Ratings based on 1,054 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Cottages"

Posted Jul 27, 2017
If you are ever "upgraded" to the cottages: BEWARE!!! This is nothing short of the feel of a trailer park. The cottage had smeared bug guts all over the walls, cracked ceilings and ants in the bathtub all overlooking a marsh. In the morning we were awoken to a gang of bikers that parked outside of the place waiting for us leave! Never again!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Room needs a little remodeling but very clean and staff is great!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Checked in and promptly checked out.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Cons: actually clean the rooms before putting guests in them
Tried 2 of the Suite rooms and both were extremely dirty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Such a great location. An easy walk to the beach and local restaurants and a very short drive to get to downtown. Hotel is clean and very accommodating. We love staying here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Perfect location, nice size

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach and local restaurants. Size of the room
Cons: N/A
Location: The hotel is right across the street to the beach. The Cliff Walk is within walking distance but there is parking if you don't want to walk there.
The hotel is in a great location. The room has two separate rooms. It was perfect for our family of 3. The beach is right across the street. It is an easy walk. There was a lot of red seaweed at the beach. Half way down the beach the water cleared up and you could swim. We really enjoyed walking the beach looking for sea glass. The only thing I would point out that I didn't realize until we arrived is this hotel shares a pool with a hotel across the street. This hotel does not have it's own pool. This should not deter you though because it is a very easy walk and the pool has access from outside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor upkeep on this hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
We stayed at this hotel from 6/27 to 6/28 This was our third time staying here only because of it's good location from the beach and close to shopping and restaurants. Every time we stay, the hotel becomes dirtier and less maintained. Our room was very dirty and unkept. My white socks were black from walking on the floors. The room in general was dirty and rundown. The bathroom was cleaned very quickly and and there was mold in the corners , as well as patching on the ceiling from what looked liked previous leaks. The toilet was so loose we could wiggle it side to side There was not even covers on the bathroom lighting , just exposed bulbs There was a feeling of mugginess and a film in the air even with the AC on. We had actually rented that exact room out only 2 years prior , and at that time it looked to have been newly renovated. So in only 2 years , there must have been no to little maintenance on it. The rest of the hotel was the same , not clean , smell of garbage, noticable dirt and grime even in the lobby They have no staff on site except for 1 young adult who is supposed to be in charge of the entire property. I would say that unfortunately the only upside of staying here now is the convienient location to the beach and downtown Newport area. I wish they were able to maintain this property better since it seems it could be such a great place if that were to happen. Until then it looks like we will be staying somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ney york

Great location !!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Room was great location is perfect!
Cons: Maybe a better breakfast but going to their other property is no big deal and it's on the way to the beach anyway!!
Location: Location is perfect. Walk across the street to the beach. Plenty of place to eat every meal. Safe, quiet and within walking distance to everything!
Room was clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Beach really is right across the street. Plenty of places to eat right in town. No need to drive anywhere. Can't wait to come back!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Potsdam,NY

Awful Stay, Would not recommend

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Stayed for one night while passing through. Rooms are dated, have holes in light fixtures, and is generally not as clean as a hotel room should be. When I pointed it out to the staff they were less than helpful. The room is spacious but the bathroom area smelled of urine and the floor throughout the room was not cleaned adequately enough as there was sand on the floor from the last guests. I would not recommend this hotel instead I would recommend any hotel surrounding it as this one fell short.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Roomy Suite near Newport

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very spacious and the bedroom was secluded.
Cons: Even though the rooms are spacious, we thought they needed more chairs. And perhaps a table in the corner in the bedroom.
Location: We drove to the mansions for tours--parking was available. We also drove to Fort Adams for a hike on the Bay Walk. Didn't spend much time in downtown.
Only stayed one night. Reserved on Expedia. We were happy with the room. Even though you can't see much of the ocean from the second floor, the view of Easton Pond from the bedroom window was very calm. We watched birds in the morning. (There is a trail that goes around the pond if you want exercise) Then we took our coffee and walked across the street to the benches in the park that looked over the beach and surf. The breakfast was sufficient--the same as we've seen at many hotels--cereal, yogurt, and coffee. Enough to get you going for the day without having to leave the hotel too early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Great location and value. Immaculate.

Posted May 26, 2017
Great location, immaculate and very comfortable. Light breakfast offerings and coffee! Recommended. A+ value for Newport.