Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Beautiful and cozy old hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Middlebury inn is centrally located and you can walk to everything in town. It was warm and cozy in January. I stayed in the main historic building. Was upgraded to a huge king room with separate study. Staff are very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hyde Park, VT

70th birthday trip.

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Charm and location
Location: Went to the 9 lessons and carols at Mead Chapel at 4. Sit upstairs if you can.
Not out first visit, but our loveliest. Great room. Inn and town beautifully decorated for Christmas. Delightful tea, delicious dinner and huge breakfast, all eaten within view of a fire. Thought of going to a big city, Montreal or New York to celebrate my 70th. Decided to stay in VT. Great choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Second visit to Middlebury Inn

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: We don't enjoy staying in chain hotel/motel properties, so the age and charm of the Inn appeals to us.
Cons: Lower bed height...or provide a step to get in/out. High beds aren't easy for seniors to negotiate.
Location: Location is ideal, in the center of town, and a short walk to shops, etc. It was the closest hotel property to our family, so the location was good.
We spent five nights at the Inn visiting relatives over Thanksgiving. Our room the first time was nice, but small, so we opted for a larger room, which overlooked town. The room was comfortable, clean and attractive. The staff was helpful, especially with requests to use the charming and original elevator, which required an operator. Breakfast in the main dining room was very nice, as was having nightcaps in front of the fire each evening. We anticipate future stays at the Inn.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
We visited Middlebury, VT for business. The only reason we picked this Inn was because of location. We rented an annex room. The room was small with normal amenities. Our set backs were while we were sleeping it started raining and snowing and the ceiling was leaking in 3 spots and it woke us up. Also, we were hoping to have coffee in our room but there was no coffee maker in room. We believe the room is overpriced. We let the person at the service desk know and all we received was a, "Sorry about that guys. I will let maintenance know. Thanks for visiting. Here is your paid slip."
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Old historic hotel is kept up very well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming, historic hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed staying at the Middlebury Inn, partly because it is a unique, historic property with a charm not found in chain hotels. I thought it was comfortable and well taken care of, but the floors do creak, the elevator is staff run, and it is on a busy corner of town. But that is part of the character of staying in an older hotel. The front desk staff was very helpful with recommendations for fall color drives to take and restaurants to try. I'm sorry that we missed the afternoon tea the days we were there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel with modern amenities

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were helpful, everything was clean, the atmosphere is charming and all the amenities promised were available. I can't wait to stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warm cozy place for a cold rainy night

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
We picked the inn as we are familiar with the area and have never staid here. Also wanted to eat at Marsh's Tavern- which did not disappoint! It is very hard to renovate and decorate an inn with so many rooms. (Well over a 100). Decor had a very haphazard feel to it. What disturbed us most was the sloping of the floor in our room 227. Foot of the bed was higher up than the head. The room also faced the traffic circle- which was noisy. I might stay there again to the friendly staff, excellent food and complimentary afternoon tea (which we took in our room.) Just in a different room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels