Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Dirty, loud room. NO wifi.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Our room had leftover food in a dirty box. Was next to pool and ice machine, with noise til midnight. Wi fi not working the whole stay. Won't go back.
4 out of 5
by Charlene Hayes

I would stay again-clean but could use some lysol

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was clean and staff very nice. Air in room was ok (very hot outside) but seems very humid. Could use some Lysol spray to clear the air.
3 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, We appreciate your rating of the Holiday Inn Express Middletown. We strive to impress our guests, and apologize that we fell short. I only wish we knew what kept you from completely enjoying your stay. I hope we will have another chance to host you in the future. Sincerely, Angela O. Property Support Manager
5 out of 5
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Joseph

Our Stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
We were disappointed in the cleanliness of our room!!! Twice in the week that we were there they forgot to even clean our room. Nothing was touched. The room was never dusted even the first day we got there. The Sanme dust was on everything, the floors still had the same crumbs, so the floors needed vacuuming desperately. The hallway to our room was also needed of vacuuming. All under the bedskirt was terrible. I killed 3 spiders near the bed, one on the bed coming down almost on my head. I grabbed the web and then stepped on it. We enjoyed the breakfast every day, the desk people were very nice, the bed was very comfortable, although, my husband and I both thought the sheets were not always fresh. Pillow cases were ok. Also we think your bath tubs should have mats in them for people's safety. Your tubs are very slippery when they get wet. We are both Senior citizens, and I think that it is necessary for everyone's safety that there are mats in the tubs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Commerce, GA

A formerly nice hotel in major need of updating.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
The staff were some of the friendliest people but the hotel physically does not line up with other Holiday Inn Express hotels where we've stayed. The online images must be stock photos or old photos because the live, in person view is not the same. We generally seek out Holiday Inn's because we know what to expect but we were totally shocked by this one. You're in desperate need of some suites also. We stayed for five days and we're very uncomfortable the few times we did eat in the room, we hate sitting on the bed to eat. Also, it's not very good that the guests AND staff stand at the front entrance and smoke. I had to rush my little girl past almost every time we​ would leave or come back because without fail there was someone sitting there smoking. If we based our stay on the staff alone it would be five stars but astetically it has to be 1 1/2 2 at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ethelene, Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Middletown. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff. However, I apologize that our hotel did not meet your overall expectations. We will share your feedback with our management team in charge of making such decisions. I hope that if you are ever back in the area, we will have another chance to host you. Sincerely, Jessica B. General Manager
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Clean room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noise

Posted May 18, 2017
Cons: request a room on the top floor.
The ceiling and floor of the room above are not sound proof. The people in the room above ours were up at 5:30 am and we were awaken by the loud sound of their foot steps. When we arrived we waited for 20 minutes before someone came to check us in.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Middletown. Please accept my apologies for any noise that kept you from fully enjoying your stay. I understand how frustrating it is when you don't receive the restful night you are looking for. On future visits, we'd be more than happy to find you a room on the top floor. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Jessica B. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
First room I was in had a terrible smell. They could not put me in another room because the hotel was full. The next night they put me in another room which smelled how you would want a hotel to smell. The carpet in the rooms could use a thorough cleaning. I will choose another hotel next time I am in the area. Staff was very nice and concerned about the smell but couldn't give me a refund because I booked through hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad to hear you found our staff to be friendly. I apologize there wasn't more we could do to assist you with the odor in your first room. Your comments will be shared with my housekeeping team to ensure any deficiencies are corrected. I hope we will have the opportunity to host you again in the future, here at the Holiday Inn Express Middletown. Sincerely, Jessica B. General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was very nice great breakfast. Would stay here again.