Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful hotel in historic college town

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Everything! From the pictures on the walls, to the friendly employees, I couldn't have been any more pleased with my choice.
Elegant brick hotel (built, I believe, in 1827) with extremely affordable rates located virtually on the campus of Middlebury College in western Vermont about 20 miles east of Lake Champlain. Tea, coffee, cookies and light sandwiches served in cozy living room every afternoon at 4. Rooms are spacious, spotless and beautifully appointed with fridge for snacks and cold drinks. I ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel (very good), but the town, which is within walking distance, has numerous other places to choose from. I was visiting my son, who is taking summer classes at Middlebury's famous graduate school of English, called Bread Loaf, an absolutely breathtaking 7 mile car ride up a fairly steep mountain that happens to pass by the home of poet Robert Frost! There is no good reason to stay anywhere else when visiting the town of Middlebury.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Near where activities were taking place for the weekend.
4 out of 5
by Mary

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
The staff upgraded our room, which was nice, but the pillows were too firm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paid Hotel Prices for a Motel Room

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Location: Location is great and lots to do nearby if you like to get to bed by 8pm...all the bars, restaurants were closing by then...nice but sleepy town.
The pictures on line do not reflect the actual room we received. Make sure you don't get the motel/annex rooms; they are filthy, old and smelly. The price per night should have been more below $50/night but it was well over $100/night. The hotel manager wanted to throw in a 'free' breakfast when all I wanted was another room (like the ones I saw on line). They stuck us in the annex because we brought our dogs. One of my dogs had a tick on her face after the first night...a free breakfast isn't the way to treat a paying customer who just wants a nice, clean room to stay in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, classic colonial inn

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: I liked the character of the hotel. Much more interesting than staying in a chain hotel. Access to exercise gym off location.
Location: Can get food and drink at the inn or an easy walk downhill to town where there are restaurants
Room was spacious and comfortable. High ceilings give an airy feel. Clean. Convenient location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and good service

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Shower was poor with cold and hot blasts during the shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: location
old and tired....needs a lot of help. staff was awol.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nice historic hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2016
We stayed in Middlebury while on a college tour trip to UVM. It is a nice historic building that is very well maintained. There was some construction going on but it was not disruptive in any way. The only thing I wish it had was coffee makers in the rooms. Would definitely stay again though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our Stay in Middlebury

Posted Feb 17, 2016
We were disappointed that the bar and restaurant facilities were not open Monday .