Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wauseon, United States of America

Posted Nov 14, 2016
everything was great that is all I was great politely shown to my room - it was clean - no problem
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Excellent place. Will definitely use this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middlebury, IN

Very good

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Das Essenhaus Restaurant. Shipshewana shopping.
The staff were friendly. The rooms were clean and needs were really comfy. The hot tub was so relaxing. The only thing that was a problem was hearing people above us stomping around and we could hear t.v.'s turned up. The doors need to have something that makes them close on there because the doors slamming all the time was a bit unnerving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middlebury, in

Short getaway

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Staff efficiency
My husband and I live in Middlebury, but wanted to get away for a weekend. Everything was very clean. Front desk was slow, but kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Shipshewena.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Hotel was very nice, the beds were extremely comfortable. I was only there for one night and slept really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the center of our travels.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
We would definitely stay at this facility again. Quiet at night. Ac worked great. Breakfast can't be beat! Comparable to a restaurant! But you do need to ask for a do not disturb sign for door! Cleaning lady opened the door as she was knocking! Soon embarrassing!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from placerville calif

Vacuum not available

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Breakfast lady was great, Lakelyn. Stayed 6 night room not vacuumed once. Did not know to put towels on floor. Sheets never changed?? Great location. Desk people very nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Beautiful Hotel, But...

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Beautiful and new. Rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable beds, refrigerator, large TV. Very nice breakfast.
Cons: More than one night staff to solve problems. Closing the lobby at 10pm? Very un-friendly guest policy. Instituting quiet hours would be more helpful.
Location: Beautiful Amish country with local bakery, cheese factory (watch cheese-making in the AM). Middlebury was quaint, clean, and bustling.
Front desk very helpful. Friendly staff. We swam in the pool and were in the hot tub, a bit reluctantly as both were VERY cloudy. I went into the bathroom in the pool room, and realized when I reached the toilet that the dirt all over the floor was actually fecal matter. Did it originate from the pool, hence the cloudiness? We don't know. I called the front desk. Instead of cleaning up the mess, or testing the pool water, he put an Out-Of-Order sign on the bathroom door, and left, saying he couldn't deal with it as he was the only person working. I can't blame him as he was very helpful, but his hands were tied, and not only once. The next morning when we checked out at 11am the bathroom was still out of order. Later we went to the lobby to play cards. The same night manager told us we'd have to move as the lobby closes at 10pm. (It was 9:48pm). He accommodated us by putting us in a conference room. There were gnats everywhere in the room, so we asked to move back to the lobby. After my insistence, he reluctantly explained that the previous night manager was fired for letting guests use the lobby all night and the hotel got noise complaints. So the man was afraid to care for guests the way he wanted to for fear of being fired. So our very comfortable stay became very awkward and uncomfortable. We certainly didn't want to get anyone fired over a card game.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Limited options

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Room cleanliness was poor, particularly the bathroom. Temperature in the hall and elevator were ridiculously high. Walls are uninsulated so I could hear people in the halls and surrounding rooms. Staff seemed friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Cons: Windows don't open..I know this is common but I need air!!
A nice place. No complaints. Quiet and comfortable.