - will stay there again for sure.
2 out of 5
by Mr Disappointed from Purley Surrey

Poor service,

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels
From the moment we got there service was not good . Room made up for only 2 people when had been booked for 4 had to keep ringing down but no answer so had to go down to reception for bedding, towels, teacups. Got call in the morning at 8.55 asking if coming down for breakfast as breakfast room had been booked for a function at 10 & they had to set up.On Saturday night on our return at 10 pm was asked if would like to change rooms as forgot to tell us of a party, as had 2very tired young children of 8 decided to stay as was told would end at 12.30, noise finally stopped at about 2pm. Room was tatty & small have stayed in better Travel Lodge & at less than half the price. Will definitely not stay there again.
1 out of 5
by Gagan agrawal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by John from Cheshire

Double Bed Room - Definately NOT

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and pleasant. However the double bed had been shoe-horned into a single bed room. I had to crawl over my wife to get to my side of the bed - this was the only way. I would have expected to walk around both sides of the bed- there was only one bed side cabinet. For value for money - its cheaper to stay 4* in London. Sorry! We were attending a Wedding Reception and were expecting something better.