Ratings based on 1,063 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great location! Very friendly stuff.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We were pleasantly surprised with the room cleanliness and the friendliness of staff. We were allowed to check in at 11am instead of 3pm and with two little children it saved us so much trouble. I also loved the windows in our room - we were able to open them and enjoy fresh breeze all night long! Highly recommend, worth every penny.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absentee management

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Things that need to be repaired are"t getting repaired at this hotel or their other hotel across the street where the pool is. The cleaning staff are cleaning things but management isn't replacing things in need of replacement. Staff are all young people.That being said, we had a nice stay and tried not to look at the broken things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Great location. Beautiful public beach across the street and just two miles from Newport shops and restaurants. My wife and I enjoyed several early evening walks. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Looking forward to returning in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Cottage accommodations not clean.

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Location. Private outside space.
Cons: Clean the rooms.
I'm from Newport and very familiar with the city and its hotels. I booked one last-minute, very expensive night in early August here knowing it's a dated "modest" property, at best. Upon arrival we were told we would be staying in one of the cottages adjacent to the main building. On the plus side its large, stand alone and has a nice deck to sit outside. BUT, the cottage, particularly the living room was gross. There was an enormous amount of dead bugs squished into the walls and ceiling. So many, that it was immediately visible as soon as you opened the door. The bedroom, kitchen area and bathroom appeared much cleaner, but it's hard to shake that 'buggy feeling' once it set in. I was about to go down the street to WalMart and buy new bedding. We were leaving the room for a few hours and asked that houskeeping please wipe down the walls & ceiling while we were out. It didn't happen. We asked again while out to dinner. Didn't happen. The staff was pleasant enough, but what good is that if there is no follow-through? The next business day I contacted the manager. He agreed it was unacceptable and refunded a fair portion of the bill. While I'm pleased management rectified the situation, I cannot and do not recommend this property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, CT

Nice hotel; close to the beach.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Great view of the water. The staff was friendly and responsive. Ample parking. Quiet enough location. The only we didn't like hotel offered a cold breakfast. The wifi was terrible. We will definitely stay there again. I would recommend the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Cottages"

Posted Jul 27, 2017
If you are ever "upgraded" to the cottages: BEWARE!!! This is nothing short of the feel of a trailer park. The cottage had smeared bug guts all over the walls, cracked ceilings and ants in the bathtub all overlooking a marsh. In the morning we were awoken to a gang of bikers that parked outside of the place waiting for us leave! Never again!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Room needs a little remodeling but very clean and staff is great!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Checked in and promptly checked out.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Cons: actually clean the rooms before putting guests in them
Tried 2 of the Suite rooms and both were extremely dirty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Such a great location. An easy walk to the beach and local restaurants and a very short drive to get to downtown. Hotel is clean and very accommodating. We love staying here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Perfect location, nice size

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach and local restaurants. Size of the room
Cons: N/A
Location: The hotel is right across the street to the beach. The Cliff Walk is within walking distance but there is parking if you don't want to walk there.
The hotel is in a great location. The room has two separate rooms. It was perfect for our family of 3. The beach is right across the street. It is an easy walk. There was a lot of red seaweed at the beach. Half way down the beach the water cleared up and you could swim. We really enjoyed walking the beach looking for sea glass. The only thing I would point out that I didn't realize until we arrived is this hotel shares a pool with a hotel across the street. This hotel does not have it's own pool. This should not deter you though because it is a very easy walk and the pool has access from outside.